We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of Sun downstairs”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Rico
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte Verde Apartments
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very basic apartments, not to far into the centre and the beach. The climb up the hill is ok if you are healthy but I have a heart condition and I found it hard at times. There are no lifts so keep that in mind. We were given a apt downstairs and only got 1 hour sun around 9am. Pool never used as the sun never shines on it. I agree with other people the owner was very good and if asked for anything obliged immediately

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank butterfly1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

basic, clean and as expected good value. first time on this type of break and approaching the town and seeing the development it was my vision of the holiday from hell, buildings stacked on top of one another but we had a low level accommodation and we would return. so very happy with location slight uphill easily walkable . be warned some places you would need climbing gear. owner generous with extra paid for air=con got internet and lockbox free. we would normally use where we stay just as a base so we dont look for perks, sun was available on our terrace till 3 in the afternoon( december) off to beach 5 min away or stroll on the walway to Amadores beach 25 min away . this place is also 5 min from the shopping centre with great selection of good quality good value food, half the price of home as its a duty free island

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kingdomeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September, like some of the people who have reviewed this apartment block I was a little anxious. I need not have worried the apartment was spotless, the balcony huge and most important for us quiet at night time. It was very hot while we were there and we paid just twenty euro extra at reception for air conditioning for the week which was excellent value. The pool area was small but we had it to ourselves most of the time. I did take the advice given by other reviewers and opted for the apartment on the top floor, but as September is a quite time I regretted just a little not having the poolside apartment. But at a busy time certainly top floor would be best. Pool was very clean and staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roscodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked these apartments as a "Late Deal " offer - Based on this we were a little apprehensive, but i have to say we got great value for our money.
The apartments are sufficient for 2 people only. They are small but have everything you need for a self catering break. They are spotless clean, very quiet with huge balcony's on 2nd and 3rd floors .Ground floor apartments balcony's probably not as big but open onto the pool area .
We were on the 3rd floor - our balcony had the sun all day long,
The apartments are roughtly 5 minutes walk to the centre, 10 minutes to the local beach or 20 minutes walk to amadores beach.
Staff are very helpful and have everything you might need available on a rental basis. e.g: iron/ hairdryer/ fan etc. They also have a small shop, with basic items to get you started.
There are plenty of Spar or Hippo Dino shops close by.
On the downside the pool area is so small there isnt enough room for everyone to lounge around it, based on this we choose to stay on our balcony( which has 2 sunbeds ) or go to the beach.
The apartments dont have a lift so request a ground floor apartment if this is an issue.
We enjoyed our week at these apartments - personally we prefer a bigger pool area but would have no hesitation recommending the Monte Verde for 2 people only per apartment.
Should a special offer come your way for them - Grab it ! You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are a sun worshipper request a 2nd or 3rd floor room ! The ferry to Mogan for the Friday M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank DELLAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was a special offer late deal and was worth it. Apartments very small but clean and have everything you need. Quiet at night time. Small pool. A bit shaded for my liking - you dont get the sun all day, but the beach is a 5 min walk away. The centre is a 5 min walk in the other direction. Slightly uphill but very managable. Bus stop to Maspalomas, mogan at the end of the road. Ferry to Mogan and most boat trips a 5 min walk. Small shop - no bar. Friendly staff. Shower not great. Hot for one min and then goes cold. Not recommended for children - good for couples as it is very quiet. I would certainly recommend it - but not for groups.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open out on to the pool. Upsairs have a big balcony for sunbathing. No Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pahef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We are just back from staying in these apartments. I would recommend them highly as they are very quiet, spotlessly clean & we had clean towels twice and apartment cleaned every day too!. They are quite small - perfect for 2 people but would be very squashed with 3 people.The location is quite central and even if you didn't fancy the walk up & down the hill - the taxi service is very efficient and very cheap too. Carmello was so nice & was very easy to deal with - he runs a very efficient but very calm block. So on all accounts I would recommend these apartments to stay in.

Room Tip: Bedroom is small but functional - kitchen and balcony very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My sister and i stayed here for six nights in january 2013.(we would have liked seven nights but it was fully booked) The Monte Verde is a small complex, but one of the cleaness and best run we have stayed in in Pureto Rico.Carmello at reception is very helpful and friendly as are all the staff. Monte Verde is not far from the city center (down hill)and a taxi costs 3 euro 50. We have being going to Pureto Rico for about ten years (3 times a year) and have stayed in lots of acomadation, some up to four stars. i can honestly say i have never been to cleaner apartments. The maid(sorry didnt get her name) cleaned ever day and changed the towels, which were perfect by the way.If you'r lucky enough to get a chance of staying here do'nt be put off you wont be disapointed.And trust me we are very fussy, but we know a bargain when we see it! Thank you again Carmello and team see you soon.MS M MILLER

Room Tip: Request a room on upper floor if u like to sun bathe, pool on bottom floor, room have terrace. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunscreeno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Puerto Bello Apartments
Puerto Bello Apartments
#48 of 68 in Puerto Rico
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#26 of 68 in Puerto Rico
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#20 of 68 in Puerto Rico
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#30 of 68 in Puerto Rico
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#9 of 68 in Puerto Rico
644 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mocanes
Mocanes
#22 of 52 in Puerto Rico
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Verde Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Apartments

Address: Avenida Mogan s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Monte Verde Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing