We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away at all costs!! Safe robbed while asleep in the room! !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parque Raquel Apartments
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay away at all costs!! Safe robbed while asleep in the room! !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from our holiday today wasn't expecting much from the reviews and what we paid etc! Just would like to pre-warn anyone thinking of booking because what unfolded turned into a nightmare holiday! The first night we had cockroaches in our bed, ants in the bathroom all over the towels. The pillows and mattresses were hard and stained with yellow marks. This stuff we can kind of get over! We purchased the safety deposit box for 15 euros to protect our belongings after hearing of robberys etc! But this still wasn't enough! The second night we awoke to our door being wide open after it was fully locked up the night before! Contents of my bag on the side with my holiday purse wide open! We then went to the safe and that was empty! So while we were fast asleep (we used earplugs as loud music played till early morning) someone who obviously had access to the apartment had robbed us! Having no proof we couldn't do anything! Luckily I was on a family trip and my relatives helped me out. We all swiftly sorted alternative accommodation! But if you are planning on staying here be very careful!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kimmykEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
23
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We are just home from this hotel and it was fine. It is right next to the Puerto Rico centre so music until 4am can only be expected. There are 16 bungalow type apartments with no bar or entertainment. The pool was clean and cleaned and our kids had a hard job passing it any day, spending hours on every visit. The staff were nice, and the cleaning lady called every day. We didn't need cleaning daily but it was offered. Nothing was robbed, there were no cockroaches and we HAD a kettle. There were ants. but there were ants everywhere we looked! We had very noisy Spanish 20 something neighbours who were on a lad's weekend, again we complained and manager had a word. I found it very hot at night but kids slept no problem. Our friends rented an a/c unit from a private company, which I would do if visiting again. The guests were lovely in general with the kids making friends easily. Does this deserve it's reviews? I don't think so. Would I go back? Yes, but maybe as a 4am partier!!!

Room Tip: Hire an a/c unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Would not recommend to anyone to stay here .. Staff very rude and ignorant, the rooms were very small with sockets hanging off the walls. Very poor lighting in the complex and also the pool was too small and it was filthy . Before we went we looked at reviews and seen that many people we robbed but we decided to try it out for ourselfs ... Unfortunately we got robbed wile we were in bed and when we realised we went to the reception and before we got to tell the receptionist he said " the money the money your door was open at seven o clock" now how he new this was beyond me ... It was defiantly him !! Because before the police came he ran up to fix the door ... I would never ever stay in this dive again .. !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berniedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

during our holiday July 2012 (one week) this place turned out to be the worst of all ever !!! do not even imagine of staying there!
maids or other locals have stolen our mobile phones, no one was there to even speak to, eventually they all pretended that they don't speak English ! disaster, cockroaches everywhere, dirty swimming pool, loud banging music till 7 am, horrible holidaymakers near by all drunk and very noisy, over all this is a place from HELL !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annavaalentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Worst place I have ever stayed my sheets got change once in 9 days.... Lots of cockroaches and ants... This place should be closed down and jcb brought in and bull dose it.. Pool look like it was a toilet lots if toilet roll in it. Very poor light and night. If you want to party into 5am and not leave your apartment great place for that. Oh final my mother sat on a chair and fell through it and smack her head off the glass door and hurt her wrist

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hutch1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Loud music until early hours makes it impossible to sleep due to being close to the center.appartments are below basic no kettle tin opener no laundry facilitys so me plug sockets hanging of the walls no air conditioning or fans supplied maid service once a week had to ask for a change of bedding and towels.To say we were a family of six we had a patio table with just 2 chairs and 2 sunbeds there were only 2 spanish channels on tv and spanish holidaymakers given decent rooms with satellite facilities. The pool is very small was never cleaned despite being closed from 8pm till 9am my son and his friend had to clean it on a few occasions .I found the staff very unhelpful. Location is brilliant for shopping and eating but as mentioned late at night you cant sleep due to the music. also at there is no adequate lighting in the communal areas so you cannot see the steps going the appartments which is not only dangerous for tripping up but health and safety .I wouldnt stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annmarie123450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

It was very basic but clean, with maid service at least every other day. As well as having a 2 bedroom bungalow we had our own space with table, chairs and sunbeds outside the front. The location was excellent - within 5 minutes of the shopping center with all its pubs and restaurants. We didn't find it too noisy - just the right distance away. The beach was only about a 10 minute walk away.The only thing we did feel a bit of a let down was the pool as it was so small.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marion2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Laguna Apartments
Laguna Apartments
#57 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heliomar Apartments
Heliomar Apartments
#36 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#32 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#34 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#26 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servatur Canaima Apartments
Servatur Canaima Apartments
#47 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parque Raquel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parque Raquel Apartments

Property: Parque Raquel Apartments
Address: Avenida las Palmeras, 17, 35140 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parque Raquel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parque Raquel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Raquel Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Parque Raquel Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing