We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in the sun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabau Cala Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabau Cala Nova
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Holiday in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Have just got home from 10 days at cala nova, had a lovely holiday, rooms very clean and fit the bill perfectly ! Big balconies , and lovely views especially at night when all lit up, wasn't keen on having to be up early in order to get a sunbed, especially when majority of people put towels on bed and didn't use them until late afternoon??? Very frustrating !!!! Reception staff not as friendly as bar staff they were good fun , but a very big thank you to Kim who kept the kids and adults entertained relentlessly , my grandson looked forward to every game , thank you Kim :-)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    208
    51
    15
    9
See reviews for
215
201
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

If I had stayed in this hotel at any other time I would not really have anything bad 2 say on it however we stayed from the 8th-18th June and on our 5th night it all went wrong!! Lettin 28 guys on a stag do in2 a hotel with family's was a stupid idea! They were loud with the drinking! And drug takin even smokin it around the pool!! We had them on either side of our room! Lots of complaints about them but nothin done!! Them aside it was a lovely hotel and the staff were great kim the ladie who does the entertainment durin the day and evenin worked very hard 2 get everybody involed and the bar staff were really friendly, rooms were a good size and beds quite comfartable am against them charging €6 a day 4 the wifi! What a ripoff

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derbytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

i stayed here in the Cala Nova apartments from June 2nd to 10th for around 190 euro for the room. Me and my friend are aged early 20's and have been coming to Peuro Rico for five years.

The apartments where so nice, first impressions where great. the reception are is lovely and the staff are all very professional and checked us in within two minutes. They use key cards here like a hotel and gave us two which was clearly very helpful, your not expected to leave your key in while going out which I like.

The safe was optional and was €15 euro for the week plus a €5 euro deposit. Inexpensive and expected.

WiFi is an Extra, its a bit much to charge for it and I was disappointed, €6 a day, €12 for 3 days and €25 for the week. It worked in the room though, limited to webpages and whatsapp etc, couldnt make a decent Viber call though.

Now the room, really nice. bathroom was very modern and make of marble, big double shower ;) just really nice!

The 'kitchen' space was basic. usual 2 hobs with a small fridge and a few pots and stuff. Nobody cooks in Peurto Rico, it is to cheap to go and eat out to bother cooking but if you wanted to cook a lunch for the kids it was more than enough.

In the same room as the kitchen was two big couch beds and a table and chairs. the couch beds where comfortable and slept on one a few times during the week.

The bed room was lovely. Two comfortable beds and plenty of wardrobe space.

The Balcony was HUGE, like it was the width off the entire apartment. Every room has a view of the sea.

The pool was good but small, it was really shallow at one end and really deep at the other, I am 6'5 and couldn't stand.

Competition for the pool beds was a little much, beds are available after 9 as they are stacked every night, they clean the pool and surrounding areas with power washer machines!

Bar is ok, pints are €2.50, food is basic and its worth walking down to the centre for food, its cheaper and better. Had a pizza and it was not worth it.

Maid cleaned the room every day or so, it was hit and miss, but we where told towels where every 3 days. not I am not the type to want new sheets a few nights a week but seriously this annoyed me, we got two hand towels and two bath towels, they should be changed every two second day at least.

Location was perfect. really short walk to the main centre and not to many steps, beach is a 8 min walk.

Would stay again.

Over all it was a lovely apartment and worth every penny, I have stayed in a few places and this has won a 100 times over.

Room Tip: We had 402, their is 8 Floors and 1 lift so makes no difference where you are!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conor4087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I know that the quality of guests at holiday resorts is out of anyone's control but our neighbours spoilt our sleep by being unruly and downright disrespectful to all around them. Normally a quiet word from the Rep or staff will calm these sort of situations but not here, After 3 separate nights of broken sleep at 4 in the morning due to obnoxious behaviour and several complaints nothing was done to solve the situation. We expect young people to enjoy themselves and are not kill joys but there is a time and place for partying and its not in a family orientated apartment block in the middle of the night. Anyway, the apartments were generally ok but our room was not cleaned regularly and sheets and towels were not changed at all during our weeks stay. The pool is very small and no where near enough sun beds to go round for everyone. There is no air conditioning and if you open the window there is noise from the nearby night life that goes on till 5 in the morning. This probably sounds like a rant but don't let it put you off. There were loads of people who seemed quite happy there and the staff were friendly enough. We just had a bad time with the neighbours

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 160Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from a fantastic holiday. Hotel location was spot on, beach, marina to the left of us and the main centre with shops bars & restaurants to the right. The hotel was spotlessly clean, although the rooms weren't cleaned daily the housekeeper did supply clean towels at our request. The balconies are huge and gets the sun from mid morning to early evening. The sunbeds are chained up and unlocked at around 9am which stopped the mad rush! Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back. A very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have just come back from the CALA NOVA stayed on the 4 floor VERY NICE APARTMENTS . had kettle and toaster , Lots of hotels on the Canaries do not them, big balcony . ItsLOCATED on the right of the resort so get the sun well into the evening.The pool although on the small side it is adequate. There are plenty of sun beds but you need to put towels on them by 9AM when they are avaliable ( PADLOCKED OVER NIGHT). Easy walk to the beach and not many steps to the shopping centre and at night you can barely hear the music with patio doors shut . New entertainment organiser who is very good. ONE THING DO NOT BUY CAMERAS ETC. ESPECIALLY SHOP END OF BEACH THEY CON YOU . SEE REVIEWS BY OTHERS ALSO.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in a great location, close to all amenities and large shopping centre with pubs restaurants etc.
Stayed for 10 nights and apartment was cleaned 8 days out of 10 which was just fine.
Snack bar in restaurants which sells breakfast and toasties etc. for lunch which is great if you just want to lounge about the pool all day. Have to get down quite early in the morning to blag a sunbed and pool area can get quite crowded but it's fine if you get a good spot.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend these apartments to my friends and family.
Would return to Puerto Rico however probably later on in the year rather than May as it is their quietest month and I would of preferred it to be a little busier.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.4 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#17 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala Nova

Property: Cabau Cala Nova
Address: Avda. Gran Canaria | Urb. Puerto Rico, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal accommodation for those looking for quality Gran Canaria hotels and apartments at superb prices! Our recently renovated apartments are ideal thanks to the all year round tropical climate.Cabau Cala Nova is part of the CABAU Hotels group that has been offering high quality holiday accommodation for over 30 years in all their hotels in Gran Canaria. Cabau Cala Nova offers 56 one bedroom and 3 two bedroom apartments which have been totally refurbished and feature a spacious balcony with views to the valley of Puerto Rico and the Atlantic Ocean. The accommodation has been tastefully decorated to make you feel comfortable. Think of Cala Nova as your holiday apartment in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cabau Cala Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Nova Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Apartments Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Gran Canaria
Cabau Cala Nova Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing