We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colina Mar Apartments
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel shame about the food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 21st to 28th july. On arrival at around midnight we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who gave us our keys and directed us to our room. The apartments were very clean and modern with plenty of space. It was a relief to find we were given a free bottle of water in the fridge as the bar had stopped serving. The apartments were cleaned regular and I have no complaints about the accomodation.

The location is on top of a mountain but theres a shop on the 4th floor thats open til 8pm and the europa centre is a 2 minute walk away with shops bars and resteraunt.

The shower in our room.was really powerful so that was a relief and the hotel gave us washing up liquid and sponges to clean our dishes. There was also a free fan and free kettle which was appreciated.

There is 2 pools at the hotel and we preferred the smaller pool as it was quieter and better for kids

Only downside was the food. Probably the worst ive had on all inclusive always the same unless you wanted to pay for a le cart or a bbq. I feel the hotel would benefit from free themed nights for the food. Also cocktails arent included in the all inclusive which they have been whenever ive been elsewhere. The bar service in the evening was very slow with only one person serving and huge queues.

Entertainment was cheesy but enjoyable and they get small children involved too so theres something for everyone.

Would I stay here again? Yes but probably go bed and breakfast instead.

Overall a clean friendly hotel and not bad value for money

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank bulgaria09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    437
    233
    84
    81
See reviews for
410
427
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay all inclusive this time but still had a great stay.

Room refurbished 2 years ago and grounds around just completed.

Everything we needed for self catering, cleaner changed towels daily and even did our washing up. Highly recommend.

Entertainment seems a little naff, but Europa centre is 5 mins away.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed her the first two weeks in July. We arrived at around 6pm the gentleman who checked us in was very rude an just grunted at us! I was a bit worried then as I work in hotel! Went yo our room which was really clean and a great view, couldn't fault the cleanliness one bit, we was not told any tines ect! Made our way to restaurant - food was ok ! Some days you couldn't fault it an others it was disgusting! We ate out in the Europe shopping Centre a few night! The gentleman who worked most days in the pool bar was one of the rudest men iv ever met an could be waiting up to 10 mins for a drink. Victor the entertainer on the following day made us so welcome I could not fault him one bit, he made everyone welcome an he is an asset to this hotel! The pool was always busy so we had yo set alarm to get up early for a sun bed! We spent most days by the pool, when we were there it was quite peaceful the day before we left you had big groups arriving so I'd imagine later in July would be full of party people, so if you want it quite ish to go eagle July! Weather was perfect every day! We would go back but wouldn't rush to

Room Tip: Stayed in 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lansdownehotelcalne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from a weeks all inclusive holiday with my 12 year old Daughter. As my husband and Son were not joining us I was very apprehensive about going to the hotel, I need not have worried, yes, it's a little basic on the food front BUT, it's well cooked & served in a very clean area, it was repetitive but still tasty. one evening there was nothing my daughter liked, so I asked if there was anything that they could do & without hesitation the waiter offered her spaghetti bolognaise, it came in about 10 mins, piping hot & fresh & no extra charge! The rooms are spotless & are cleaned daily. In all honesty the large pool was not to my taste, loud & more roudy than we like, the small pool is wonderful, it's like a different world, quiet & relaxing, lots of beds to go round & a small bar with a lovely barman who smiles all the time. We found the staff lovely & they always said hello. We were in room 337 & it was extremely quiet & peaceful. We never heard any roudy behaviour, other than the usual happy holiday makers, exept one night when the people above had a hughe row, but we thought it was a but funny ( a little entertainment) We only went to the entertainment once & saw Zolst who was an amazing singer, a few people said they saw a Boy George tribute & said he was very good. to sum it all up, I would return! May be some reviewers expect far more from a 3* than they pay, although I think the staff & cleaners give far more than their 3* expect.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arolwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staff very friendly beautiful views and room was emmaculate with lovely marble flooring and spacious balcony 2 lovely pools and free wifi access at reception has lifts that take you from each floor of the hotel would definitely return and would recommend very quiet also done know what all the noise complaints are about didn't here a thing all week :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irelandsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 weeks in July. Had room with lovely views over main pool, Bay n Puerto Rico. Kept awake everynight by loud groups sat drinking by pool till 3 or 4am. Last straw couples fighting, groups arguing etc 4am one night. There is no security or phones in rooms. Complained 2 reception next am.. shrugged his shoulders,what did we want him 2 do...not good customer relations. Many complained. We were eventually moved but long way 2 reception if emergency. This hotel is very noisy n some staff need customer care training while others are excellent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very basic apartment , food was ok pool is ok the view from ur balcony of a night amazing and shopping centre right next door walk to the beach but your gonna need a taxi to get back up the hills lol

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy3457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#20 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#34 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina Mar Apartments

Property: Colina Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Timanfaya 4, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colina Mar Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colina Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Colina Mar Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing