We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heliomar Apartments
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed here for a week, and wouldnt have minded another. Good room quality, and internet accessability. The Pools are very nice and easily accesable. No real complaints or fuss, as I said I will stay again.
STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Get a room or apartment near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We got a big terrace with sunbeds, but the terrace and the beds were so dirty that we could barely use it. The rooms were quite nice, but also here the cleaning could have been better.

The swimming pool area was good, and the service at the hotel was also good enough. View over Puerto Rico and the shopping center. Some noise from the bars there at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jarlemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Myself and my best friend stayed in these apartments..and neither of us are fussy and like to make the best of a bad situation..we are both in our early twenties and are very athletic but neither of us could cope with the sheer AMOUNT of steps not only in the complex but in the resort.. In 37 degree heat it is COMPLETELY unacceptable to not have air conditioning ...especially if you have breathing difficulties! this may have been because we were on the top floor though...IF your looking for any sort of culture this is NOT the place to go and eating out is pretty expensive...also beware when it is CLOUDY..me AND my mate who are both sallow skinned got horrific sunburn cos we didnt realize how burned you get through the clouds? That may ruin your holiday!! Also the mc donalds sign these apartments over look make you feel like a scumbag.. and EVERY room over looks it.. oh also..you have to hoist your suitcases up all the steps cos the lift only goes so far....... I am not joking you need to be a world class athlete to cope with the sheer exhaustion of these apartments..It was nothing short of awful.... however the cleaner was lovely! but if your thinking of Puerto Rico..Id strongly advise somewhere else..it has no class sophistication or culture whatsoever..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just got back on saturday from a week in Puerto Rico staying in the Heliomar Apts. From reading previous reviews i wasnt sure what to expect but have to stay we had a great time. Apartment was basic but clean and the cleaner came in a couple of times during the week with fresh towels. Great location- lots of steps but not too bad compared to some other apts in puerto rico. Two pools in the apts which are both good. Friendly and helpful staff. Seemed to be very child friendly but not good for anyone with walking disabilities. Overall we would recommend the heliomar apts!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I stayed here for a girlie holiday in september. We arrived to our complex and had to be let in by people staying in the apartments and our key was stuck to the reception window with our booking confirmation. After nearly an hour looking for our apartment we found it. It was small basic and very worn looking. The sheets were full of holes and the bathroom shower was just cold water. There was no air con so the next day when reception eventually opened we were rudely greeted by the crankiest hotel recptionist ever!!!!she eventually agreed to rent us some fans for the week. We ate our breakfast in the hotel which was nice and the restaurant staff were nice. Every night coming home from night clubs you have to buzz back in and security let you in..u can be left waiting and most nights we had to climb the gate to get back in. The only plus was the location being a hundred steps or so..down to the main centre with all of the nightlife,shops and restaurants. I would recommend taking a taxi to amadores beach as it is really beautiful and also going to murphys for food and jokers until 7 in the morning to party the night away!!!The resort itself has everything you need for an enjoyable holiday, The bar staff are very friedly aswell as the restaurant staff. It will be my third time goin back to puerto rico with my friends!!once you go once you will want to go back...just dont go to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marmel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Good Points:
Location is great, rooms are basic but comfortable, big balcony with lovely views, the night porter was very friendly and helpful.

Bad Points!: Our room was not cleaned once in the whole 7 days stay. The pool was closed for the whole of our stay due to renovation but this was never mentioned in booking nor did the (very very rude) receptionist make any apologies for it. The pool bar and any other amenities that they claim to have were also closed so it literally was just somewhere to put your head down. There was a really strong smell from the filler they were using on it. The receptionist was unbelievably rude and very unhelpful, we were left standing in reception for a long time waiting for her to finish her conversations with her friends without so much as a nod or smile. We got locked out the first night as-well as she didn't give us the key to the main door, we had to ring and knock until the lovely night-porter came down to let us in.

We were lucky as we had friends staying two minutes away in the terazzamar so we went up to their pool every day. If it wasnt for that this would have been a disaster holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amycarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

when i read previous reviews on these apartments i aws a bit sceptical, but i dont know where the people who nock this complex are comming from, they are clean, fresh towel and sheets are provided every other day the owner of the bar a (prouillo from cuba) if thats how you spell it was a great bloke and speaks perfect english, the receptionist can be a bit frosty but if you make an effort whit her she can smile and be friendly juan the night porter /watchman was very friendly no matter how late we came in he was there with a smile .The location of these apartments are ideal for the center with all its bars and restuarants.we watched the world cup final at "los danieles" a great little tappas restruant and possible the freindliest bar in spain, and ate a lot of belly busting meals at "san migueles" very good quality, and great waiters. pancho villa

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank panchovillaFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.5 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#21 of 67 in Puerto Rico
487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#6 of 67 in Puerto Rico
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#29 of 67 in Puerto Rico
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#26 of 67 in Puerto Rico
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#24 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#9 of 67 in Puerto Rico
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliomar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliomar Apartments

Address: Avenida Palmeras s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £40 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heliomar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heliomar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliomar Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Heliomar Apartments Grand Canary
Heliomar Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing