We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”
Review of Eden Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden Apartments
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This apartment complex is situated near to the Europa Centre which is at the top of a hill which over looks a steep valley. You can walk to the Commercial Centre of Puerto Rico which isn't too difficult as it is downhill. However I would recommend getting a taxi back as the walk back is very steep and fare is quite cheap. The Europa Centre, which is a short walk has the same type of shops as the commercial centre, including a well stocked supermarket, bars and restaurants. There is a supermarket and a laundrette at the complex. The reception is manned by English speaking receptionists who all spoke good English and were very helpful and accommodating. We were there on an all inclusive basis. The apartment caters for self catering holidays also, but gives the opportunity to upgrade to all inclusive.

Although this apartment is built on the side of the hill, there is a lift and numerous ramps so families with prams or wheelchairs would find access easy. The apartments have a kitchen, a living area, a bathroom and a spacious balcony, which even had two sun lounges. Although we were on a full board basis, we found it useful to have the use of the kitchen and having a fridge to keep our drinks cold! We were also surprised to have a double bed in the apartment. The apartment was clean and the the kitchen had plenty of cooking utensils including a microwave. I think the the rooms could be improved if they have air conditioning (air conditioning units can be hired but with the climate being so warm it should be standard) and also the towels should be changed more than twice a week. There was flat screen TV in the apartment which you have to pay extra if you want British channels. WIFI is available also for a charge. We paid for the WIFI . However we had problems with the connection as it kept dropping out as our iPad tried to connect to one of the numerous local hotspots in the area.

The complex has a beautiful swimming pool with ample sun lounges. The pool and the area around it is very clean and the poolside toilets were cleaned regularly. The bar and restaurant is situated centrally in the pool area and there is an outside dining area for those who want to eat alfresco. There is also an adults only sun terrace. There were signs around the pool advising depth clearly and also advising that ball games were banned.. However the pool did not have a lifeguard, which was advised and parents had to ensure the safety of their children. The only problem with the pool was the slippery edge around the outside, which had been painted with a smooth paint. I felt this should be redressed and as an alternative, a less smooth surface could be applied.

The bar and restaurant was accessed via a bridge over the pool. The staff in the bar are very friendly and helpful. They got to know everyone very quickly and knew what you were going to order. The quality and quantity of the food and drink were very good. During our stay there was a Chinese night and BBQ which were both excellent.

There is a full programme of entertainment which included children's entertainment, live shows, Karaoke, quizzes and plenty of bingo and even a fashion show. There is a playground with a soft ground surface for younger children and for those adults who want a quieter moment there are tables and chairs set away from the bar area which overlooks the valley.

We had wonderful holiday. The positive aspects of the complex far outweigh the negative ones. The biggest asset I feel this complex has are the staff and the friendly and welcoming approach they have.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lestea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

These apartments are ideally situated if like us you want to be near things but not right on top of it. We walked to the Beach and the Town (approx 15 mins down hill to either), but got a Taxi back. Taxi's varied from 3 euro to 4.5 euro, depending on where you caught it. Appartments are basic, but very clean. We had a 1 bed appartment for 3 of us. Cleaned alternative days which we found more than enough. Shower was top class.
Staff very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
Wifi is 20euro for 7 days or you can pay 2 euro for half hour on their computers.
Didnt bother with TV but believe thats also 20 euro for 7 days.
Pool not over large but adequate, shallowest area is 1.3m and only went upto 1.6m.
Went on a couple of excursions - Music Hall night - great night but food was just OK.
If you get chance to take the Blanket Trip its well worth it especially if Tony is your guide. OK its a free trip and you have to sit for about an hour whilst they explain about the Lambswool bedding (we already own it so werent too bothered about that), but the trip and the Tapas Meal (7 euro incl wine), are top class.
We stayed for 2 weeks and ate out every day, we didnt want to cook. Ate a couple of lunches in the Hotel and had the Sunday night BBQ - all were great. Lots of places to eat in the Europa Centre and breakfast is available for around 4 euro. Further away at the Commercial Centre there are even more places to grab a bit to eat and you can get things like Chicken & Chips from around 3.5 euro.
Caught the ferry to Mogan on Friday and went to the Market - lots of 'looky looky' people trying to sell you all sorts of things from leather belts/bags to t-shirts and aloe vera! Lovely town and lots of great pictures to be taken of the houses etc.
Also went on the Dolphin search (super cat trip) - saw loads, once again great half day trip.
The weather in October didnt go below 24c even at night, although we had a couple of hours rain one day it was warm rain!
Love the area and want to go back asap!

Room Tip: 2 bed apparments all to be on ground floor, whilst 1 bed up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AngiieSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I read a lot of reviews before going and felt I had made a good choice . It was a nice place to stay as they say really nice staff . The breakfast was nice real English food was ok but did get a bit repetitive at times we did eat out about 4 times and a lot of people said that they also went out to eat and drink a lot. The rooms were comfortable and clean I never saw a cockroach . The main problem we had was the restaurant turned into the entertainment place in the evening so if you went out at say 8 for dinner you would have to eat and go sit outside and return once the food had closed we have a 2 year old and a 4 year old which meant all the children was playing on the one climbing frame and slides because they was waiting to go back in and it was very boystrase for the little ones.the pool was all around the restaurant , bar so could never relax in case kids ran out of door only a bridge stopping them going into water. I would say its ok for older children . The Europa centre is good we went there with kids they have a good play area . There were two men offering a free trip to where ever you wanted to go if you went on a presentation for time share we done it and spent 3 hours there but was not pressured in to nothing and got free tickets for a dolphins trip well worth it it saved us 75 euro and trip was fantastic .the views were very nice from the terrace .we got taxis everywhere because it s very hilly I would say there are lots to do around area we wouldn't go back again mainly because of the entertainment in evening lets say it was better than being here it was very hot the fans in the room was sufficient so we didn't hire a air on system .

Room Tip: We was in room 50 and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

stayed here for a week 8th oct to 15th oct great holiday will go back apartments great and a good size we were all inclusive food was great with a excellent choice the staff are lovely too quite a walk to the beach down hill got a taxi back about 3 euros amodores beach stunning overall had a fantastic holiday went to quick would definately go back

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here All Inclusive with wife and 3 children, 15, 13, 4 for 2 weeks in August 2012. First impressions were great, mainly English people, nice and clean etc etc.

GOOD THINGS:

Food is fantastic, full English breakfast, chips with everything, good choice at evening meal and ice cream on tap!
Shop is good on site selling papers etc etc
TV available as well as internet connection (at extra cost) including SKY Sports.
BBQ on Sundays was superb.

BAD THINGS:

Everything revolves around one swimming pool area, the bar is by the restaurant which in turn becomes the afternoon bingo and evening entertainment area.
Distinct lack of sunbeds.
You are not allowed to take food or drinks away from the bar if you are all inclusive.
No beach towels free with AI
No TV free with AI
No safe free with AI
No Air Con free with AI
No internet free with AI

Looking back I wish I had gone self catering as I felt trapped by the ridiculous rules about eating and drinking, so in the evening rather than watch the poor Spanish entertainment we would sneek drinks back to our villa. You can get a decent three course meal at the Europa centre near by for €10 per person.

The Eden is a nice place, however, they need to decide if they are all inclusive or self catering. And stop treating AI guests as potential criminals if they wish to take their drinks or food out of the bar/restaurant area.

One thing I must stress is that the staff are fantastic and very helpful and they are only doing their jobs when enforcing these rules. Michael and his team at the bar were excellent.

Amadoras Beach is 20 minute walk down the hill, but get a cab back €3-€4 euro, not many people carriers around so we would have to take 2 cabs as they will not take more than 4 people.

All in all I would say we had a great time, however, it could be so much better if they relaxed the rules a little bit and decided one way or another if AI or SC.

Not really one for going back to places as so many other places to go. So I bid the Eden farewell forever!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Myself and my partner visited the Eden apartments end of Sept. We were a bit apprehensive as it was a cheap all inclusive getaway but from the moment we arrived we couldn't fault a thing! The food was lovely ( you get what you pay for ) Chinese night was gorgeous, very well cooked. Drinks were spot on, if we ever felt it wasn't strong enough you could always go back for a top up - not too sure why everyone is moaning about this! The bar staff went above and beyond to ensure everyone was ok and enjoying themselves. The cleanliness of the hotel was 5* there were always a lot of cleaners around. A lot of he people that were staying had already been a few times before and people that we met that were like us ( visiting for the first time ) were already arranging to visit again. Great for everyone , couples, family's and groups! I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially the all inclusive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kellyx86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A great location and a great place to stay.I travelled with my 3 children aged 15,10 and 5 and all of them had a great time.We went allinclusive and it was well worth it the food was lovely ,a nice cooked breakfast everymorning (not good for the diet) the only thing i would say is the cheese was put on the same tray as the ham not very good if your a vegetarian and also they could do with doing veggie burgers but apart from this it was great.The staff were brilliant and good with the kids, we had agreat holiday and will definately be going back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.7 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
480 reviews
10.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Apartments

Address: Calle Roque de los Muchachos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £67 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eden Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Eden Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing