We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Entertainment, expect hills!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guanabara Park Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guanabara Park Apartments
Ranked #54 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment, expect hills!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived on a Tuesday, all was fairly simple. The apartments are quite easy to find, you have to walk through the pool area which is a nice meeting point to get to know the guests. Apartment as a whole looked quite shabby, TAKE a hairdryer. Nothing special but you get used to it after a few days. No air-con so expect to be hot, hot, hot if you're in direct sunlight.
Pool open till 8pm, can get quite busy so grab a space if you're intending to stay all day.
Entertainment - Paul at the bar is excellent to get everyone around laughing and joking with his 'international knock-back quiz.' He says a question from the top of his head, you yell YO! All fun and games and a few shots!
Take the A1 bus to Morgan for the sunday market or walk to the end of the beach in Peurto Rico and follow the path to another beach (about 15mins walk) for another day trip out. Go on a whale/ dolphin trip for 30euros we were lucky, we saw dolphins. Buy a lounger on the beach for 6euros all day. Visit the Irish bar, Durty Nellys for some entertainment and Karaoke and walk to the town for some 'I don't wanna remember' night life.
All in all, this was an ok trip. If you wanna relax and do abit of walking then this is the place for you. The apartments are clean, don't feed the cats and the staff are friendly except when we left at 3am, there was no one around so make sure you get your passport back the night before, if transfers are at a dodgy time. Hope this helps! Oh and the apartment is up the top of the hill BUT taxi is like 3 euros so its really simple. Ask at reception they'll order you a taxi. And yes it may be dated but for the price, its not to bad for what you get. The pool area is clean and once you're burnt, nothing matters!! Lastly, maids clean your room everyday and fresh linen and towels, they even did our dishes - how nice :)

Room Tip: Ask for a hairdryer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    75
    44
    20
    19
See reviews for
58
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My partner and i booked this place for a week, the photos looked very nice on the internet, we were on a budget but we knew the minute we saw from the bottom of the hill we knew we had made a huge mistake and over paid on the budget we had.
I have never seen anything like this in my life, DATED IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT !!!!!!
We were greeted at reception by a guy that we got the impression that he could not be bothered with yet more tourists, he spoke very limited English, maybe his first name was apathy?? We were given a key and a number but sparse directions to our delightful accommodation (not)
On entry i was sure i was in the middle of the worst nightmare and my partner was ready to wake me up, but unfortunately this was harsh reality , and we had booked a full week!
We had decided to go self catering due to past experiences , as the last holiday we had at another resort was all inclusive and the food was terrible, now .... how the heck are you supposed to manage on just 2 rings on a cooker, we had no microwave and no toaster ( NOT EXPENSIVE ITEMS TO PURCHASE TO CATER FOR HOLIDAY MAKERS WHO BRING MUCH ECONOMY TO HOLIDAY DESTINATIONS)
First night we were there the young couple next door to us who had arrived the same day , decided to fight with each other in the early hours of the morning, when i awoke in the morning which was usually 07.15 as there is a building site directly below and there was an annoying radio being played with drilling and hammering ,lorries delivering building materials , GREAT!
As i opened the patio doors, the porch had blood all over it, (this was our own porch) and i looked across to where the young couple were staying and the whole patio was covered in blood, on the floor and over the seats, i went straight to reception to complain and demand that the blood on our patio was cleaned straight away, i was greeted with Mr Apathy again, he did not have a clue what i was talking about and went to get someone else who could understand what i was saying, Mr Apathy came with a bottle of water and mop and simply gave a quick wipe, no disinfectant, no more was said or done, that for me was the real start of a ruined holiday, there was 2 cats who came to entertain the guests, but our little garden right next to the patio where we sat was littered with cat poo, just brilliant
The apartments have a serious infestation of cockroaches (cockroaches = filth) that decide to come out and start this hissing sound at 21.00 at night, we had them in the bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, everywhere, went to reception to complain and was told that they were closed for the night and had no access to spray to kill them, we went back again in the morning and were told again they had nothing, the look of disgust on my face must of said it all as one of the employees went to the local shop and spent 4 euros on a can of spray for us, which i suppose did help a little.
Entertainment on Sunday night was more for the elderly in a care home as the songs the guy was singing were so old fashioned that even i struggled to recognize the songs my granny would of listened to when she was a teenager.
Please be aware of the scams that are everywhere that you win a free t-shirt but have to go to a hotel to collect it, they only want to keep you for a minimum of 3 hours to show you their hotels, and shower you with free gifts, food and drink , but at the end of the time they have with you they want money, to buy into a timeshare and full of empty promises of fantastic hotels that when you go online you cant actually book.
We will never be back , we both feel we need counselling to come to terms with our holiday experience from hell.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fthomson805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We came to this hotel last year and was less impressed but came back as the view and location is good, and I feel it only fair to leave my review as I could see improvement this year.
Not so many big families this year which was nice as it meant you could actually get in the pool, and we didn't have children next door to us shouting and ringing our door bell all night for a laugh.
Rooms, the same, basic but very clean. Maids came in every 1/2 days and cleaned right through and replaced all towels, even washed up my sons pots and pans in his room!, thank you ladies, he wouldn't get that treatment at home lol
Reception staff: Again the same as last year, guy with bold head is very helpful and always smiling and happy to do anything for you. Guy with grey hair, well, gives you the look of death if you ask him anything, shouldn't be on reception if not willing to help guests.
Bar : PAUL the new bar guy is brilliant, we didn't see him last year but this place defo needs somebody like him working behind the bar. Very jolly and very funny and willing to do anything for you and even make you your own special drink. It was great to see someone happy every night, after all it's all about enjoying your holiday.
Unfortunately we have heard that even more apartments have been sold off this year, so if it will be available to book next year will be unlikely, which will be a shame. Would I return, yes based on the improvements of this year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N27ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I just spent a week here with my boyfriend, the hotel was basic we knew this before we went. The pool area was always very quite and good to relax, the rooms were cleaned every 1-2 days and new towels were supplied. There was a lot off ants in the room on the beds etc. The wee women on the bar was always very nice and the English guy that does the entertainment also the food was very nice in the hotel. We got a taxi every night down and back to the market which was only 3-4 euros. Overall my experience was good and I
would visit again. I would recommend that the hotel do more entertainment/shows etc.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ton123h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely people, appartment clean and tidy but taxi ride up the hill costing £5 each way as hill very long and you are out of breath once at teh top!!
Look out for Elvis as he is very friendly and the bar staff are very friendly. Food was lovely, great deal of choice offered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

just spent the week here and it was great. The view from our apartment was beautiful. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly. The pool was great and there was always a sun lounger available under a parasol when it was too hot to sit in the sun.
We didn't sample any of the hotel food as we wanted to eat out and sample as much local food as possible. The maid service was fabulous and they came in to clean and provide fresh towels every other day.
It is quite high up but we walked it every day sometimes twice and only actually took a taxi twice.
The view far outweighed the effort required to walk up the hill.
I would certainly go back again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lindy36loo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

very cheap holiday in all !!! did not excpect much but was pleasantly surprised, the walk was all downhill to the centre of things and a taxi was between 3-5 euros back depending on the time of day, the towels and appartment were cleaned nearly every day and the pool area was very nice and immaculate. we did spray every day after gettin a cockroach in but after that we only got the odd one so it was not a major issue . overall a reasonable place for a cheap gettaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Natural Park Apartments
Natural Park Apartments
#31 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#26 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#17 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#35 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guanabara Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guanabara Park Apartments

Property: Guanabara Park Apartments
Address: Calle Pechos 2, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guanabara Park Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guanabara Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanabara Park Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Guanabara Park Apartments Grand Canary
Guanabara Park Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing