We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value For Money, In a Quiet Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Rico
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartamentos Guanabara Park
Ranked #9 of 9 Puerto Rico B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 966 helpful votes
“Value For Money, In a Quiet Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Guanabara Park, Puerto Rico for two weeks in May 2010. The location of these apartments is approximately 1 mile from the main beach in Puerto Rico up the hill at the back of the resort, so may not be suitable for those with walking difficulties or young children - although a taxi from the from the main shopping centre is only €3.50.
Personally, I found the location of these to be very good, with excellent views over the resort and down to the harbour from the pool, and the majority of the rooms the same view too.
The pool area was very nice too, always kept clean and with a good sized pool and more than enough sunbeds for the resort.
The rooms were in good working order, with maid service every other day. They had a little kitchenette area with a two-ring cooker, fridge, table and chairs and cutlery, pots and pans if you wanted to eat in the room. We didn't eat in, opting to eat out as there are a great selection of restaurants in the resort to cater for all tastes and budgets.
The bedroom was separate, consisting of two single beds, a bedside cabinet and enough storage space for two people for the two weeks.
The bathroom was clean, and warm water was never an issue although it was refreshing to have a cold shower after a full day in the sun!
All the staff onsite, from the maids to the barman/ receptionist were very friendly and always appreciated it when you tried a little Spanish with them - in fact just about everyone in the resort appreciated it! At one restaurant (Restaurante el Gaitero) one of the waiters thought I was living over in Spain due to my half decent attempt at ordering off the menu in Spanish - although I have to admit his English was way better than my Spanish.
A couple of good bars to recommend are Rocky's Bar, located at the small shopping centre down the hill from the Guanabara. It was always a pleasure to have a drink in here on an evening and the breakfasts were excellent.
The Hot Spot was also a good bar to have a drink, and they would show pretty much all the football that was on (English & Spanish), with a board outside informing which games were on.
The main shopping centre had a great selection of bars and restaurants too. The Royal Oak had a good quiz suitable for all every other night. Dicey Reilly’s was another great bar, with live music every night.
I would also recommend a day trip to Puerto de Mogan, which you could get to on the Lineas Blue Bird ferry from the harbour. There was a market at Mogan every Friday with loads of different stalls. Return trip was only €10 per person. You could also get the ferry to Arguineguin or Anfi.
All in all, our two weeks spent at the Guanabara Park were an excellent, relaxing vacation. Anyone thinking of booking this hotel I would recommend it.

.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sunmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Just got back from a last minute holiday where we booked guanabara apartments. I took my little girl with me and she loved the place. The pool was huge! very clean pool area. Dont let the fact that its so high up the hill put you off, its so peaceful and only a 3 minute taxi ride(approx 3 euros to the centre or 15-20 mins walk. The rooms were nice, hard beds and pillows but it is a basic place.rooms Cleaned 3 times while we were there, even had the pots washed! nice sea view from room 114b couldnt ask for more didnt even pay for it! Wouldnt reccomend eating here its not that nice and the entertainment sucks! go into the town there is loads to do! If you go gran canaria for nightlidfe go to playa del ingles its much better All in all a cheap holiday but a great place. bar shut at 11pm but i had little one with me so wasnt bothered!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Well we got a last minute deal to these apartments and so had no idea what we were going to but we were pleasantly surprised. The apartment was clean and nicely decorated and we had a huge terrace area which was great for at night. Downsides being no Air con but you could purchase fans from reception and the fact we were about 6 flights of stairs down from reception and pool area which was awful as there were no lifts. Reception staff could have been slightly better on the first night as we arrived at 3am and were simply pointed in the direction of the apartments along with other arrivals and we went round in circles a bit before being able to find ours. However for the rest of our stay the bar staff were mainly helpful although a bit on the slow side and the prices were the best even compared to the town centre area. Plenty of sunbeds round the pool area and because it's at the top of the hill there was a lovely breeze so you didn't feel to sticky while sunbathing. Walk down to town centre took about 15mins walking and you can get a taxi back up (it's not a good idea to walk it only attempted it once and both of us are fairly fit) Taxi's very cheap so much better option. Overall we had a lovely stay and if you can catch the Elvis show then it is a must i have never laughed so much in my life and not necessarily for the right reasons!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fifionia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and were quickly shown where the reception was and then the bus was gone. A very grumpy man took our names and gave us a key,. pointing in the rough direction of where are room was. There was myself,. my husband and daughter staying in the room, but only 2 beds made up, we had to make up the third bed, and then there was not even a full set of bedding for it. after making the bed we all fell asleep for a few hours. On waking, we finally saw the apartment properly, it was infested with bugs and cockroaches and everything was filthy dirtly, there was bird pooh all over the balcony that stayed there for the entire 2 weeks, no one every cleaned it up even though we complained about the place.

The swimming pool was filthy dirty and my daughter picked up an ear infection there.

There was meant to be a kids club, but this had been closed. The supermarket promised was also shut down instead they had just one shelf of things behind the bar area.

Entertainment was by Paul "Santagalo" twice a week. The first night of entertainment was a barbeque followed by Paul doing his "Elvis" show. The food was terrible, totaly inedible and as for the entertainment, well he was so drunk he couldn't do his show, and just sat there telling inappropriate jokes all eveing.

We complained to the Rep there but she did absolutley nothing. Needless to say i will not be going back and i certainly would not recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#17 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#26 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#6 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Guanabara Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Guanabara Park

Property: Apartamentos Guanabara Park
Address: Bco. Agua la Perra, 2, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Rico
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Guanabara Park Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing