We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional but noisy”
Review of Cabau Cala Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabau Cala Nova
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Cala Nova Apartments are clean and adequate - nothing special, but great for the price - and if you're going to be out an about all day (or down by the pool), then they're absolutely fine and cater for all needs from sleeping and washing to eating and sitting in the sun on a balcony. There’s a fridge in the kitchen and an electric cooker, with a basic set of crockery, utensils and knives & forks etc supplied. You can watch TV is you pay extra.

Staff friendliness was hit and miss, depending on whom you encountered, but then there's Ricardo - the cheery, resident fun and games organiser who never seems to run out of energy; our 13 year-old son was kept entertained playing water polo, snooker, quizzes, darts and generally having a darn good time as we relaxed by the pool – he’s probably the hotel’s best asset.

The Cala Nova also arranges evening entertainment most nights – from bingo and live music to floor shows (if you like snakes!) and drinking games - which can be great if you like that kind of thing, but be aware that all this takes places in the open bar/pool/terrace area so, if your apartment is on the first floor, you are in for a noisy time until around 11-12pm; we discovered this little annoyance on our first night, but thankfully managed to arrange a relocation up several floors for the rest of our stay, which helped a bit. The bar does basic ‘grub’ and a decent cooked breakfast, but nothing that equates to an evening meal – although the barbecue night food was very good for the price.

As others have said, getting fresh bed linen seems to be an uphill struggle: There’s no air conditioning in the rooms as standard (although you can hire units) and the nights can be a bit sticky, so after 4 or 5 days we asked for a change of sheets – in fact we asked twice during our 8 day stay and despite assurances that the rooms would be serviced this did not happen. By the time we left for home, our linen could have qualified as a biohazard – not good and loses Cala Nova some points.

Talking of uphill struggles – Puerto Rico spreads up the sides of a fairly steep valley and there’s several flights of street-level steps between the apartments and the town or beach – the actual distance is minimal (a 5-10 minute walk into town, maybe 15 tops to the beach), but if you don’t like steps, Cala Nova’s location might be a bit of a challenge.

Overall, Puerto Rico is a noisy place – the town’s night clubs are mostly in the floor of the valley in the town centre (at the top of town, with the beach at the other end), and the noise from the clubs rattles round the steep sides and so everyone gets the boom-boom bass thump of the music until around 4am - and then there’s about another hour of general, shouty hubbub as the revellers stagger back to their beds. If you’re one of the party goers then this is not a problem, but if you’re on a family trip, or just want a quiet time, you’ll have to either sleep with your apartment’s patio doors shut (and swelter unless you’ve hired air-con), hope you sleep through the noise, or (as we did eventually) bring/buy ear plugs – perhaps unsurprisingly, the local shops have plenty of stock! During our stay (Late Aug-Sep 2013), there was also some construction work taking place not far from the hotel and the crew began drilling and cement pouring at 7am on several days – so for us this meant a few nights with perhaps just two hours of good, quiet sleep! Both noise sources weren’t particularly a Cala Nova problem, but they will influence where we choose to stay if we go back to Puerto Rico – somewhere round the beach or marina area looks better shielded from the sound of the nightclubs.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be further away from the night-time events in the bar area, but they'll still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linker3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Cala Nova from 11th November to 18th November. This is the best apartment I have stayed in within this price bracket. Excellent value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful, apartments well furnished and well equipped. Located in the middle of the beach and the bars and restaurants (via many, many steps). Beach is lovely and there are numerous restaurants and bars to choose from both at the beach and the 'Shopping Centre'. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just back from puerto rico these are the best apts price wise I have stayed in! well furnished and spotless in all areas, as previous reports say no air con so might be too hot in summer for some.Would have liked sheets changed at least once during our week but then again I didn't ask.Towels were changed once during week but overall well impressed with decor and large balcony.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannySmithGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we stayed at the cala nova on the 21st oct till the 28th oct 2013 it was a fantastic location great food and service, very clean apartments and the staff are very friendly especially Ricardo who was fantastic with my 6 children he kept them entertained all holiday especially my 2 year old great guy he will be missed. only down fall was no air con but you could hire a fan at a small charge and the tilled floor next to the pool was very slippy they need rubber mats near the pool to stop you slipping but overall excellent place i would diffidently go there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

stayed at cala nova on 21-oct -2013 in a two bed apartment for one week apartments were very clean but did not get clean towels all week . excellant views looking over pueto rico .down side no air con

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

we have recently stayed in these apartments , they were up a hill but thats only to be expected in puerto rico isnt it !! the apartments were kept clean with the maid comming every other day during our 10 day stay , the pool is on the small side but we had no complaints from our 6yr old son as he was in it all day !! the shopping centre is a 10 min walk and the beach is 5mins away , would deffinatly stay here again .

Room Tip: all the rooms have extra large balconey ,which get the sun all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Having stayed in puerto rico many times these apartments are very clean and well located to the main centre only a 5 minute walk down to the centre. We stayed on a high floor and had lovely sea views. The breakfast is very nice and very cheap. These apartments would pass for a 3 or 4 star only for No Air Conditioning but would not put us off of staying there again when we go back, excellant budget apartments.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#19 of 67 in Puerto Rico
751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#15 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala Nova

Address: Avda. Gran Canaria | Urb. Puerto Rico, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £41 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal accommodation for those looking for quality Gran Canaria hotels and apartments at superb prices! Our recently renovated apartments are ideal thanks to the all year round tropical climate. Cabau Cala Nova is part of the CABAU Hotels group that has been offering high quality holiday accommodation for over 30 years in all their hotels in Gran Canaria. Cabau Cala Nova offers 56 one bedroom and 3 two bedroom apartments which have been totally refurbished and feature a spacious balcony with views to the valley of Puerto Rico and the Atlantic Ocean. The accommodation has been tastefully decorated to make you feel comfortable. Think of Cala Nova as your holiday apartment in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cabau Cala Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Nova Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Apartments Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Gran Canaria
Cabau Cala Nova Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing