We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Balcon Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balcon Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Excellent accomodation, spacious rooms, clean, friendly staff at the bar, reception and shop. The food specials at the pool bar every night were good options of you want to keep the costs down especially as you could eat in the centre for the same price and get rubbish. They had bingo or a quiz night every night which a lot of people stayed for after dinner, was always a nice evening.

Sun came down on the right side of the hill in the evenings allowing you to sit out for hours at the end of the day.

Only down side was the space around the actual poolside was quite tight to walk around and there can be some very inconsiderate guests taking up space. When we stayed here there were a couple of families who felt it was there right to take up the whole poolside. Other than that there are plenty of places to sit elsewhere, always able to catch the sun.

It is a bit of a walk down hill to the beach which we did a couple of times and then got a taxi back up which was never over 5 euro.

All in all, great place to stay, certainly one of the best ones we have stayed in on a self catering holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karen_darbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    86
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We have stayed at these apartments a number of times and have reccommended them to friends and family and everyone who has stayed here has said they would return.
I have just returned from the Blacon Del Mar and have to say we had a great holiday, the staff are very nice very helpful and go out of their way to help you relax so that you can enjoy your holiday stress free. The apartments are comfortable spacious and very very clean, okay they are a little bit dated and could do with a coat of paint but for what your paying for do you really expect the Ritz ? The apartments are on a hill but to be honest it never ever bothered us, as you soon get used to it, plus after some of the great food on offer in the town centre, its good to walk of some calories. The beaches are clean, the water is crystal clear. The Texas Ranchero with its bucking bronco, line dancing, and bbq is great fun, and a night out that you will remember for a long time. Also a visit to the Tymaman fire volcanco and the ride on a camel is another must do. If your looking for a cheap clean tidy value for money holiday you wont get much better than Blacon Del Mar, if your wanting a luxurious apartment and 1st class facilities your better booking somewhere else !

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank judithcharmersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Just returned from a lovely week at the Balcon del Mar. Staff vey friendly and helpful.
The apartments are situated at the top of the hill quite a walk down to the beach (amadores) puerto rico beach would be even further. Only a short walk (5mins) from the Europa Centre with plenty shops, bars and restaurants. But far enough away not to be disturbed by the noise. Beautiful views from the balconies across to the sea.
Apartments themselves are beautiful, very spacious, massive balcony. Kitchen has all you need, 2 ring elec hob, microwave, kettle and toaster. Plenty utensils.
Tv and safe but you do need to pay for these. 10 euros for 1 wk - safe and 3 euros a day for tv. No air con and no fans, so may be too hot in summer. Only black out drapes.
Allocated parking space if you hire a car.
Pool bar seemed ok and mini supermarket at the side of reception. Rooms cleaned 5 times a week, but linen only changed once.
All in all would recommend and definately would return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bones401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My wife and I have just returned refreshed and relaxed after an excellent week at Balcon Del Mar. The apartments were large, clean and well equipped. The hotel is located at the top of the hill in Puerto Rico, but in reality it is easier to walk to Amadores beach. The pool area is large and has plenty of sun beds. The bar is well run and the friendly staff made us feel at home.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PuddingRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We stayed at this apartment for a week in mid February. We booked it on line through Hotels4U - and while they were very efficient and had the best price, their advertisement is somewhat misleading as to the location. The apartment is not 200 meters from the beach - not even close! However - if you go on the Balcon Del Mar's own website - they do not claim to be 200 meters from the beach. That was the only downfall of the property.
Having said that - the pros for Balcon are endless:
The apartments are clean and large - and cleaned every other day - sometimes every day. The kitchen is well equipped - no need to rent anything.
The pool was advertised on Hotels4U as heated - but it wasnt and in Feb - made it pretty chilly - but it was clean and large. There are lots of sunbeds as well, and a couple of pool tables. The bar has a happy hour every day as well. The property is only a few minutes walk from the commercial centre where where are lots of places to eat and drink. If you want to venture down the stairs to the bottom - there are over 700 steps! - the larger centre in Puerto Rico is there. We walked down almost every day - but cabbed it back up! The property is also very close to Amadores beach which is lovely. Again, lots of restaurants and bars along the beach. Just lovely.
As far as being in Puerto Rico - we just took the bus to Maspalomas or Playa del Ingles - it is very reasonable - about 1.80 euros to Maspalomas, and a very interesting bus ride. We preferred Puerto Rico as it was a little quieter than Playa del Ingles or Maspalomas.
Dunia at the front desk is just a doll - she is so friendly and helpful!
Overall - I would go back in a heartbeat. We loved the Balcon del Mar and would defintely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank val4522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Nice quite resort with two swimming pools. All apartments have TWO bedrooms which are nicely furnished and all four beds were really comfortable. Free parking is a plus but we were not very impressed that we would have to pay extra if we wanted to watch the TV, in our view this should be included in the rental price. We will be returning next January and will be looking forward to the wonderful breakfasts cooked by the lovely Tracey who made us very welcome ( hope that you open at 9.00am next time).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Just come back from puerto rico for my 6th time and these apartments are the best i have stayed at. The complex and rooms are very modern and clean. Aparments are very big compared with other ones i have stayed at and have a huge balcony/terrace. It looks like this place has not been built long or has had a major refurb as everything looked so good.
The staff were great too, very friendly and willing to help. People that run the pool bar were also grear, had afew chats and laughs with them.
If your tempted by going to puerto rico then im sure u wont be disapointed with these apartments.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 68 in Puerto Rico
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcon Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon Del Mar

Property: Balcon Del Mar
Address: Avda. De Timanfaya 25, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Balcon Del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2007, the complex has 70 apartments, all spacious and well furnished, with terrace and views, separate bedroom and sofa bed in the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Balcon Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Del Mar Hotel Puerto Rico
Balcon Del Mar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing