We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we're going back for 3 weeks !”
Review of Cabau Cala D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabau Cala D'Or
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good we're going back for 3 weeks !”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Really nice place. The hotel is friendly, and welcoming and good fun if you join in with the banta. Stayed for a week over xmas on 3rd floor (would reccomend as have nice view over pool and town) but was so depressed to leave, wish we booked longer so have just booked 3 weeks in the summer. Apartments was clean, housekeeping service was very good. There is a walk down lots of steps to the main centre but so what, you can get a taxi back for about 2.50 - your on holiday! Some of the bars overcharge and some are a complete rip off but some are very good (1.50-2.50). MM's charge 0.90c - no wonder everyone was drunk in there! We enjoyed Tropicana, and Picadilllys. Nice walk down to the beach and around the path to Amadores. Only not so good thing is mattresses are quiet hard and you have to pay for television (for those who want to stay in). Entertainment around the pool is good fun, Leo gets everyone involved and feel welcomed. Evening entertainment finishes about 11 or 12, the perfect time to go down town and party!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hhart2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    238
    112
    45
    35
See reviews for
274
279
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed From the 20th to the 27th December. First time away at Christmas but loved every minute. Christmas dinner served by the pool which was a novelty but nice.

There were lots of families who were very friendly and who go every year but who also were staying for 2 weeks. We have now just booked here for 3 weeks in the summer.

Great entertainment, good swimming pool, some said too cold but I thought it was just right. Bar snacks are simple but good value. The bar and restaurant sector is only 5 mins away although I would avoid the all you can eat Chinese!

Beach a 10 to 15 min walk.

Rooms are clean, spacious and have all the facilities you need. The bath is good, deeper than any I have had at home, the kitchenette has everything you need and balcony overlooks resort. noise was not a prob as bed rooms are at the back.

The only down side are the beds that are too hard. Apparently a revamp is on the cards.

Will be back

The one down side is

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnyargyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Mayo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Arrived here late at night to be told we couldn't stay at the Cala D'or due to a plumbing problem, however they had arranged alternative accomodation at the Casablanca, three doors up. This was fine, but we ended up staying 3 nights there with no communication from the Cala D'Or as to when we could come back until we got a phone call from the Casablance reception on the fourth morning telling us we needed to vacate our room immediately (lucky we were there, eh?)

The Casa D'Or itself was very nice, lovely apartments and pool and very clean. Staff weren't the friendliest, but they were fine - we didn't have much interaction. Pool entertainment was cringey stuff, but nothing that wasn't too be expected, Leo did his job well! All in all, this place was nothing spectacular, but was perfect for what we wanted and really, what else would we expect?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Great Value for money, (week before Xmas; so V V cheap) apartments are fine, big, nice view.
Only problems with this Hotel are that it's very noisy at night, and early in the morning as the cleaners feel it neccessary to start shouting at about 7 am.Also the pool area is far too small for the amount of sunbeds.
It's in a good central position, and is clean.
Would consider going again, in a quiet time of the year.Heaven alone knows aht it must be like in peak season with the sunbed/towels out issue!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireFuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Just arrived home after a half term week at the Cala D'Or and we have had a fabulous time - better than we expected. Weather for October hot - 30-40 but had a chilling time. Right from check in the service was great, nothing was any problem for the staff, especially L-E-O LEO the entertainer - he made the holiday for us and the kids!
Went into centre every night which was an easy walk down 170 odd steps and then a cheap taxi - 2Euro 70 return.
SUNSPOT is a fab drinking venue and Torito Negro the best for steak in the world, never mind Puerto Rico!
Bring on our next visit to Gran Canaria as we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkinounou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

nice apartments, very lively with loads of entertainment around the pool. pool area very small, and if you are not up by 0830, then beds and space are at a premium. pool bar, serving in glass glasses around the pool. but all in all a good base to stay. 188 steps down to centre of puerto rico, but taxis are cheap for return journey back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyt1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel and I would say that it is great for couples and families alike. The entertainment was day and night including bingo, fun quizzes/games, dancers, singers, reptile nights, etc. Leo the entertainer was a real laugh, i would definitely recommend going on a night out with him as he knows how to have a good time and all the best places to go.

The best bar where you can dance is Harveys although the drinks are fairly expensive and people said NOT to go to jokers as people pick-pocket there. The best place to eat is 'Planet' as the food was really good there (especially the steak). There are loads of steak houses there but this is definitely the best place ot eat.

The cleaners at the hotel were excellent and I think they come 5 times a week. The rooms were nice, i would recommend opening the balcony door and sleeping on the sofa at night if you don't get air conditioning as it does get really hot in the bedroom. The music from the centre does go on til about 4am though which may be a problem for families.

The location is great as it takes a few minutes to walk to the centre and about a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest beach. The only downfall is the steps to get to the centre as there is a lot of them, it is ok on the way down but on the way back up it does wear you out. However, you can get a taxi back from the centre for around 4 euros, which is worth it.

The food by the pool is good, the staff are excellent and the pool itself is clean. The view from the balcony is amazing as you can see everything being on a hill. Overall I would say that staying at this hotel would give you a great, fun holiday and I am thinking of going back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipsy_not_dumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 68 in Puerto Rico
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#4 of 68 in Puerto Rico
479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala D'Or

Property: Cabau Cala D'Or
Address: Calle Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Cala d'Or Apartments)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabau Cala D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cabau Cala D'Or Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing