We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cala Nova 2014.”
Review of Cabau Cala Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabau Cala Nova
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cala Nova 2014.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have just returned from Puerto Rico and once again had a great holiday. Returning to the Cala Nova as we liked the apartments and the wonderful staff. When we checked in and received our room key we discovered that the apartments have had a high quality refurbishment.
The shower was great, bathroom spotlessly clean. The bedroom and wardrobes all spruced up with new doors. The small shop was, as usual, supplying all the essentials. Slightly more expensive than the supermarkets but worth it for not having to drag it up all those step from the centre.
The bar served very nice, coffee, lager, breakfast and lovely toasted sandwiches. Had bacon and eggs there before heading for the airport.

Room Tip: We chose a high floor for the wonderful view but probably all the floors offer the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    217
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
229
214
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The cala nova apartments are fantastic. They are clean, friendly and very very conveniently located. All hotels are well placed in PR tho as even if at the very top of the hill a taxi is only about 3 euros.

BBQ night is fantastic quality and value for money

Maids clean regular

Staff friendly

Can't comment on pool bar food as never have it.

Pool area is nice but could do with being a little bigger

Lots of people complain about PR being hilly however a 5 min stroll down from the cala nova is easily managed even for ppl with mobility problems or down 100ish steps. We generally walk up every time back to the hotel but tbh a taxi would be around 2 euros.

Would deffo recommend to anyone of any age

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing, clean, tidy and well decorated. Only a few minor points, bedding not changed unless you ask the maids, beds slightly uncomfortable but overall staff friendly and helpfull, would definitely go back and above all feeling is that the complex is under rated, should be 4 stars!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here self catering in a 2 bed apartment in 2009. Lots of cats. Ideal location, okay rooms. Entertainment for kids was ok, bars and shopping centre just down the road, very steep. There is lots of hills.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliemaydalton_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past, due to locations in the winter sun doesn't really reach the hotel until midday so spent most days on the beach, good location though within easy reach of the beach and commercial centre, big apartments and balcony, pool a bit small but does the job. This was the worst experience of evening entertainment I have ever had, there wasn't any, Christmas day was good but apart from that nothing no shows, new years eve the show that was booked was sent home because there was not enough people in the bar. I was not under the impression that money had to be spent to receive entertainment, because of having small children I was at the hotel most evenings and it was as dead as a door nail.
If you want a self catering base centrally located this hotel is fine, if you want a bit of entertainment forget it, was there new year 2013 and had a great time so don't know whats changed this new year but it is not for the better.
Cleaning wasn't always up to par and towel changes were hit and miss.

Room Tip: Don't rely on any entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a great time we had over christmas and the new year! The apartments situation is perfect, almost equal distance from beach and commercial centre. Not too many steps!! Staff are amazing, from excellent receptionists, Reuben, Oliver, Elidio, to cafe bar, Juanito, Alejandro, Juan V and Joanne!
Not forgetting Ricardo, the resident entertainer, who is brilliant with the kids and a great bloke. He organises darts, pool and various other games for all the kids to join in.
Our room was extremely clean and comfortable! Rooms cleaned most days and maids very thorough.
This is our 6th time at these apartments and we have just booked again for December 2014 :)

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the front, swimming pool and valley! the higher you are the better the view but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dihargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewsbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Very good, only down side is you do not get a lot of the sun in the winter months due to the location. On the hill! Otherwise good enjoyed! Loved going to see Fiona at Irish bar she worth going to see! At durty nellies!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessieWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#18 of 68 in Puerto Rico
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#5 of 68 in Puerto Rico
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala Nova

Property: Cabau Cala Nova
Address: Avda. Gran Canaria | Urb. Puerto Rico, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal accommodation for those looking for quality Gran Canaria hotels and apartments at superb prices! Our recently renovated apartments are ideal thanks to the all year round tropical climate.Cabau Cala Nova is part of the CABAU Hotels group that has been offering high quality holiday accommodation for over 30 years in all their hotels in Gran Canaria. Cabau Cala Nova offers 56 one bedroom and 3 two bedroom apartments which have been totally refurbished and feature a spacious balcony with views to the valley of Puerto Rico and the Atlantic Ocean. The accommodation has been tastefully decorated to make you feel comfortable. Think of Cala Nova as your holiday apartment in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabau Cala Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Nova Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Apartments Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Gran Canaria
Cabau Cala Nova Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing