We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Greco Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Greco Apartments
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

There were 4no(2@ 40+ /2@17 ) of us in bungalow no 8.The specification and finishes in this apartment complex are first class even in the back of house areas. It was perfect space to live /cleaned every day/ excellent beds/private pool area only 9no bungalows etc.

But due to the lack of occupancy in the El Greco only 2 no of the bungalows were occupied during our 2 weeks there, which made it very private.

Also 2no of their beautifully finished restaurants were closed due lack of occupancy in Puerto Rico in general.
The all inclusive apartments/hotels have shut down the heart of Puerto Rico main commercial center with a lot of empty bars /restaurants doing their best to get you to come in there place(this becomes a major hassle)
Would I come back to the El Greco?
If it was not in Puerto Rico it would be my first place I would book for next year.

Room Tip: Bungalows no 6 to 9 are right at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johndowdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    55
    13
    1
    8
See reviews for
88
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We, a family of four, stayed at the el Greco on the recommendation of friends and we weren't disappointed. It is a newly renovated (from top to bottom) apartment complex with hotel type service and facilities located right on the beach of the resort of Puerto Rico. It probably has the best location of all, it's close to the beach, shops, restaurants, the cliff walk and the smaller of two harbors, so you can go paragliding, water skiing, dolphin trips etc.
The complex itself has around 100 apartments of different sizes, although most, like ours, are around 800 sq ft with two full sized bedrooms. There are other apartments where the second bedroom is smaller with a sort of flexible bunk bed arrangement, which are fine if your kids are not quite full size. Also, there is a separate, but integrated building, which is reserved for over 16's with it's own facilities, including a small pool. Personally, we couldn't see much point in paying extra for these apartments unless you are there in the high season and are allergic to kids, but at least they have this option. The apartments are exceptionally clean and comfortable. All have huge terraces where a family of four can sit together, with a view over the beach and the resort. Plenty of cupboard space, kitchen has everything, within reason, which you'll need, and the lounge/dining area has a comfortable sofa, coffee table and uncomfotable chairs, plus satellite tv. We always ate on the terrace, by the way, but there is also a dining table and chairs, and at no time did the apartment feel cramped. Nice bathroom, too. The only minus was no free wi fi, but you can go down to reception for that if needed.
The pool area is excellent, it's a large clean pool and plenty of loungers available. The only real negative with the el Greco was the pool bar which closed at 16.00 and the staff were very inflexible when it came to breakfast. Otherwise service at the front desk and the cleaning staff was fine.
While the El Greco has few faults, we found Puerto Rico less appealing. There are several time share salespeople around which was a little annoying, and we were surprised how many restaurants and facilities were closed in the low season of July. I still don't fully understand why they consider the main school holiday months as the low season. The weather is perfect, the sea is warm and the hotels and restaurants don't disappear, so if you can get there relatively cheaply, you can get an excellent accommodation deal.
Should we return to Gran Canaria, we would probably go somewhere like Maspalomas or Puerto Morgan, both of which had more charm, in our opinion, than Puerto Rico, but that is not the fault of the El Greco.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank JENSBritinCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our family of four stayed at one of the El Greco Bungalows for a week in Feb-March this year. This was our second vacation in Puerto Rico. Last time we stayed at Marina suites which was also ok, but the week at one of the El Greco bungalows was simply a great experience. Very clean, spacious apartment, perfect location.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank midsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is the fourth time I have stayed at this complex and I can just say that it is excellent in every respect even better since its refurbishment 2 years ago. Could not find anything negative to comment on - highly recommended,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Quite the best hotel we have stayed in in Puerto Rico. Very well run hotel and a the fixtures and fittings are all top class. We normally stay in Marina Suites which is great but El Greco tops it!

Room Tip: The best sea views are from the 2nd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjpHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My family and i have stayed in the bungalows on two different occasions, 2 years in a row. I must admit this is a wee luxury we allowed ourselves. This is a private part of the el greco site with an attractive garden and water font. It was quiet and there wasn't a lot of throu traffic. My only complaint would be that there was a large group of english who took over the pool but that is not the fault of the accommodation. There is a wee bar at the pool who played our cd's on request and staff are definitely very friendly. There is a fabulous restaurant directly at front of accomodation (hopefully it's still there) and plenty of other place to dine, especially at the corner of the entrance, a little bit more expensive but definitely for a special occasion and great food.

Room Tip: I can't comment on the apartments but if you can get a bungalow your well sorted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 45Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in the VIP bungalows( NO5 ) although was very nice and just had a refurb..
The CONTINUAL vibrational NOISE from the heated swimming pump was unbelievable AND IT RAN ALL DAY AND NIGHT which disturbed our sleep AND to top it off the pool was always freezing cold anyways .SO what was the point of having it running FULL STOP.
SO ANNOYING ...SO FOR THE COST NOT IMPRESSED .
NOt sure if we will return!

Room Tip: Not bungalow 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#5 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#20 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Apartments

Property: El Greco Apartments
Address: Calle Doreste y Molina 38, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Greco Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your El Greco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
El Greco Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
El Greco Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing