We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and clean accommodation with friendly staff”
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Bayview
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the Marina Bayview Balcony Seaview apartment. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nicely presented with plenty of room. A small kitchenette and dining table, a living area with sofa, and a nice private balcony with a view to the marina. The cleaning and towel service is regular and plenty through the week.

As with some other reviews that we read before we arrived, the only slight issue is that the "double bed" is actually two single beds pushed together that can easily move apart meaning you have to sleep slightly separately to your partner - ok if you have had an argument! but not ideal otherwise. Also the bathroom doors do not lock but are sliding doors - however I think a lot of holiday accommodation is going this way (maybe due to health and safety!).

There are approximately 180 steps to reach the apartment reception area from ground level (marina area). Although daunting for some, we felt this was good to keep our waist line in check after all the eating! - nice bit of exercise!

We are vegetarian and found the breakfast that we pre-paid for very good. A great selection of hot and cold food that actually kept us going till our main evening meal (give or take a few snacks!). The facility has a nice pool, however there is a very nice lagoon beach a short walk away (the reception staff recommended this): playa de amadores. Highly recommend going to this beach.

Overall a very nice set of apartments with friendly staff. Great whether being used for self-catering or not and a very good price compared to others in the area.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are more private than the poolside one's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanjP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear SanjP58,

Thank you for taking the time sharing your experience at Marina Bayview.

We are glad to read your positive review about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Our best regards from the sunny Puerto Rico,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned after spending an amazing 11 days at Marina Bayview. The location of this hotel is great and although there are some stairs to the main centre these are not a problem and it is within easy walking distance to the town and local beach. There are also a supermarket and a number of really good restaurants at the bottom of these steps - we went to most of them as it was convenient. We stayed in block D room 201 and were really happy with our apartment. it is a little further away from the pool but this was nice for us as it is quieter. The room has a lovely large balcony with table and chairs and sun loungers so was nice to sometimes sunbathe there. The pool can get a bit busy but is lovely. The sun loungers were not too uncomfortable but could be better, if you take a cushion they are fine. Our main negative point was the beds as others have mentioned it is two single beds put together which do move easily and so would suggest they use something to keep the beds together if they do not have doubles as this could be a little annoying.

The staff here are lovely and very helpful. We rented some bikes for a couple of days and they were kind enough to look after these at reception for us. I cannot comment on the bar/restaurant as we were self catering and did not use this.

Overall I loved the theme of this hotel and we preferred the look of this over the Marina Suites - you can use the facilities at the other hotel but we chose not to. The views from this hotel are great looking over the marina and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Puerto Rico. I will definitely go back to this hotel and hope that I can visit Gran Canaria again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K3rry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear K3rry,

We are delighted to know that the apartment and our facilities met your expectations. Your positive experience is very important to us and we will pass it to our staff.

Thank you for letting us know your suggestions. We are glad to know you will come back, we are looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards from all our staff,

Noemi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

the was great view and super recepcions ps one problem wi fi its working -- not working i well be ix this :> bat you are on somer so probely you dont nead interent :>...........................................................

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Radek,

Thank you for sharing with us your review about your recent stay at Marina Bayview.

We are glad to read you had a great summer holidays with us. I am pleased to inform you that we are going to get into account your wifi problem in order to fix it as soon as possible.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards from the sunny Puerto Rico,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Thank you to Marina Bayview for giving us apartment A304 Deluxe. Perfect for our week break as we both have busy lifestyles. We have a set routine of me in the morning going for a bike ride, swiming or GYM which was just below our room and then for me to cook breakfast. We did not have the Sun in the morning, so went to the Pool or sightseeing. Then after a Gill special lunch in the room of fresh bread, ham, mayonaise, eggs,onions, cucumber and tomatoes we hit the sun beds on the balcony. The sun in June was with us until gone 8 in the evening! The deluxe room was spacious, very clean and tidy with an excellent overhead shower, perfect after a long day sun bathing. Also, although we had neighbours I was impressed how quiet and private the apartments were. Its situated in the best, quieter part of Puerto Rico with excellent views of the marina. If you want more commercial and beach it is only a short walk away. The apartment was near the gate and steps down to the local shopping centre with a very good supermarket and excellent selection of restuarants. Both the Italians were superb so no real reason to go into the centre to eat. We did one night but were not impressed. The steps kept you fit but plenty of viewing stops on the way up to catch your breath. As others had said Taxi to the front door is a good option at only 3 euro's. As we looked after ourselves we could not comment on the bar too much or the restuarant, but looked good and bar service was quick with frequent "Happy Hours" advertised. There were plenty of boat trips and sea activities. The resort was not busy which we were prefered, so a good idea to pick your weeks. Good idea to book transport with the apartments as we booked a taxi from the airport and he got lost! So cost more than 50 euro's. A great week and a great apartment.

Room Tip: If you like sun beds and the sun in the evening then A304 deluxe. Select rooms have a good balcony b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralphbosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Ralphbosworth,

We are delighted to know you had a relaxing stay with us and that our facilities met your expectations.

We would love to welcome you back soon and we hope to see you next time trying our restaurant.

Our best regards,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a week staying at the Marina Bayview. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Check in was fast and hassle free, our room was spotlessly clean and for a standard room, was in an excellent location with brilliant views and large balcony. The facilities in the room were more than adequate, with everything you might need during your stay. We were aware in advance that there was a large stair case to use to access the main town and sea front, however we did not find this much of a problem, yes it was slightly tiring climbing all the stairs at night especially after one too many in the local cocktail bars, however the location of the hotel is brilliant, and should you stay at another hotel, then it will be a lot more than just a few steps in your way between your room and the beach. The hotel staff were all very friendly, going out of their way to help you when ever they can. The hotel wifi does not have a very strong signal, however I highly recommend guests using the FREE portable wifi service the hotel offer. For a deposit of 30 euros you are given a Vodafone portable broadband device, which we not only used in our room, but took out with us on days out to the beach etc, this was very handy and good considering it was a free service. We only ate at the hotel once, however what we had was very nice and large portions. With regards to the sun loungers, I agree with previous posts which state they are slightly uncomfortable however much better if you take a pillow down with you to use. The pool was brilliant, with a amazing views whilst having a soak. The only slight negative point I have to make is a thing other people have brought up in previous reviews, We were provided with a room containing 2 twin beds pushed together, on one hand this was actually quite convenient as there were no arguments regarding hogging the covers as we both had a duvet each, however the beds themselves moved very easily, therefore when ever either of us turned over or moved slightly the beds would split apart, which was a bit annoying. On the other hand though we understand why the hotel uses these beds, as it makes the room more interchangeable for different types of guests which required twin beds instead of a double bed, so I feel reluctant to deduct points for this.

Room Tip: We just had a standard room which was more than adequate and just as quiet as the select rooms which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigerbtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Tigerbtch,

Thank you for choosing Marina Bayview and writing such a positive review.

For us is really important to know how was your stay and we are glad to read that your stay was excellent.

We hope to see you soon at Marina Bayview.

Warm Regards from the sunny Puerto Rico,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week in may 2014 and it was very enjoyable. The rooms are spacious with nice marble effect, with nice views of the harbour. I spent many a afternoon watching the too and throws of the boats. The beds was a little disappointing as they were 2 singles pushed together. The staff at the hotel was very polite and helpful. The pool area is very quite and peaceful but at times there was some heavy-petters but it was ok once kitty had been fed. There are a lot of stairs in the hotel and in the areas leading up to it. But they are not as bad as some reviews make out (unless your old or have disabilities) and the long stairs to the area are well lit and safe.
All in all the hotel is easily the best i have stayed at and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NOWKITTYSBEENFED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear NOWKITTYSBEENFED,

we would like to thank you for all your nice comments regarding your stay with us. We are really happy to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and consider Marina Bayview the best hotel you have stayed at! And also thank you for further recommend us to other travelers!

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Dara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned (31 May - 7 June 2014)

The Marina Bayview was everything I expected from the excellent reviews I have read and more. In the last 5 years I have been to Malta, Greece, Cyprus and other parts of Spain (all 4/5 stars) but this hotel has been the best of all of them, and by far the best value for money. The pool area was always clean and relaxed, and there were always loungers available for the entire week we were there. The bar/restaurant staff and cleaners were always polite and helpful, and the rooms were tidied every day. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view of the Marina which was nice, and useful features (air con, tv, microwave, fridge, hair dryer).

The staff went above and beyond - we had an issue with a padlock on our suitcase and the maintenance man came round within minutes to cut it off for us. I felt very confident that if there was any other help we needed, we wouldn't have to worry.

Would not fault the rooms or the hotel itself at all - I would only point out as others have the stairs that lead you down to the wider area of Puerto Rico. It depends on the individual but I know that some people would get a taxi down the hill.

The wider area itself has plenty of shops, restaurants and bars but if you are prepared to walk a bit further then there are some crazy golf places, Angry Birds land, McDonalds, and a complex of shops. We didn't really discover this until we had a few days left, as was the case with the beach. If you follow the wall round for another 1km, there is a much bigger and nicer beach and although it's a bit of a walk in my opinion it is so worth it.

All in all, this hotel is ranked highly for a very good reason - you will have guaranteed satisfaction here.

Room Tip: They all looked good, all faced the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank atelikeomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Atelikeomar,

it has been a pleasure to read such a wonderful review about your stay at Marina Bayview and to know it has been the best hotel you have stayed in! We would like to thank you for all your positive comments regarding the cleanliness, the rooms, and of course our staff!!! We will pass on all your words!

We would love to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Dara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,355 reviews
1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
4.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £73 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing