We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money! Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value for money! Lovely place!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 7 days from July 3rd. When we arrived we were greeted by who we think was the hotel owner.. he was really nice and informed us what level the pool and restaurant were on, the wifi code and told us how to get to the beach.

We were given our card key for the 4th floor and took the lift up. When we got to our room we were not disappointed! We walked into the room with the kitchen as you walk straight in on your left then there was a bathroom next to it then you walk into the living room then finally the bedroom.. the bed was huge and could probably sleep 3 people comfortably.. but even better with just two!! The curtains were drawn when we got there and were amazed at the views when we drew them back! The view of the beach is stunning and below you have a nice view of the pool and restaurant too. We had a free bottle of wine in our room too which was nice!

The beach Is 4 minutes away.. a nice easy walk! Amadores beach took us about 15-20 mins to walk to but it was a lovely walk all around the coast. Amadores beach is shingle though.. still nice but sore feet by then end.. it was also a bit rocky in the sea. Puerto rico beach is stunning.. sand and the sea is clear with no rocks either.. its a lovely stride out in the sea too.

When we went out in peurto rico it seemed VERY quiet.. we thought where is everyone!! But on the 3rd night we found the shopping centre (by the angry bird activity park) and thats where all the people were.. They have lovely restaurants in there exspecially.. Las Vegas Steak house and Da pinchhio. But please venture out of the shopping centre.. there is a lovely hill top restaurant at the end of the harbour (as if walking to amadores) and Vivaldi (I think thats what it was called) an Italian restaurant that probably dont get the credit they deserve. Me and my partner used trip advisor to ensure we picked good places and made sure didnt just stay in on section of Puerto Rico.

The pool is lovely and we didnt get many people reserving sun beds which was good.. being so close to the beach I think people went to the beach more.. the pool got busy-ish around 11.30-12.

We didnt eat in the restaurant at dinner but did have lunch in there once.. it was fine for lunch food, nice enough but there was a few people eating there on an evening.

There is a nice supermarket about 30 metres down the road which was very handy.

Room was cleaned to a good standard 6 times out of the 7.

The only thing I would say is that pur front door needed a bot of TLC as it had a few gaps in the door (at the bottom was probably a 5cm gap from the door to the floor) and I think thats how one cockroach got in but to be fair they always find a way in.

I would definitely recommend this hotel! Great location, great weather, great holiday!!

ROOM TIP- stay 3rd, 4th or 5th floor for the best views!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank josieblinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    169
    68
    33
    19
See reviews for
125
248
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We returned home last night after a wonderful 11 night stay in the Maracaibo apartments from the 18th to 29th June.

We had booked our airport transfers through ww.trasladoscanarias.es as I had read another review on Trip adviser who recommended them and really we couldn't fault them. We paid €75 For the private return transfer and they were very efficient, waiting for us on arrival and there in time to collect us yesterday for our flight home.

Now for the Maracaibo! Of course as always you will read mixed reviews on most accommodations so of course in the back of your mind you always have a little worry but we just couldn't fault them. We were a family of 4 adults and our son who is 3 and a half. We arrived at the apartments around 12.30pm and were in our apartment by 1pm! We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, and it was beautiful. One bedroom had a king size bed in it, and not 2 beds put together as I checked the matress! The second bedroom had 2 single beds. The only issue we had was that the second bedroom had very very little storage space, so we had to share the big wardrobe in the double room but it all worked out fine in the end!
Our balcony had amazing sea views of Amadoras beach and also our swimming pool. There were always sunbeds available and the pool was lovely, our son never wanted to get out! The pool bar did lovely food, especially the margarita pizzas ! The staff were amazingly friendly, everyone in Puerto Rico was! Our favourite restaurants were Aguaviva down on Amadoras beach, we ate there about 4 nights, their steaks are to die for and my husband loved loved the sizzling prawns in garlic! Also try Las Vegas restaurant in the commercial centre.

We would definately go back to stay in Maracaibo, fingers crossed maybe next year!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Morannicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Last visited here 17 yrs ago were very basic then .when looked online was delighted to see the upgrade. Immediatly booked.
Perfect accommodation, spotless clean very friendly staff.
Bar meals excellant.cleaning staff excellant could not fault this hotel
Beautiful pool spa area to relax.
Defenitly one of the best. Booked too due to location near beach and away from noise of commercial centre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel was lovely. But what made the holiday was the surroundings. The area that the hotel is situated has many bars and restaurants. There is a pub in the commercial centre downtown called Outlaws. The owners were lovely and there was a very homely environment. If you are in the area it is definetly a place to check out.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matthew32996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

myself and my partner stayed here for 4 nights on the 28th of April,self catering.We stayed on a lower floor which had good views over the bay and had easy access to the lovely bar and pool area.The pool is not very deep.The bar staff were very friendly and helpful especially the one who looks like Robert Downey Jr.the room Our room was just a standard one but was clean and tidy with fridge,kettle 2 ring hob.there was washing up liquid,scourer and dish cloth which I think was a nice touch.There was no bath and the shower area is rather small.Well placed to walk to shops and bars to the left and the beach to the right if you have exited from the pool area,the traffic can be speeding on this road.Small TV on wall but couldn't get any English channels on it i;e BBCnews but I suppose we are abroad. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I think maybe a higher room would have better views has there are quite a few palm trees in the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spend our first vacation of the year with my family and we fully enjoyed it. The hotel is located in a very nice site of Puerto Rico with fabulous views to the sea side and the local beach. During our stay we took one day to watch the dolphins and a second one to take the ferry to Mogan.

The swimmingpool area was inmaculate with beatiful sun beds, it looks all very relaxing with calm ambience, just for us. We compare it with other accommodations in the village but this one looks far better, with no discussion at all. Our room was an Standard One Bedroom Apartment in the second floor with full sea view. Generous size of the apartment, beds are premium quality and good confortable furniture, some thing could be improved but it in a good level.

We had plenty of sun so it was a good start of our Holiday and staff are grate and very friendly, that really make the Holiday atractive.

Tim

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This accommodation is situated just a short walk to the beach. The staff are most helpful and friendly, maid service 6 days out of 7, the pool, bar etc were well kept.

Just a 20-30 mins walk to Amadores beach is well worth it and a really nice walk too.

Prices from the airport to Puerto Rico by taxi are about 59 euros each way. We used www.trasladoscanarias.es, which cost us 37 euros each way.

The restaurants on the beach are very reasonable for breakfast and evening meal and are superb.

Be aware of the chaps trying very hard to get you to the resort of ANFI (the next resort) they will pay for your taxi, but it is Timeshare.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
El Greco Apartments
El Greco Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#35 of 68 in Puerto Rico
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maracaibo Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maracaibo Aparthotel

Property: Maracaibo Aparthotel
Address: Avenida Mogan 13, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maracaibo Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maracaibo Aparthotel and Restaurant is a family owned property located in the South of Gran Canaria and overlooks the Puerto Rico Beach and Yacht Marina just 400meters away. Built in 1970 and renovated in 2008, the Aparthotel has 101 Rooms, 17 Deluxe, 18 Superior and 66 Standard. All rooms have a private balcony/terrace, direct telephone line, satellite colour TV, Air Conditioning, Kitchen, and are about 55m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maracaibo Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maracaibo Aparthotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Maracaibo Apartments
Maracaibo Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing