We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round value apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good all round value apartments”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Maracaibo is a great value for money venue for a family holiday. The "Superior" 2 bedroom apartment was clean, comfortable and adequately equipped. The hotel pool area was clean and not too busy, even during the first week of August. We had two evening meals at the restaurant and whilst the choice was limited the meat was slowly cooked over the barbeque. We found the staff to be friendly and cheerful.
Small criticisms would be the limited English language channels on the TV and the unreliable WiFi (20 Euro per week).
Good location, not to far up the steep Puerto Rico hillside, with handy local shops.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheppeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    162
    66
    32
    19
See reviews for
119
242
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was a perfect place to stay on a wonderful Island. We booked the DeLuxe version of the rooms, and they were located on the 5th floor close to the reception. It was a three room Apartment with a small but well equiped kitchen with microowen, heating plates, toaster and cooler with a small freezer. Allthough it is presented as a Apartment, our experience was it was more like a hotelroom. Daily cleaning, free wi-fi (allthought with a very low connectivity - donøt expect to run videos on the net), free safe-deposit box in room. The furniture was very nice in a patio style, especially the set on the balcony. Magnificent wiew end amazing to see the sun going Down. The staff was in a category above what you would expect. Good at English, always accomodating in the approach. The real and hidden value of the stay. Perfect location with a supermarket 75 meters from the hotel, central location for access to bus terminal and quiet and really nice. To get the final star, I would recommend to built a stronger internet and some news channels in English on the satelite conx.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe version The 5th floor is excellent as you do not have any Apartments above you G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesper_Copenhagen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We spent 5 nights here for my wife's birthday. We stayed in a sea view studio room at the second level wich it was quite comfortable and amazing view to the garden, smimmingpool and the sea. The balcony was a great plus, we could enjoyed every day, but specially happy because we mailed before the hotel and we got what we requested. Our favorite beach was Amadores, we spent all our beach days becaused we finded Puerto Rico beach a little too small, but we finded the sand maybe to painful to walk. We used several supermarkets and Spar is the cheapest of all and the Hiperdino is the nearst to our hotel. During our stay we meets loot's of people but more brits in the Europa shopping Cente.
Overall we had a lovely holiday and we think that the Maracaibo a good getaway for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Excellent value for money for everything we needed in a self catering apartment. We checked in the early morning and stayed in room 202 which has a view of the Marina, but it could better from one floor up. Our room was spacious and nicely cleaned with good facilities for self catering; there are many supermarkets near that the reception can recommend you. We had some snacks at the pool bar a two times (average prices) as we used the heated pool, quiet and nice part of the hotel.
The location for us is very good because we hadhave everything near our side (beach, restaurants, supermarket, marina, gardens) and we don't need to climb up stairs to the hotel. We used Resort Hoppa for our private transfer from and to Gran Canaria Airport, no problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoContı P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Maracaıbo Hotel ıs a excellent ındependent 3 star ın Puerto Rıco. It ıs very well allocated. Rooms are good sıze and bıg, well eqquıped and very clean, beds are very good as we russıan lıke bıg beds. Hotel ıs not luxury but enough to make us feel comfortable. Staff ıs very helpful and effıcıant. Very good mornıng sun. Pool ıs perfect, dıd a lot of swımmıng. Garden area we lıke ıt vey much.

Boat trıp Puerto Rıco to Mogan and Arguıneguın ıs was fun. Mogan fısh very freash and cheap restaurants.
Only sort of mınor thıng: bıgger mırror ın the rooms.
Nofauls, we agree wıth most of the travelers.

Room Tip: We stayed Room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bugakov B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Having just returned from one week holiday on our fourth year at the Maracaibo, I can say that I'm surprised at the real reaction on the staff with us, is just like we never left the hotel.
The apartments are very spacious with separate bedroom, living room and kitchen. Beds are maybe the best we ever find but let me say that we missed a long mirror in the bedroom. Apartments were cleaned every week day except sunday and fresh linen provided. The pool area is large and quiet with a poolside bar. Checkout time is at 12 pm, we always ask to stay in our room until the transfer picked us up in the late evening for 20 euros charge.
Let me recommend you some tips: go to Mogan on Friday morning on market day, is a very beautiful place. See Amadores Beach and Maspalomas Dunes...realy Gorgeous !!!
If you are watching the pennys go to the Shopping Center and ask for Hyperdino Supermarkek.

Looking forward for our next year holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We went to the Maracaibo on June 1st for a week and now wish it had been two weeks.The property is in a nice position directly on the beach and close to lots of shops and bars if you want to go out. The staff are friendly and very happy and helpfull and can never do enough for you from the cleaners to the bar staff.Our room was great right next to the pool, spacious and cleaned to a really high standard. The hotel is brilliant to relax by the pool, use plenty of high factor sun crème!
We understand why this hotel has so many repeat bookings, it really is a lovely well run family hotel you will not be disappointed.

Overall it was a very good week and well worth for our money. Thanks to everyone especially wonderful job!!

George & Lisa

xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Greco Apartments
El Greco Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maracaibo Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maracaibo Aparthotel

Property: Maracaibo Aparthotel
Address: Avenida Mogan 13, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maracaibo Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maracaibo Aparthotel and Restaurant is a family owned property located in the South of Gran Canaria and overlooks the Puerto Rico Beach and Yacht Marina just 400meters away. Built in 1970 and renovated in 2008, the Aparthotel has 101 Rooms, 17 Deluxe, 18 Superior and 66 Standard. All rooms have a private balcony/terrace, direct telephone line, satellite colour TV, Air Conditioning, Kitchen, and are about 55m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maracaibo Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maracaibo Aparthotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Maracaibo Apartments
Maracaibo Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing