We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel only lacking air con”
Review of Cabau Cala Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabau Cala Nova
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel only lacking air con”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Cala Nova is a great set of little apartments. A short walk to the "Shopping Center" holding all the bars and restaraunts and a little more to the Puerto Rico beach. Amadores beach is a bit further, but a nice coastal walk.

Hotel is simple, but good value, being one of the cheapest in the area. Pool is quite small, but good, and well looked after. Hotel entertainments are good and the bar is cheaper than would be expected from a hotel... though not competitive with some of the cheaper bars in the area.

Only obvious downside is that the rooms get the sun in the afternoon and evenings - which is good - but that makes the rooms very hot through till morning and air conditioning is not an option. Those looking to spend most of their time in the room or get early nights should avoid. Everyone else will probably overlook this minor issue and enjoy a very good budget location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    217
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
229
214
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Rooms were clean and spacious. A big plus was the balcony- it was huge and had the sun most of the day. Entertainment at the hotel was pretty good although it caters more for children than adults. Just down a few steps from the hotel is the resort centre which has plenty of shops, restaurants, bars etc... to keep you busy. We took a walk one day to the top of the hill and were pleased we were staying at the Cala Nova, as the shopping centre at the top was not as good as the one at the bottom. Staff very friendly, although we didn't have anything to complain about! Would definitely go again.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shorty82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

What can i say!!! the hotel was lovely and clean and the staff was very friendly and always busy. The beds were comfortable but you do only get 1 flat long pillow but they are happy to supply more. There is a lovely little bar if you didn't want to walk down to the main centre if you wanted a snack or a drink. The hotel is on a hill with steps leading from the hotel down to the centre and towards the beach, you can walk down and for €2 you can get a taxi back to the hotel which sometimes was worth it. Also if you don't fancy eating out at a restaurant there is a restaurant that does take away cooked chickens that are cooked on a spit and they are €6 approx. We ate out and all the places we went to were absolutely fantastic not a bad meal, if you like a steak then El Tora steak house is lovely and the T Bone was about 3lb in weight and the fillet was about llb in weight they were reasonably priced to, Nevada, San Miguiel and Miami (ask for Niki she will sort you all out), the bars we liked was Tiffany's owned by Ellis, and Rachael and Mike worked there and Steve the DJ what a top night in there also another good one was M & M's which is a family run bar and Heath who is the barman and his mum Sonia and his aunty and cousin run it - (try the Yogimaster - phew it is awesome it's a shot and very nice, tastes a little like kovonia medicine but the Germans use it if they have an upset stomach or indigestion obviously the more you have the better it is!!!) if you drink strongbow at Tiffany's it is €3 a pint and at M & M's €1 a bottle.

If you have a McDonalds after you have been out make sure you say you want it from the Euro Board otherwise they try to charge you full price i.e. we went there and asked for 2 cheese burger and chips and she wanted to charge us €8 and not €4. There are people on the doors of the restaurants trying to get you in but all we said was "we have eaten, maybe tomorrow".

There are a lot of people asking you have you been to "Anfi" beach as you walk about one girl is called Suzi and she is based outside McDonalds very helpful if you want to know where to go etc but they do ask if you want to book to go to "Anfi" beach use them as they get the €20 but we didn't bother all you need to say is that you have been there.

A lovely walk is from the hotel to Amodres beach beautiful walk a little long but lovely.

There are two centres, one is the Europa which is a little way out and the other is the Commercial Centre that is the one which is busier of the two - the Europa is smaller with not a lot there to do. It all happens around the Commercial Centre and all is easily walkable.

The weather was good not brilliant but good we had a few over cast days and one day it rained.

The whole holiday was absolutely lovely, we had put off going to Puerto Rico for a while and we now wished we had gone earlier.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We have 2 Children aged 6 and 11 ,we were disappointed there was no entertainment for them also the childrens swimming pool is very small indeed .The apartment complex was very nice,rooms clean and comfortable the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I wouldn't recommend it for families only for the above reasons but it's perfect for couples seeking a comfortable and relaxing holiday with good size balconies with lovely views over Puerto Rico,a large swimming pool (adult)with pool bar and close to the centre.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaineflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We went as a party of 5 and split ourselves into two apartments at this place.

When we arrived, we were impressed by the location, it was night time and we were right on the top floor, you could see everything. Fantastic views. The first night was a nice sleep as we were all shattered from the amount of travelling we had done during the day!

The problems started the second night. The girls in the group were next door and had to sleep in our rooms as their room was INFESTED with cockroaches. It really was appauling when we went in there. We had to move eveything into our apartment. Being the gentlemen we were, we let them sleep in our beds and we made do sleeping in the kitchen/living room.

When we asked the hotel to deal with it, friendly though they were, they were unable to help at all!!! They gave us some bug spray which didn't help at all, although we did kill off a few of them with it.

The area around Puerto Rico is alright, bit quiet as the island as a whole is struggling. The nightlife is OK, there are really annoying reps everywhere because everywhere is empty.

If you're going clubbing, Joker's is the only club in Puerto Rico. The local lads aren't too friendly either. I got punched on my last night for no reason by some body builder looking chap with his ex-pat mate. NICE!

Oh and the food in the restaurants is NASTY! Stick with McDonalds. or Subway

If you're going as a family or something, maybe this is for you. Not a trip you want to go on with your friends if you're wanting to go out on a night or eat out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonBantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We stayed here knowing that the stay would involve a hilly walk up from the beach. No problem at all. There are no facilities in the rooms, no hairdryer, no tv, no microwave. Again not a massive problem for us.
But even though appt was lovely and big, balcony massive, maid keeps it all clean, it was let down by very tired decor especially the bedroom.Stained mattress covers, patched bed covers and one change of sheets in 2 weeks.Sheets had been washed so many times they were grey!
Take earplugs as very noisy until 4am, not from appts but from Centre.Should you want to iron something then dont bother asking to borrow an iron. They wanted 12 euros!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggygirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed at these apartments in the summer-
There was nothing at all to complain about, everything was perfect!
The rooms were nice, bathroom & kitchen standard. The balcony was like a suntrap during the day (would be perfect for you sun worshipers)
The pool area was about a medium average size, can imagine to be manick in high season.
All staff were great and friendly.
There was no entertainment during our stay, they said the hotel wasnt busy enough. This was fine as we walked onto the main strip which literally took 5 minutes.
I would definately go back to these apartments.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#18 of 68 in Puerto Rico
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#5 of 68 in Puerto Rico
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala Nova

Property: Cabau Cala Nova
Address: Avda. Gran Canaria | Urb. Puerto Rico, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal accommodation for those looking for quality Gran Canaria hotels and apartments at superb prices! Our recently renovated apartments are ideal thanks to the all year round tropical climate.Cabau Cala Nova is part of the CABAU Hotels group that has been offering high quality holiday accommodation for over 30 years in all their hotels in Gran Canaria. Cabau Cala Nova offers 56 one bedroom and 3 two bedroom apartments which have been totally refurbished and feature a spacious balcony with views to the valley of Puerto Rico and the Atlantic Ocean. The accommodation has been tastefully decorated to make you feel comfortable. Think of Cala Nova as your holiday apartment in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabau Cala Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Nova Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Apartments Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Gran Canaria
Cabau Cala Nova Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing