We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time at a great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Servatur Puerto Azul
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
County Down
1 review
“Excellent time at a great hotel!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Excellent Holiday - Main reason due to our lovely hotel, Puerto Azul. Couldnt believe how nice it was.

We had a brilliant room - great size, room facilities were good, nice decor, modern. fridge & all kitchen equipment. Safe available to rent. What was amazing was our view - right out on to the ocean - I think most rooms or all rooms have a sea view. It was lovely. Even better - balconies were big with chairs and table and 2 sunbeds which was a nice bonus. Room we had got sun most of the day. Very happy with the room. 5806 i think - close to the pool.

Place was clean, workers were very efficient & professional - kept everything in order at restaurant and pool bar. absolutely no problems.

food and drink were quite good. Usual all inclusive options in restaurant etc (know what to expect) - with a few added fancy things eg smoothies one morning & chocolate fountain one evening - things like that. We had no problems. Drinks were self service at restaurant and at the bar - which was great!beer, 3 types wine and soft drinks. Spirits were served by bar man who was bubbly & happy all of the time.

Pools were excellent. lots of space when we were there (wasnt 100% full). there is an adults area which in my opinion is fabulous!! sunbeds and a jacuzzi where you could lie and look right down on to puerto rico. class!!! also, there is a lovely massage therapist there & you can book a massage (at a cost) it is definitely recommended!!!!!!!

location of the hotel is good - we knew what to expect. it is at the top and there are 700 steps down to the beach and surrounding areas. we knew that before we booked and were happy enough. tough enough walk for anyone who has difficulty with steps/hills. but taxis 3-4 euro each way. and the europa centre is just up the hill (steep hill) - bars shops and restaurants. good thing about the location of the hotel is the view. we didnt mind the walking. (we didnt actually walk up the steps, just down!!!!!)

Some people say the entertainment isnt up to scratch but i actually enjoyed most of it - it really is about relaxing over a wee drink or two in the evenings & it was nice to watch what was going on each evening. usual things - bingo, dancing, magic shows, bird shows - acts coming in to do it.
2 of the evenings we went out for a dander round the main shopping centre and europa. (there was football on tv!!!)

Great resort - would definitely return to it. nice beach and main shopping centre with bars shops and restaurants and also the europa centre. theres mini golf and beach activities and plenty of boat excursions etc. we took a bus to arguineguin (maybe not spelt right) to go to a weekly market - tuesdays. and we got the boat to a local harbour port mogan which was nice. we also walked along the promenade from puerto rico to amadores and it was lovely. lovely place.


all in all - we had 100% a positive experience in this hotel. Would recommend it & would love to return!!!!!!!!!!!

Well done to the staff and management at this hotel - a really good effort and we were really impressed with it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Smith19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    670
    355
    148
    110
See reviews for
726
629
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

just returned back from 10 days we arrived at 22.20 we found our room o.k and was told there would be something to eat at 22.30 so we dropped our bags off and went in search of food. This was sandwhich and a cold drink. we went to the bar at 22.58 and was told bar was about to close but we did get a drink. Adult area was great plenty of sunbeds and jacuzzi was great. We found evening entertainment a let down silly acts and loads of kids running around. Food was goods always plenty of choice.Not sure if would return to this hotel or Puerto Rico and found whole resort dirty and unkept

Room Tip: we had room 4406 hotel in front of us but we could see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband an I went for two wks Sept this is our second time at this hotel We couldn’t fault it staff are great very helpful and courteous.
The entertainment was much better than we have seen in some 4star hotels
We also received a nice bottle of wine and letter thanking us for returning to this hotel which I thought was a nice gesture
The adult area and new Jacuzzi pool is amazing plenty of beds, parasols, great views and drinks bar self- service of soft drinks only, but main pool bar for alcoholic drinks.
The rms are cleaned every second day towels and bedding changed 2/3 times per wk and well maintained gd shower power and plenty warm water would agree with some reviews would be much better and comfortable particularly at night if the rms had air condition as the fan is not much use and only really circulates hot air so can get really uncomfortable at night .We stayed in rm 2307 it was very spacious and fantastic views over the marina, sea and beach but needed to take three lifts to get there. During our stay a young couple had their rm broken into apparently this has been happening regularly as the hotel are allowing locals in to the hotel to use the facilities so that was a bit unnerving but thankfully they had a valuables in their safe so the thieves didn’t get anything thankfully. So get urself a safe on arrival would b my advice. No cockroaches in rm but did see a small amount around but that goes with the territory on the Island so it would be hard to avoid them really where ever you stay. The hotel is busy lots of different nationality so a variation in food in the bar area and restaurant but as other have said it does become a bit repetitive when there for 2wks but could always get something although could be warmer at times. Drinks local brands an did think was a bit watered down at times but not always an in general ok . We didn’t spend everyday an night at the hotel varying from a day at one of the beaches or other resorts such as amadores come out hotel turn left at the comer turn left again down the steep hill turn right an over the walkway or taxi 3 euros or head to Mogan which is a bus rides away 3/5 euros each way bus station at the bottom of the hill takes you to all the resorts on the island you can walk down to station or taxi 2/3 euros you can also take the ferry to Mogan at the marina . We used transfers through travel republic yeah it was cheap but took 2hrs from airport to hotel exhausting wouldn’t recommend it .
In all we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and resort and will definitely go back but if you expect 5 star quality then b prepared to pay for it in the canaries As it can b expensive to eat out in nice restaurants and drinks can b around 4 euros a beer , sprits about 5 euros with mixers such as a G&T . But again depends what you like.

Room Tip: Request a rm if poss on the higher floors such as the 5th or 4th floors then u will have less lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowSunshinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

after reading some negative reviews , we were a bit worried, but take no notice , this hotel is fab , good choice of food and drink , we spent most afternoons having lunch at the pool bar with burgers , chips etc, rooms r massive with big balconys and sun loungers, adult area was lovely with a big new jacuzzi with amazing views, as there was 6 of us ageing from 19 to 44 we went out every nite to the europa center , had boss nites there winning the quizes and jugs of cocktails , was our 1st time in puerto rico and loved it , not a cockroach in site either !! , deffo going back and to this fab hotel ..thanks to the lovely staff too , from the liverpool family xx

Room Tip: we were in room 5703 , the 5000 s r close to the pool , etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill196911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead ne8
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

we stayed for two weeks , laura and the bar staff were all friendly, the rooms a good size the hotel clean and the weather good. The entertainment could do with abit of a revamp and the poolbar should stay open to all inclusive guests till at least 12pm, without charge :(. There was plenty of choice in the food side of things,so anyone who says there isn't are just that little bit too fusy. I would stay there again, because you get what you pay for, which isn't too bad overall.

Room Tip: on the recepional level if you have mobility problems, lots of lifts and walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

both myself and partner returned to this hotel on the 14th of September for 1 week, this was our 2nd time at this hotel. We booked our holiday via onthebeach.com we flew with Ryanair and when arriving at hotel we had a quick and easy check in, the girl at reception was very friendly. we stayed in room 4602 this room looked over the sea, the balcony is massive compared to most hotels, the rooms very spacious and has all the essentials like hairdryer, fridge, freezer box ,kettle and toaster. The only negative is no air conditioning although there is a fan.
The food in this hotel is good, lots to choose from the snack bar was good and had a station which ranged from donner kebab one day to paella to burgers to pasta. Also fish fingers ,burgers, toasties, hot dogs, pizza and salad available and that's only in the snack bar! dinner good choice also there was always something we could eat.
Staff were always pleasant and the animation team worked really hard every day.
Pool area was great the pool was really big and always clean and life guard on duty too.
If going out for drinks we would highly recommend the Blarney Stone Irish bar which is up the hill in the Europa centre, live music every night and great atmosphere. We also went on a boat trip to see the dolphins which was fantastic!
We also received a letter of thanks from the hotel and a bottle of wine for returning to the hotel which was a nice touch.
We will definitely be back next year for another week in the sun :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samfa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We returned last Sunday after 9 great days at Puerto Azul.

We went as a group of 6 with ages ranging from mid 20's to my parents in their 70's and we all had a great time here. We had 3 rooms and all were clean, they are not the most modern but for the price we paid you really cannot complain. The beds were comfortable and we only slept, showered and changed in our room so that was a bonus.

The staff were all polite and friendly, the food was really good compared to many of the all inclusive hotels we have stayed at over the past 3 or 4 years with a lot of choice at breakfast and evening meal. I never eat in the restaurant at lunchtime because the cheese and ham sandwiches that you toast yourself in the bar snack area were fantastic. Tried a hotdog and a burger here a couple of times as well and these were pretty good also. They also have salad, chips, pasta dishes in the snack area as well.

I have read reviews that they water down drinks here, I don't think this is true. With some guests drinking from 10am they would not want to serve premium strength lager and spirits so I assume they buy in weaker varieties. Sometimes the beer at all inclusive hotels can taste a bit nasty, but the Tropical beer they served here was really nice, better than some beers that we bought when we was out in Puerto Rico and other parts of the island. Beer, wines and soft drinks are all on self serve pumps but you have to queue for spirits and cocktails. Even during the evening shows the queue was never very long so you got served quickly, although the 2 drinks at a time maximum (which was only rigorously enforced by the little bar man) was a bit annoying when you are in a group of 6 people, but you just went to the back of the queue again and even if you had the first 2 drinks in your hand they still served you 2 more - crazy!

We heard people complaining around the pool about the hotel, we concluded that you can't please all of the people all of the time. We paid around £550 each for 9 nights including flights and transfers, what do these complaining types want for that amount of money? If you want a 5* experience, book that kind of hotel and pay the money.

We never go back to the same resort or hotel when we travel as we like to explore new places, but we really didn't want to leave and even after being home for nearly a week I can't help thinking that we may book the Puerto Azul again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JezWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#15 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Puerto Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Puerto Azul

Property: Servatur Puerto Azul
Address: Avenida La Cornisa 13, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Servatur Aparthotel Puerto Azul)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Servatur Puerto Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Servatur Puerto Azul hotel, with a 3 star category, is located between the beaches of Amadores and Puerto Rico. Built on a cliff top, with a privileged situation over the ocean, providing spectacular views. Servatur Puerto Azul provides 385 units, totally equipped, as well as different bars and a restaurant where you can enjoy international and canarian cuisine. Servatur Puerto Azul has two swimming pools (one heated during winter months), large sun lounge with complimentary sun beds and sunshades, a relaxation area with jacuzzi, gardens, sport areas and children playgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Servatur Puerto Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Puerto Azul Hotel Puerto Rico
Puerto Azul Aparthotel Rico
Puerto Azul Gran Canaria
Puerto Azul Aparthotel Hotel Rico
Servatur Puerto Azul Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing