We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheep and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colina Mar Apartments
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Mersyside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheep and cheerful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lovely apartments, not the most modern but you get what you pay! They aren't dirty and every other days they get cleaned and fresh towels and bedding. 2 lovely pools with entertainment in the bigger one! Food is very repetitive but there is definitely something for everyone and of not you can ask for it! There is food literally all day if you are all inclusive and ice cream and drinks are free obv! It's at the top of a massive hill so make sure you always have taxi fair or its 600 steps up and down or €3 in a taxi! Lovely apartments, lovely area would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms but it may be a but louder on top of the bar but that's obvious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    426
    228
    84
    79
See reviews for
404
413
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

very basic apartments but clean and tidy, we stayed on a floor near the bottom, but would recomend that when booking try for a floor near to the reception, as you need to use a number of lifts to acess the building, situated right at the top of a mountain next to the europa centre. its a 25 min walk to the beach down hill, but allways a taxi back up, we found the staff very helpfull, and if you have got a late flight back home, and cant keep the room on as we couldnt, there are courtesy shower rooms available, so you can still refresh before leaving

Room Tip: book a room on the same level as reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank us2newcastleupontyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east kilbride , scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Arrived at hotel reception at 3am and got checked in quickly by a dour faced guy. Was given keys to room 303.
Room was nice so we were happy.
Next morning I went out on to balcony and wow what a view. We were high up and had great views of Porto Rico harbour.
Hotel food got better each day we were there. Drinks were good too and branded dRinks are half price if you are all inclusive.
The thing that made the hotel good for us were the pools and the brilliant staff apart from check in guy.
All staff are friendly , helpful and hard working and my favorites were Michelle and Jose in the bar.
Yanet was the animation girl who my son Ryan loved as she got him involved in everything, thank you so much yanet as we got peace while you played pool , darts , water polo , bingo etc with Ryan .
The lady and man at reception were great too, knowledgeable , helpful and friendly.
The downsides of the hotel was we had a problem with ants in our bathroom and kitchen but we were given a spray but they came back and the toilets downstairs near the pool and bar as they were stinking.
Also if you wanted the BBQ night you had to pay and if you were AI it was half price so we didn't bother with it.
The hotel is a few minutes walk to the Europa centre where there is lots of entertainment etc
We left the hotel on the 20th October and heard that it was getting into the season for the scandinavians to go to the resort but while we were there it was all people from the uk
We met nice people , had a good time, would go back because of the brilliant staff.
Miss you colina mar

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irene007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked via on the beach, did some homework before booking, despite the petty, in our opinion, reviews we went for 1 week all inclusive from 20th Oct 12.
Our check in was speedy, with a handy map given to locate our room, it's built on a long narrowish location, and found our room very easily.
Apartment we had had`nt been refurbished yet, as currently undergoing, but it was fine, always hot water, bath with powerfull shower, small 2 ring cooking area and microwave, some basic untensils supplied and water waiting for us to make a cuppa [thanks guy's]
Plenty of drawers and wardrobe space.
Clean, tidy, greeeeat big view!
The bar staff in the Captains Bar are English, and very helpful in advising where to go and what to do etc, Entertainment nightly was dependant on taste [nothing vulgar, just some acts did`nt float my boat], however, the Boy George act was top class and well done with good humour too!
Breakfast was very good, and served till 1000 hrs so no 'prison camp' regimes imposed.
Both Pools are opened early, kept clean and tidy, and staffed by friendly people [The small Pool was run by one man who was a real star turn]
Lunches fine, afternoon snacks a bit lacking, dinners fine, with the choice of 50% disc if you wanted the a la carte menu, all, except a la carte are buffet style.
If your looking for a top end All Inclusive, you may be disapointed by your own expectations, however we went with the view to eating out when we wanted and eating in when we wanted without feeling that we were 'doing ourselves out of what we had paid for'
Rooms have a safe available for hire, and UK TV for hire [why when your on holiday I don't know] too.
There is some noise from the shopping center below but never kept us from sleeping.
Taxis to the beach [a very steep and long walk otherwise, but good for burning off the calories] are approx 4 euros and always available outside the main entrance, day and night.
There is a small market on the complex if not AI, and a `Hyper Dino` supermarket in the shopping center three mins away also.
Internet terminals available in reception at 1 euro for 15 mins, [wi if in Peurto Rico as a whole is poor though]
All in all we had a great time as the Colina Mar is run to cater to your holiday, not dictate to you, and the Staff make it an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook Peurto Rico, on the top of the Valley, so not facing the beach directly anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lawrence s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here in mid October as a family of 4 including 2 x 4 year olds. We stayed on level 3 which gave us a great view of the sea & harbour.

The receptionist(s) upon arrival, (& throughout) were friendly & very helpful.

The room was spacious and clean. Both pools were clean and tidy with plenty of sunbeds. We only used the lower level pool area which was a bit quieter & relaxed. The bar here was good with one guy serving. He was very friendly & laid back, a real credit to the hotel.

We were all inclusive & found the meals really good. Always plenty of choice. The restarant area was always clean & tidy & the food was well cooked.

There was little in the way of kids entertainment, however, all the kids seemed to be having a great time anyhow. Bar staff were friendly apart from one who was dowright rude.

We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Just back from the colina mar an would defo recommend it as somewhere to stay.
We did not eat or drink in the restaurant or bar as we like to go out an about, but as for the apartment it had everything in it was clean tidy an even had a fan :)) was near plenty of taxis an Europa center.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

we came here for a chill out holiday in the sun - we were not dissapointed. the colina mar apts are at the top of the hill behind the europa centre. our one bedroom apartment was excellent, it was on the 4 th floor - therefore the views over the valley and the harbour were stunning. our apartment was okay - just a little tired looking - although they were in the middle of an upgrade along the block. the apartment was clean so no complaints from us. facilities were good - x2 swimming pools, and they also do an all inclusive for meals and drinks if you fancy that type of holiday. we ate at various restaurants in the Europa centre - good variety - you will always get something you like. For a change we went to the beach at amadores on a couple of days - it is fabulous - well kept and really clean - plenty of good quality restaurants there too. weather was fantastic 28 - 30 degrees every day. Puerto Rico might not be everyones cup of tea but you cant beat it for wall to wall sunshine.

Room Tip: third or fourth floor will give you the best views across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iain j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#20 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#32 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina Mar Apartments

Property: Colina Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Timanfaya 4, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colina Mar Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colina Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Colina Mar Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing