We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Girl”
Review of Hotel Riosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riosol
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Birthday Girl”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just arrived back home after a very enjoyable week at the Riosol Hotel.
It was our first time here.
We went over for my wife's birthday with our Preston friends. We knew where we were staying, so no surprises about the location on top of the hill. We had a room near the top (3048) only 50 steps to the grey walkway, then a few more to the 1st pool. We requested the room allocation area before hand (via email) and were glad to get this one. Great views, large balconies, consisting of 2 sunbeds 2 chairs, table and sun canopy. Lovely weather all week, staff were all great. The only thing we regret was not trying the meals or snacks, which while we were waiting at the bar for the lady's, looked very nice and talking to other guests they had enjoyed theirs meals, as they were half board, so maybe next time, as we will be going back in the very near future.

Room Tip: Any of the top rooms near stair cases 8, 9, 10 or 11 as it near the next small stair case to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davecumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your wife enjoyed her birthday. We hope you will be back to see us soon and that this time you will enjoy the food of our beloved Restaurant.

Kindest regards,

Lorenzo Sentis
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    505
    239
    100
    69
See reviews for
635
496
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here twice before quite a few years ago and we were really looking forward to returning.
On arrival we were kept waiting for 15 minutes whilst the male and female receptionist were in deep discussion, it was clear that they were discussing work, the male gave us a brief hello but nothing else. When we were eventually seen to there was no apology for keeping us stood there , first impressions count and we were not impressed.
When we gave the receptionist our name, she commented that we had in an email requested not to place near the lift ( we have previously stayed here in a room next to the lift and it was quite noisy, but however did not spoil our stay, but did not want to do so again). She said that she took note of our request but could not understand as the lift was not noisy at all. As a paying guest I would suggest that if someone makes a simple request it should not be questioned nor should the guests be made to feel that they were making something up.
That said, we were given a very nice room that could not have been further away from the lift, thank you.
Rooms were lovely, bright and spotless, we had a problem with the shower that was fixed straight away, we snapped our key card in two and this was exchanged straight away again by a very nice man on reception.
Wi fi good value for money although did not reach into our room.
Food - we went half board, we only ate our evening meal once on the first night, im afraid we were not really impressed as there was not much choice and it was not very warm.
Breakfast was also not that great, not much choice, boiled eggs were broken and cracked, bacon was not very nice, coffee from the machine was nice though.
Bar - we had a lunchtimes snack quite a few time from the bar area. Very good service here, the two female waitresses were efficient and very nice. Happy hour was actually 45 mins but the young man that worked from late afternoon was very nice and friendly and took time out to make us feel welcome, even taking interest in watching my husband and I play cards.
Over all a good stay although we would not go half board again as we ate out most evenings.
Would stay again on a room only basis.
Good location with stunning views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miloYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Riosol Hotel but I am also extremely disappointed with the poor service you received when checking in, I can assure you that this will be addressed as a matter of urgency.
Your comments about the food in the restaurant have been noted and addressed by our Food and Beverage Manager.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Lorenzo Sentis
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

i loved it, nice location and very nice sunset everynight. the best thing was the entertainer he was really nice and funny. we had a GREAT time and we would love to come back! the weather was warm at the day but at evnings you needed to put on extra clothes. i´lll give this hotell 4 of stars, nice rooms good hotelservice, but the best was the entertainer/dj. many thanks Charlie

Room Tip: dont care short hair, you will enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for posting your review! We believe it is our team who deliver the experience who really deserve the recognition. Please know we will share all of your compliments with Charlie.

We appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just returned from a weeks 1/2 board stay and what can i say well the views are amazing the apartment spacious and clean. Stayed in 3125 had a few that need fixing the sliding wardrobe doors were very hard to open and the edging was peeling off,the ring on one hob only 1/2 worked, but apart from them little things a good holiday with friendly and very helpful staff. Yet its not for any one who has difficulty walking or heart problems as it is at the top of a hill .

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels are better for getting to dining room,but all rooms that i could see have goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your balanced review, I think your comments are fair, and in an odd way, I am quite pleased because many of the points you raise are easily rectified.
We have a constant and ongoing maintenance programme in the hotel to refurbish and improve all of our rooms and public areas. Our Maintenance Manager has personally been in to the room and will repair all the things you have noted .
Thank you for mentioning our „ friendly and very helpful staff“, it is always a boost to the team to hear that guests have recognised our friendly, efficient approach.
Thank you for recognising this and for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Restaurant service is terrible, hardly to get any smiles from nearly most of the staff, not even if you tip them, entertainer who is terrible he thinks he is very cool guy and knows better then anybody well he is very wrong, cleaning services should be avoided even if you tip them, overall Location is good but as from from business perspective they need to do something with HUMAN RESOURCE they are terrible, I've been in many parts of the world, however never seen such bad CUSTOMER SERVICE, will file a more detailed complaint in spanish to the management.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Hi Thanks for your review, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Like most places we do get a variety of opinions so I guess we are due one like this one. Of course I have been very disappointed to read these comments, especially as it is so dissimilar to so many of our reviews, generally all the staff are happy, helpful and smile pretty much as often as possible and are never knowlingly rude to guests.
Please remember the next time you stay in a hotel please let them know if something is not quite to your liking and give them the opportunity to make amends.
If there are any aspects of your stay you would like to discuss further then please do contact me directly customerservice@riversun-touristic.com

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having spent the most relaxing week feb24th 2014 at this aparthotel what can I say . Yes its not for anyone who has difficulty walking as it is at tbe top of a hill. Hotel is spotless rooms cleaned 5 days staff very helpful kitchen well equiped small on site supermarket reasonable priced . 5 mins from europa center all you need for a great holiday . Pool was cold but you need it to cool down all I can say is if you plan a visit to Riosol you wont be disapointed . I have plans to return sept this year for another fab holiday . Well done to all the staff at riosol x

Room Tip: Sea view is best mid floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks very much for the great review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit and would like to return which is great news for us. Our assets such as location and view is a fixed one which is always constant and never lets us down.
Your comments have been well-received by all the staff and we will strive to re-create this kind of experience for our guests.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun Touristic / Hotel Riosol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The welcome and fiendliness of all the staff was as good as in the previous. The apartment was spacious and kept in good condition. The restaurant and bar areas were very good with an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
It's always pleasing when our guests return frequently. I hope this will continue, and I am sure our staff at the Restaurant and Bar will appreciate your coments . Thank you for your review.

Warm regards,

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#24 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riosol

Property: Hotel Riosol
Address: C/ Isla de Lobos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Riosol Aparthotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riosol 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riosol Aparthotel Puerto Rico
Riosol Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Riosol Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing