We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean apartments”
Review of Cabau Cala D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabau Cala D'Or
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean apartments”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Not the dearest apartments in Puerto Rico, but possibly the cleanest. Apartments are pretty basic, ours could have slept 4 if we had young children. they have the essentials though like a kettle, a toaster and a fridge to keep the beer cool. the only real fault i have with these apartments (it may only have been ours) was that the mattress on both of our beds were wafer thin and didn't make for the most comfortable sleep i've ever had. most of the staff spoke some English and all were willing to assist with any questions or arrangements you had or needed to make.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are at the rear of the apartments, so the limited noise from the commercial centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    233
    111
    44
    34
See reviews for
269
275
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Just staying here at the momenr.Love it, we have been here mant times in the past 20 years as a couple now we have twins an it still works great for familes. When we arrived they put us in a top floor room - no good for small kids, spoke to manager - swapped the room next day for a ground floor apartment - fantastic service. The rooms are clean, our maid has OCD we have never had a room cleaned so well absolutely brilliant. All the staff are great a real credit to the management.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had our first foreign holiday here although ive travelled a lot with work. We booked with Thompson who were absolutely brilliant. The apartment was great, sitting on the balcony with a great view of Puerto rico, great weather a bar with snacks and reasonably priced drink. They also have a small shop for the esentials, tea coffe etc for dragon and the SUN newspaper for me. The staff were great and the cleaning ladies who come in to clean your apartment do a great job, the place was spotless. We had 2wks and it was not long enough, the only downside was paying for the tv which we didn't bother with and the lack of entertainment. The first week was Spanish dancers on tue and thu and the second wk nothing. Apart from that it was great, with visits from TYSON the hotel cat who we fed and watered but he is a character, so if you go don't forget to feed him. Thanks to everybody there including JEN the Thompson rep who was brilliant and was at tha airport when we left, a really nice young lady who is great at her job. As always this is my opinion based on my experience, THOMAS S

Room Tip: Try to get a lower room, also there are a lot of steps down to the town so beware if you have mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I wasn't overly impressed at 1st sight. There were over 30 steps from the road to the reception area with no lift. We have a one year old son so obviously he has a pram so was hard work carrying up and down them all the time. The pool is tiny and as in the shade till about 1pm it's quite cold. The apartment was quite small and not enough storage space for clothes, in our case 2 adults, one 5yr old and a 12month old baby. The travel cot provided was to big to fit in the bedroom so was tucked by the doors to the balcony. The room tho basic was comfortable. The beds and sofa beds were very comfortable. The kitchen had the usual self catering stuff including microwave but no standard oven. The bathroom was a good size.. No hair dryer, so make sure you take your own. The balcony was secured so no need to worry about younger kids squeezing through the bars. As I've mentioned the negative stuff they are aware of things and closing in April for 3 months and renovating a lot of stuff, a lift is being put in the rooms are being done up.. Standard ovens placed. The pool is being changed and an adult only sun area put in. The staff are really friendly and treat you as such rather than a hi day guest so it's a nice and relaxed atmosphere. I'd be happy to stay there again. :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louise1974-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife & I stayed for a week self-catering (the first week in February), and found the apartment a decent size ,especially for the two of us, clean,tidy & basic, just about 3 star. We stayed in C block ground floor. Only saw 1 cockroach the whole time & that was outdoors. Yes it is halfway up a hill (192 steps-my wife counted them-sad) so once you've done them, the €2.50 taxi ride is a must. The only thing that let the hotel down IMO is that when you arrive by coach/taxi to the hotel entrance there are 2 lots of stairs to climb just to get to the reception,not suitable if you are elderly or infirm. The pool was small & cold (it was Feb), the bar and dining area(?) is very small and you have to pay for TV & wifi (it's 2014 and wifi is generally free everywhere - sort it out Cala'D'Or). The beds were firm but comfortable and expect noise until about midnight due to local entertainments.

Puerto Rico is nice except the horrendous neon/plastic Europa centre. Go past it & head down to the beach and enjoy the 1km promanade walk to the next bay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks, we only saw 4 cockroaches the whole time we were there, 3 of which were already dead. The apartments (as the rest of Puerto Rico) are set into the mountain so I think it would be impossible not to encounter some kind of bug but they certainly didn't bother us.

The hotels were comfortable with extra blankets if needed, apartments were kept clean with maid service every day (except Sunday) and towels changed every other day. The balcony looks out over the pool area towards town but we never had any noise whilst in the bedroom.

There are 165 steps from town to the apartments but only 3euro in a taxi so not expensive.

The bar area was clean but didn't really get busy whilst we were there so wasn't a very good atmosphere but the staff were brilliant, the reception guy even ordered us a pizza hut one night with us just telling him what we wanted, he then rang our room when it had arrived.

The TV and WiFi have to be paid for extra but if you go into town most places have free WiFi anyway and we had some films on our tablet so didn't need the TV either.

The only downside to the apartments is they are noisy, the walls are very thin between the rooms and for the first 3 days we had very noisy neighbours but after that were fortunate to have a considerate neighbour that we barely heard at all. The bedrooms are next to the front door so the corridor is outside and with other people/children walking/running & talking/shouting it can get noisy but that was the only downfall we found.

All in all we had a great holiday, would recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was very happy with my stay in the Cala d'or apartments. Staff are very friendly and the complex has everything you need on site. Close to the centre via steps (which didn't bother us) only €2.50 in a taxi if you prefer to use them. The apartments are a great size and have everything you need for a self catering holiday. The complex is very well kept with staff constantly cleaning :)

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool area with great views of the commercial centre & the sea in the dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMcG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 68 in Puerto Rico
599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#5 of 68 in Puerto Rico
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala D'Or

Property: Cabau Cala D'Or
Address: Calle Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Cala d'Or Apartments)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabau Cala D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cabau Cala D'Or Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing