We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tobago Apartments

Tobago Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Rico
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tobago Apartments
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

i goto be honest i stayed at the tobago studios and we had a lovely time, when we arrived we were put in a room on the botom floor which was a litle dingy basicly cos there was no sun comin in the room cos it was on the bottom floor, but we asked to move str8 away and we were placed in a room on a higer floor with a fantastic view on Pourto rico beach, for what we paid £500 i thought the holiday was fantastic great for familys and couples the weather was lovely every day. back to the hotel the staff where friendly there was a night receptionist that seamed a litle grumpy but we soon got over that. bar staff were polite and profestional. nothin was to much at the tobago studios and i cant understand why all theese other reviews have come back so bad id recomend this hotel over and over again id even go back my self. the location was also great because alot of the hotels where so far from the beach butb this was a 2 min walk to the beach and shoppin center! happy holidays

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank richllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    5
    3
    13
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2007

It was nearly two years ago when we visited the Tobago apartments in Puerto Rico but the experience still sticks in the memory for all the wrong reasons!
We booked direct through Airtours and the photos online and the stunning views of Puerto Rico harbour convinced us this was the right base for 7 days in the sun.
We arrived at the Tobago and were directed down 2 flights of stairs because the lift was out of order. Our room was on the ground floor which was the at the same level as the bar which got a little noisy but not till too late. The room itself was a big let down! The patio door's lock was broken and had to be repaired, we found glass near the patio door which made us think security could be a problem? The room seemed clean when we arrived but only had our linen changed and floor mopped once during our stay. Here is the worst bit which relates to my title............The hotel management decided to have the apartments fumigated during our stay, as a result we could hear a "tapping" noise getting louder and louder one morning. It turns out the fumigation had started at the top floor and the cockroachs were escaping down each floor,resulting in what seemed the entire cockroach population of Puerto Rico escaping through a broken ceiling tile in our bathroom! I simply opened the front door and watched the colony run for cover!
For the rest of the holiday we were on cockroach watch and were very cautious when in the bathroom or opening our front door. It has certainly put my fiance off from visiting Gran Canaria again which is a shame because I love the place!
On a more positive note, the only place to eat in Puerto Rico is Oscars near the beach! The food is amazing, you might have to book the night before but it is defenitley worth the wait! As far as staying at the Tobago, I would recommend staying a little higher up the hill at somewhere like the Puerto Azul or Sol Y Paz.

  • Liked — Handy for the beach, short walk to town centre
  • Disliked — the broken ceiling tile hiding our new friends!!
  • Stayed March 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zozomarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

leicester england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2006

what a shock it was ok it was not far from all the shops and bars but it need a total refurb aound the pool the steps were very loose a friend sliped and had a very nasty big and i meen big bruse the pool was not clean it had a big tide mark aound the edge if it and it was dirty the floor aound the pool was slippy the red tile were very hot the room was dirty only had the sheets changed once towle were smelly no matter how much you washed your feet they were still dirty when you got out the shower and the shower doors were nearly off the bathroom smelt of pee the patio doors were very stiff if you want them open you would need strenth to pull them open and the noise was not fair on the others and then the trafic was bad then the younger ones that sat around the pool were taking drugs and braeking glass which is not nice for familys so take heed do not book your holiday to stay at this block of apartments we will go back to purto rico but not to the tobago also pool side bar was shut at lunch time and only played spanish music no english

  • Liked — just the location
  • Disliked — it was not a place to recomend
  • Tips/Secrets — do not book the tobago
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pointer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2006

The apartments were in the perfect location - just a short walk to everything. Main shops, bars, restaurants and crazy golf courses were only 10 minutes walk away. The apartments have an excellent view of the beach and other parts of the restort.

However, the apartment that we were given was dirty (the floor was not cleaned from the day we arrived to the day we left). There were wires poking out from behind wall sockets (which themselves were hanging from the walls) and the balcony door was not safety glass and rattled in the casing everytime the front door opened or closed. I could go on but am trying to concentrate on the good points.

We complained to the rep and she sent the cleaner and the handyman to our room that day (which we were impressed with), however, the cleaner only made the beds and changed the towels and the handyman proded about with the electrics for 5 minutes and walked out without fixing anything - so it goes to say that we left the room the way we entered it - dirty and run down!

Some recommendations for Gran Canaria. Although our apartments were not "up to standard" we did have a lovely holiday and would recommend Gran Canaria to others. In the commercial centre I would recommend eating at Cafe Central - very nice british food - for when you've had enough paella!!

Go to Mogan market (Fridays). Mogan is a lovely little place and has some nicey eateries and you can pick up a good bargain at the market. The reps tell you not to pay what they ask and to barter them down - we didn't realise just how much they actually added on. For example, for a wallet they first asked for €65 (when I was only really prepared to pay €10). We eventually got him down to €12 euros - so they heavily mark up the prices - just beware.

Palmitos Park is a nice day out. Some unusual birds and animals to see there. It is a bit hilly but worth a trip. The parrot show is a must see........not just for kids. My partner and I (both 25) had a great time!!!!

Finally, my last warning. Gran Canaria is great for electronics. We tried to buy a DVD camera and when they get you into the shop (by quoting a really cheap price) they then try to sell you a different camera which they say is much better than the one you want. Be prepared and firm. Tell them what you want, how much you are willing to spend and stick to it!!!

Hope you have fun in Gran Canaria!!! We did!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwinter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, W. Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2006

Myself and a friend have just recently returned from a 2 week stay in Puerto Rico-Tobago apartments. First of all, the weather was lovely and all the people we met were fantastic!

On the down side, the apartments were just shocking. The balcony door did not close properly and we could constantly hear the road noise at night. Very dated. All the paintwork was chipped and in a horrible brown colour to start with anyway! I had to complain on the second week as the towels and bed linen had not been changed for the entire first week!! Once i had complained,all our hot water then stopped working and i had to go and complain again as i refused to shower in cold water! We had door handles fall off in our hands, the shower door broke and was only hanging on by one fixture. To sit on the toilet seat, which by the way was cracked,we had to sit sideways. The floor didnt get mopped until our fourth day, but even then, our feet were constantly dirty. We wiped our feet just to get into bed!!

The pool area was pretty good, there were cats wondering around but they were no trouble to us. The food was nice and we ate there every day and the beers nice and cold as they keep their glasses in the fridge!!

It is only a 20 minutes walk to the closest shopping centre. Which is good for presents to take back home. We also found a lovely little pub at the other side of the beach called 'Flanagans apple' All the staff there were lovely and we can say we came back home with some new friends!! Lots of fun and we will miss them all.

All in all we really enjoyed our holiday. I can say i may one day return to Puerto Rico, but no way will i go back to the Tobago Apartments!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimmi_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2006

I read the earlier reports about the Tobago apartments with horror as our holiday was already booked and paid for. Went armed with cockroach killer and low expectations of the place. However, my wife and I were pleasantly surprised for a number of reasons - the great location overlooking the harbour and beach - room clean and serviced every day with bins emptied and clean towels and sheets regularly changed - the pool was spotless and there were plenty of sunloungers to go around - 10 minute walk to town centre or beach - bus stops just a few metres away on the main road.
The only negative comments are - the decor and interiors were a bit drab and worn - there was chunk out of a tread on the main staircase which needed attention - there was a lot of road noise from the main road through Puerto Rico which passed right in front of the building and getting directly to the beach involved crossing the road down a flight of badly made concrete steps. Parents would do well to keep an eye on the kids due to the proximity of the road.
Although the studios were basic, we thought that they were good value for the small price we paid - If you want posh - pay posh prices - The Tobago is OK!
P.S. never saw a cockroach all the time we were at the Tobago (but pigeons were a bit of a nuisance walking around and 'pooping' on the balcony table and chairs)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2006

We stayed at the Tobago and totally disagree with all comments on here! perhaps maybe because it has been refurbished. welcome was not too great but we did arrive late at five in the morning! rooms had an exceptional view of the beach and whole of puerto rico. complaints about the hotel previously obviously were forgetting its fab location to the beach! five minutes walk down to beach - perfect! 15 minutes to the largest shopping centre. room was cleaned frequently. hotel bar was nice and comfy with tv screen, pool, etc. didnt ever eat at the restaurant tho so can not comment there. Comments made about the cats at the hotel - seemed to be a cat staying at the hotel but we noticed there were loads of cats everywhere on the island!! cat at hotel didnt look flea ridded in my opinion, in good health.
overall had a wonderful time and would definately return to Tobago simply because of its wondeful location to the beach and views from balcony!!
would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ertynewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.0 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#22 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Greco Apartments
El Greco Apartments
#14 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gelimar
Apartamentos Gelimar
#22 of 48 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sirena Apartments
Sirena Apartments
#13 of 48 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Magna
Villa Magna
#19 of 48 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobago Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobago Apartments

Property: Tobago Apartments
Address: Avenida Mogan s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Tobago Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Tobago Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing