We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap winter getaway”
Review of Aquasol Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aquasol Apartments
Ranked #62 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Plymouth
1 review
“Great cheap winter getaway”
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at the Aquasol Aparthotel from Feb 9th to 16th 2010.

The room was basic and clean. don’t go expecting anything posh, this is about as basic as it gets, but it’s only a 2 key hotel and we didn’t pay much to stay so our expectations we not that high, especially after reading some of the other customer reviews. However we were very happy with the apartment, flatscreen TV, kitchenette, bathroom/shower and twin bed room. It was cleaned three times in the week we were there. We did not see any ants or cockroaches.

Speaking to the helpful lady at reception (Adriana) she told me that they had recently spent a lot of money on updating security. There was a key fob only entry on to the hotel grounds, CCTV cameras everywhere and a safe in the wardrobe in you room.

The location of the hotel is at the top of a hill, its about a 15-20 min walk up the hill from the shops or a 3euro taxi trip. There are some steps going straight down to the bottom near the hotel, but it not for the faint hearted coming back up that way! Some people may not like the idea of going up a hill, but we liked it as it meant the hotel was away from all the hustle and bustle and noise from the main town. Plus the views were great! We got the sun all day too.

The resort of Puerto Rico is good, there’s a main square in the middle where all the shops, bars and restaurants are. The beach is OK, Playa de Amadores is just around the next bay and is far better.
Its worth taking the boat trip to Puerto Mogan at is much more upmarket and newer, but I would avoid the Friday market as its mostly useless tat and fake t-shirt & handbags.

Now, a word about the cats! You need to decide on day one whether or not you are going to feed them. Because take it from me once you feed them (or the wife does!) you wont get rid of them. To the point where they will come in to your apartment or try to get up on to the table if your eating outside. Also once your room is established as a food source there are nightly territorial cat fights outside your room at 4am. So please FEED THEM AT YOUR PERIL!

We went to Aquasol in February, it was quiet as probably only 1/3 to 1/2 the room were taken. I would go there again at that time of year as it was relaxing and still plenty of sun. However I’m not so sure if I would go there at the height of summer with all the rooms full.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveplymouth2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    41
    36
    22
    39
See reviews for
30
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The hotel is located at the top of a rather steep hill which boasts fantastic views, it takes about 15 to 20 minutes to walk from the hotel to the main resort, we didn't attempt the return journey!!!! (Taxi was about 3 Euro)

The accomodation was clean although pretty basic and had a shortage of hot water, the pool area and bar were fine and reasonably priced, we didn't eat at the bar as we were we're advised by guests not too.

All considered the stay was value for money

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My wife and i stayed at the aquasol from the 4 Th. to 18 Th. of november 2009. We found the complex to be spotless, and the pool was heated and cleaned every day. The apartment likewise, was clean and fresh, as was the bathroom.
The manager adriana was really great. She gave us all the information on things to do on the island. What was worth seeing and what was not and regularly checked to see if things were ok .If we needed a taxi she would ring. The maintenance guy was also very helpful, although he did not have a lot of english. There was internet available in the apartments.
The resort itself was beautiful, with a wide variety of places to eat, murphy`s kitchen, did really good food. The beach was great, only 3 euro for sun lounger per day. Plenty of live music at night. Taxi`s were very cheap.
Now the bad points.Reception closed between 1 and 4 each day, and closed all day on sunday. There was no air conditioning in the apartment, although you could hire a small fan. The aquasol is on top of the hill so it is about a 30 minute walk down to the beach and centre. Taxi fare back was less than 3 euro, so it did not really cause a problem. There were a lot of cats about, but once again not a major issue.
SO THANK YOU AQUASOL, AND ADRIANA, FOR A REALLY GREAT HOLIDAY.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ssie-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2008

We were visiting Canarian islands the first time and we houped to have rest in nice place. But this hotel had no bus service and horrible room condition. We changed this hotel 1 hour ater arrival, because our son was 4 months old and we couldn't live in that terrible place. What did think travel agaency to get this hotel if it had known about baby?

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — location, durty room and beds, defective bath, closed reception, no internet access
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank russakowalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We found the biggest asset of this hotel was the excellant views across Puerto Rico. Although this hotel is at the top of the mountain, we found the walk down to the main town extremely relaxing. If you don't fancy the walk the taxi service is really good and very cheap. The staff were really helpful and the pool was very clean. Overall we had a fantastic holiday, a visit to Palmitos Park is a must! If your not planning on spending much time in the apartment and just want a basic place to stay I would recommend Aquasol.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank d4095613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Please think twice before stopping at the aquasol appartments unless you like dirty towels, bedding , beds and bath rooms.The appartments are very basic which was ok. But the beds need to be replaced there was blood and urine stains on the beds ,if my little boy had a nap in the afernoon I had to shower him, for he smelt of the old musty bed. The bedding and towels are very worn and need replacing, when I put the old smelly towels in the bath for them to be changed after 2 days, I arrived back thinking I would get fresh clean towels only to find the cleaner had folded them and put them back on the rail, I went to see the rep and asked him if we could have some clean towels and bedding, he told me that thomas cook had a contract with aquasol appartments and that we was to have clean bedding and towels twice in the 2 weeks we were stopping there, but that never happened, we had one change of sheets and towels. I don't know who is in charge of the bugget at thomas cook for the cleaning but they must be one dirty pig they might like to live like a pig but I don't , so I hope you take note of what I have had to say and think twice about staying in the aquasol, But don't be put off in going to porto rico it a fab place and we loved to go back again to porto rico but we won't be stopping at the aquasol.

  • Liked — the way out to the road to porto rico beach and town
  • Disliked — the dirty sheets, towels and the old worn dirty musty beds.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bold-2-in-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a memorable trip to Puerto Rico.
The Aquasol apartment's are at the top of the mountain, yes.
They are away from the hustle and bustle, nice and quiet.
With some breath taking views.
The rooms are basic, but have all you need. They get cleaned, and towel's every other day. Bed linen was changed twice.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The manager Ian is from Yorkshire. There is a pool bar, that does meal's. There is a lift to all floors. There is a supermarket across the road. Tt's a steady twenty minute walk, either follow the road, or down the step's. It's only three euro's by taxi to return to the apartment's.
In Puerto Rico you can get by without speaking Spanish.
There is lot's to do there. In the Europa centre there are shop's bar's and restaurant's. Try the Chinese all you can eat buffet for less than six euro's. Our favourite was Sabidan's the first restaurant you come to after McDonald's. Very good prices, very good meals, very friendly atmosphere.
We had a grat time. Cheers Ian

  • Liked — Every room over looked the pool. With moutain and sea views
  • Disliked — Television was in Spanish, apart from the kids channel
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blue31767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#35 of 68 in Puerto Rico
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puerto Bello Apartments
Puerto Bello Apartments
#50 of 68 in Puerto Rico
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#31 of 68 in Puerto Rico
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#20 of 68 in Puerto Rico
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquasol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquasol Apartments

Property: Aquasol Apartments
Address: Avda Roque del Este 24, 35000 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquasol Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AQUASOL is a small and quiet complex, on the top of a beautiful hill, with wonderful sights and always sunny; at few minutes from beaches, shopping centers, discos, restaurants, downtown!! We have beautiful swimming pool, bar restaurant, internet service, pool games and the most important: we always smile! We do all we can to make you feel comfortable in this lovely place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Aquasol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquasol Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Aquasol Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing