We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab apartment, lovely staff”
Review of Cabau Cala D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabau Cala D'Or
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

2 friends, stayed 6 nights. Lovely apartment, adequate facilities, room 207, overlooking pool, no noise, friendly staff (bar young man, serving at pool bar, always one in every place!,) supermarket on site, has everything, if a little bit overpriced, 228 steps to shopping centre & main eating area but great for the tighs!!! Recommend 'mama pino' restaurant in SC, fab food n great staff. Would stay at cala d'or again, without hesitation

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Cabau Cala D'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in 211, lovely views of the pool and sea. Noise wasn't as bad as everyone says. Lovely hotel just been refurbished and staff are friendly. Didn't see a single roach. Would highly recommend!:)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BOLASHa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having arrived home at half past one this morning I have plenty of other things i could be getting on with but find myself compelled to warn other travelers about this accommodation we booked this holiday as a last minute to stay in the Cala Nova but due to overbooking we were offered the Cala D'Or as an alternative the day before flying out effectively leaving us no choice.
Upon arriving at our apartments last Sat the 25th July 2014 we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel had been refurbished and it was their first day open..we therefor expected the odd teething problem but none the less everything looked and felt sparkly and new with the paint barely dry.... we were to find as the week went on that the paint was not dry and continuing work painting ,building, installing electrics etc was still continuing as our week progressed this hotel is at least a month away from being ready to accept paying guests (and you will be paying !!!)
The Apartment we had- no303 looked lovely as we walked in, and the balcony view over the pool down to the harbor was beautiful and the self catering elements were adequate comprising a fridge, microwave, hotplate kettle and toaster
the apartment itself is split level with a step down to the seating area from the kitchen, bathroom with shower and hairdryer and one cell like bedroom be warned there is no air conditioning and the one window is set high on the wall effectively making it an oven at night!!
at the time of our visit the pay to view tv was not connected and there was no internet in the hotel
our first night consisted.. as so many peoples do of exploring and finding food so after unpacking and freshening up we proceeded to head down to the Commercial center down the 187 stairs which so many reviewers mention of this area and had a lovely meal...take your pick here they are all good and more than plentiful
upon returning to our apartment 2.95 euro in a taxi and attempting to hire a fan.. with no luck as the hotel was just opened we went to bed for the first night of many with little sleep./ the beds are a nightmare !! combine this with the temperature and it is like lying on a brick and being slowly basted
we managed to hire a Fan the next day 10euro plus 10euro deposit and a safe 15 euro and 5euro deposit(the fan makes little difference by the way as all it does is move the hot air about)
inquiring about internet we were informed that it would be running by Tuesday which indeed it was for the cost of 6 euro a day and only in reception ...seriously Cala D'Or this is the 21st century by now my 15 year old son was suffering withdrawal lol
By Wed after 4 nights in the sweatbox bedroom and feeling slightly narky due to lack of sleep i asked about linen changes and was told the sheets would be changed once a week pointing out that we were running out of week and the bed linen was slightly the worse for wear i was greeted with an unconcerned shrug and 'once a week' this subject was raised a few times but the sheets nor towels were changed during our stay !!!!
the final straw for me was on our departure day we had confirmed our pick up time at reception for airport transfers to be told 15.45 after sitting in the bar area since just after 10am ....check out is 10 am by the way!! we headed to the front of the hotel watched the bus arrive and then leave as this was not our bus this began a toe to toe argument with the hotel manager about who was responsible for him supplying the wrong details ...our pick up was at 15.00 by the way and he had talked to the driver and took no interest in finding us
eventually he took 50 euro out of the till and told me to get a taxi, more to be rid of the red faced Scotsman than any guilt for his muck up me thinks
to surmise..The Cala D'Or could be an absolutely cracking hotel if they installed air conditioning and taught their staff to be a little more caring towards the needs of their paying customers as it is just now this hotel is not ready and is only interested in your wallet I will not be back

Room Tip: bottom floors have larger balcony's all rooms are noisy at night due to the commercial center
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My friend and I came here for a week in October and loved every minute! We were dreading finding cockroaches but we never came across a single one! Yeah it was a girly break but apart from us there was no noise around the apartments after around 10-11pm ! Diego was fantastic for pool side entertainment and very flirty but scared me half to death with placing a plastic cockroache on my shoulder one night! Haha
Marco (receptionist) was just so lovely and joined us for a few nights out down the centre (he's now over here in Glasgow though) lol! I would definitely stay here again and genuinely couldn't ask for any more! Thank you :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyntomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel last year, have just booked to go back this year, hotel was lovely and clean, staff were helpful and friendly, it was so close to everything, the views from the balconies were amazing! night life, shopping and beach were 10 min walk away from the hotel, only downside are the stairs, but you find a way to get over that, if you are looking for somewhere that is nice and cheap, you don't have to look any further!

Stayed: June 2013
8  Thank Nickykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

First time visitor to the Cala D'Or however have stayed in its sister hotel the Cala Nova, also in Puerto Rico numerous times. The room design in terms of furniture is identical however there are some fundamental differences in layout.
We stayed in room 401, this is the top floor and an end room, the view of Puerto Rico was fantastic, little noise could be heard during the evenings with the window closed and the bedroom is shaded throughout the entire day making a fan/air-con unnecessary. The kitchen was spacious and clearly separated from the living area, the bathroom was kept spotless, There were ample utensils, pots and pans. There are only two down sides I can think of, in particular with our room, was that there was an unused door, midway between the bedroom and the living area, upon inspection it became apparent that this door actually leads into the apartment next door, they too have a "secret door' both of which are lockable from inside the individual apartment, when I say lockable it's by means of a latch, not a lock and key. This wasn't massively off putting however you do need to put an element of trust into your neighbours (note you can hire a safe for the duration of your stay), the shower wasn't the most powerful however still perfectly acceptable.

The pool area although not used by ourselves looked 'big enough' however at 9am prompt people were queuing by the stack of loungers awaiting them to be unlocked in order for them to get the best spot.

The shop and bar is reasonably priced and the fully functional lift makes light work of the many steps to the 4th floor. If stairs are an issue then this hotel is not for you, in order to get into the centre without the aid of taxis there are 100+ steps, alternatively you can walk the longer route round which isn't difficult at all or get a taxi which costs €2.95

All in all I would recommend this hotel to people looking for a cheap get away, it's ideal location makes everything accessible, the clean spacious apartments are everything you need for a self catering break, I would definitely stay here again in the future, however If budget isn't of much importance I would pay a little more and book the Cala Nova.

Top breakfast venue = The Greedy Pig

Top Dinner Venue = Miami Steakhouse

Top Evening Entertainment = The Shamrock Bar

All of the above are located in the main shopping centre

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alex20072007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It's clean! Unfortunately though with no AC in the rooms and with the main bedroom backing onto the main walkways throughout the hotel forget having a sound sleep! It's a cheap venue which attracts the Pi55 cans who think getting in at 2am and waking up the entire hotel is ok, our last night was disturbed by some idiot trying to argue with one of the hotel staff at the top of his voice waking both us and the kids up; makes you proud to be English!!!? Location wise is good, if you like the evening sun when having a drink then this is great as it gets the sun right up till 8pm! There's loads of steps everywhere which is good news to work off some of those holiday indulgences. If we go back again we believe that Cala Nova is the sister hotel which is apparently more family friendly and just a short walk down the street! Finally you have to pay for Wifi which at 6. euro a day was a joke and very annoying!

Room Tip: The top floor obviously has the better views and gets the most sun for the early evening chill our b...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#9 of 68 in Puerto Rico
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala D'Or

Address: Calle Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Cala d'Or Apartments)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £43 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabau Cala D'Or Apartments, Sun 365 For those looking for Gran Canaria hotels, our Cabau Cala D’Or apartments are the ideal place for sun worshippers wishing to enjoy a relaxing holiday by the swimming pool. We are one of the most popular establishments amongst the hotels and apartments in Gran Canaria, Puerto Rico. We are located in the Puerto Rico valley only a few minutes walk from the large commercial area that offers a large selection of restaurants, bars and shops. The white sandy beach of Puerto Rico and Playa Amadores are also a small distance away. If you want to relax and maximize your stay with us just lie back by the pool in the sun and enjoy a drink or a snack from the pool bar. Our apartments are a great option if you are looking for Gran Canaria hotels in Playa Amadores and still want to be in the lively atmosphere of Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cabau Cala D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cabau Cala D'Or Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing