We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap vacation in nice place, I would like to come back again!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barlovento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barlovento
Ranked #64 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap vacation in nice place, I would like to come back again!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

I travelled to Puerto Rico with some friends in April this year. I have to say it was great holiday. Barlovento apartments was perfect place for group of friends to spend cheep vacation in nice place with many posibilities around here to enjoy the holidaytime. Barlovento apartment was clean, staff were kind, everything was so near, food was cheap and beach was close and nice.
My favourite places to drink were harleys and the budda bar. I wish to come back again every year and I will be staying in Barlovento apartmant again. I already cant wait.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martanka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    12
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

The only thing this hotel had going for it was a good cleaning staff, but only they can do so much. The hotel is rated as a 3 star hotel but i must say it was far below that rating more like a one star i would have to say.

We were first met with stair case upon stair case to get to our room so pack lightly if you plan on staying here. The room was a roach haven and the bathroom was filled with small fat flies that swarmed everywhere when taking a shower. Hints the lovely smell of Raid we were greeted to everyday after housekeeping had been there.

If you plan on staying here insist on getting a room with a balcony and higher up. we were placed on the bottom story with a terrace surrounded by barbwire.
Our bedroom wall was attached to the gate and the whole wall shook each time someone entered it.

There is no security in this hotel and the doors and windows lock poorly so never leave valuables in your room. plus we had a few small window panes missing.

All in all i would recommend to find another area of Grand Canary to stay at since Puerto Rico is the worst of them. Thankfully I was there with a great team and we all had fun despite the hotels lack of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KReen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is not a three star hotel, i´d say more one star. If youre forced to stay here of any reason, do not, I repeat DO NOT, stay at the ground terrace apartments. Super cold tial floors, cockroaches, discusting flies allover the shower and a barb wire fence to go around the terrace (I guess its because it´s on the bottom floor and there´s been so many breakin´s).
If you want to go to Puerto Rico, stay at the dock´s/the harbour - much more nicer surroundings and hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

These apartments are basic but v. clean and well kept. The pool bar wasn't open at all during our stay so the noise others talked about was non-existent. This yr is a particularly quiet one there with the owner saying that out of about 60 apts only 15 are going to be filled at the same time this season- so hence v. quiet around. Never more than 5 or 6 people around the pool during our stay. Its less than a 10 min walk to the beach so really central. Also make sure you have €100 with you on arrival for the deposit per apartment. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

ok none of this happened the three times a stayed there but i always requested apartments 50-60 cause there right at the bottom the pool bar very rarly stays open for longer and the food in it aint that bad plus ther is no steps to the commercial centre just a five minute flat walk and five minutes to the beach do not go here if your stuck up about self catering go here if you go on holiday to enjoy yourself and the safes are in reception and they where never robed

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xjaninexbellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

Absolutely hell. Stayed for 1 week in May and never got a wink of sleep. Our room was just over the bar it was suppose to close at 8 pm at night but never did. The rooms above us you could hear everything. The people that were above us kept us awake at all hours of the night. We asked if they would be quiet but were met with a torrend of abuse. We complained at the reception but nothing was done. I have stayed in Puerto Rico before and loved everything about it but this stay in the Barlevento ruined it for us. Would definately not recommend this apartment to anyone.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

Just returned from 1 week holiday in Puerto Rico staying in the Barlovento Apartments.

During our stay 3 apartments were broken into. On one occasion the apartments were robbed at 2:30 in t he afternoon, on the other two occasion guest were woken up early morning to find a stranger going through personal belongings.
If you are staying in these apartments make sure that you are not assigned apartments on the bock with Apt 30, all apartments on this block are easily accessible.
On the plus side if your apartment is broken into then you will be able to use the receptionist from the apartment as an interpreter when you visit the police station, for a small fee of €40. This guy makes a fortune, why would he implement measures to prevent the break in’s.

Also these apartments are very noisy, and you will generally be woken at 3am to hear the bin men doing their rounds.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — being burgled
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dedannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#26 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Greco Apartments
El Greco Apartments
#14 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Los Crotos
Apartamentos Los Crotos
#43 of 48 in Puerto Rico
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yaizasol Premium Apartments
Yaizasol Premium Apartments
#11 of 48 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barlovento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barlovento

Property: Barlovento
Address: Calle Fuerteventura s/n | Puerto Rico, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Barlovento 1*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barlovento Apartments offer you an economical but confortable accommodation for your short or long stays at wonderful Puerto Rico resort in Gran Canaria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Barlovento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barlovento Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing