We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heliomar Apartments
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasently surprised!”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just got back on saturday from a week in Puerto Rico staying in the Heliomar Apts. From reading previous reviews i wasnt sure what to expect but have to stay we had a great time. Apartment was basic but clean and the cleaner came in a couple of times during the week with fresh towels. Great location- lots of steps but not too bad compared to some other apts in puerto rico. Two pools in the apts which are both good. Friendly and helpful staff. Seemed to be very child friendly but not good for anyone with walking disabilities. Overall we would recommend the heliomar apts!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    20
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I stayed here for a girlie holiday in september. We arrived to our complex and had to be let in by people staying in the apartments and our key was stuck to the reception window with our booking confirmation. After nearly an hour looking for our apartment we found it. It was small basic and very worn looking. The sheets were full of holes and the bathroom shower was just cold water. There was no air con so the next day when reception eventually opened we were rudely greeted by the crankiest hotel recptionist ever!!!!she eventually agreed to rent us some fans for the week. We ate our breakfast in the hotel which was nice and the restaurant staff were nice. Every night coming home from night clubs you have to buzz back in and security let you in..u can be left waiting and most nights we had to climb the gate to get back in. The only plus was the location being a hundred steps or so..down to the main centre with all of the nightlife,shops and restaurants. I would recommend taking a taxi to amadores beach as it is really beautiful and also going to murphys for food and jokers until 7 in the morning to party the night away!!!The resort itself has everything you need for an enjoyable holiday, The bar staff are very friedly aswell as the restaurant staff. It will be my third time goin back to puerto rico with my friends!!once you go once you will want to go back...just dont go to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marmel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Good Points:
Location is great, rooms are basic but comfortable, big balcony with lovely views, the night porter was very friendly and helpful.

Bad Points!: Our room was not cleaned once in the whole 7 days stay. The pool was closed for the whole of our stay due to renovation but this was never mentioned in booking nor did the (very very rude) receptionist make any apologies for it. The pool bar and any other amenities that they claim to have were also closed so it literally was just somewhere to put your head down. There was a really strong smell from the filler they were using on it. The receptionist was unbelievably rude and very unhelpful, we were left standing in reception for a long time waiting for her to finish her conversations with her friends without so much as a nod or smile. We got locked out the first night as-well as she didn't give us the key to the main door, we had to ring and knock until the lovely night-porter came down to let us in.

We were lucky as we had friends staying two minutes away in the terazzamar so we went up to their pool every day. If it wasnt for that this would have been a disaster holiday!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amycarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

when i read previous reviews on these apartments i aws a bit sceptical, but i dont know where the people who nock this complex are comming from, they are clean, fresh towel and sheets are provided every other day the owner of the bar a (prouillo from cuba) if thats how you spell it was a great bloke and speaks perfect english, the receptionist can be a bit frosty but if you make an effort whit her she can smile and be friendly juan the night porter /watchman was very friendly no matter how late we came in he was there with a smile .The location of these apartments are ideal for the center with all its bars and restuarants.we watched the world cup final at "los danieles" a great little tappas restruant and possible the freindliest bar in spain, and ate a lot of belly busting meals at "san migueles" very good quality, and great waiters. pancho villa

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank panchovillaFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bærum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

we got there, and the hotel looked realy nice. But my phone and 100 euros were stolen from me. the cleaninglady stole it. i was gone for 15 min and it was gone when i came back and my clothes were all over the place. the receptionist would not help me with anything. she got angry when i confronted her with it. BAD service. but the rooms were nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

After reading other reviews I was unsure about what would meet us......but I can asure you its cleasn the reception staff couldnt be helpful enough, the room was cleaned twice a week with fresh linen and towels, the pool area is also cleaned everyday, staff at the pool bar are very polite and the home made food is amazing. I would reccomend this place to all ages although there are 80 steps down the main shopping center but you can get a taxi back up . We had such a good time we are going back again and canny wait

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Honeymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire,Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Our two week stay at the Heliomar was a memorable holiday for all the wrong reasons for my young daughter and I. The reception staff were no help at all! After complaining twice with totally no response, we phoned to try to be moved to alternative accommodation, but were unsuccessful. We requested an apartment on a lower level, due to health reasons, but were given one up what I can only describe as a mountain of stairs. The apartment was dirty and I had to ask five times for clean bed linen, which was only changed on the eleventh day of our two-week stay, after they gave me bedding at the reception to change the beds myself. Bins inside and outside apartment went unemptied for days. We were unable to use the swimming pool, as some Spanish guests staying at the apartment intimidated anyone who wasn't Spanish until they left the pool area scared. The mayhem at the swimming pool area lead to the police being called on several occassions. An apartment near ours was broken into while the people were asleep, everything of value was taken, even items and cash, which were locked in their safe. My daughter and I were shouted at by an aggressive Spanish guest from the apartment below us, telling us not to sit on our balcony and not to look out at the view of Puerto Rico down to the sea. He shouted at us everytime we happened to bump into him within the apartment complex. We were very scared, my young daughter was in tears many times. We complained to reception but they did nothing. My advice to anyone going to Puerto Rico is if you want to feel safe in a clean apartment, use the swimming pool and sunbeds without being intimidated until you're scared and leave, don't stay at the Heliomar.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LornaB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#37 of 68 in Puerto Rico
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parque Raquel Apartments
Parque Raquel Apartments
#48 of 68 in Puerto Rico
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#23 of 68 in Puerto Rico
438 reviews
8.9 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#129 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#32 of 68 in Puerto Rico
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliomar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliomar Apartments

Property: Heliomar Apartments
Address: Avenida Palmeras s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heliomar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heliomar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliomar Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Heliomar Apartments Grand Canary
Heliomar Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing