We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with stunning views”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed 8th - 22nd july 2013. Lovely hotel with stunning views over Amadores Beach. Other guests from all over Europe as well as Spain and the north of GC. Room - nice twin room with sea view; plenty of wardrobe and drawer space with plenty of hangers. Carpeted too. Lovely mixer tap shower over full length bath. Even a bidet! As with all other parts of the hotel, splendidly clean - thank you Antonia for tidying up for us. Pools - not big enough for number of guests. We didn't even dip a toe in - preferred to use courtesy bus to Amadores beach. Food - as usual in a Riu hotel every palate catered for with food constantly available. After breakfast the pool restaurant opens to carry on late breakfast, then changes to early lunch which is available all day. Drinks - plenty of choice with quite a few brands used - Jack Daniels and Baileys amongst others. Staff - all very friendly and happy to help, nothing too much trouble. Thomson Rep - Cally was brilliant, always spoke when passing and available to answer any questions or just chat to. Things to do locally - take courtesy bus to beach; also take bus to promenade to walk around cliff path to Puerto Rico with loads of bars, cafes, large shopping centre, crazy golf and a McDonalds. Also a harbour where boat trips go from. We did dolphin trip on catamaran and saw huge pod of dolphins and 4 pilot whales - great experience for only 29 euros each. Another great feature of this hotel is that there is a 'solarium' for adults only with about 50 loungers overlooking the sea. Only thing missing from this little area is a small bar and a small pool. Will probably go back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who likes AI holidays.

Room Tip: floors lower than 4 or 5 need to be accessed by lift unless your very fit. Dining room on floor 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandcwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    983
    334
    91
    44
See reviews for
773
1,435
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. We were on a high floor and the views were amazing. The food was good, so much choice. Plenty of choice for the drinks as well, even though most were local we found they were really good. We liked the fact that you had to go to the bar and get your own drinks because this meant you didn't have to tip so everyone was treated the same.
We also liked the two swimming pools. As they were on the roof there was always lots of sun all day so people weren't fighting for the sunbeds or umbrellas. There was also a roof top solarium which was really quiet and peaceful.
The staff were friendly and we found the entertainment surprisingly ok.
As we enjoy walking the hill top location was not a problem, we walked up the hill from the beach a few times. We also walked to Puerto Rico along the coast road, this was a really nice walk. We found the beach at Amadores was much nicer than the one at Puerto Rico.
We had a fantastic time, a nice, easy, relaxing holiday, this hotel ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tequilasunrise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed at the Riu Vistamar for 2 weeks from the 27th June - 11th July with my boyfriend and parents and none of us could find anything to fault for our entire stay, absolutely fantastic hotel in a brilliant location.

The Rooms:
The rooms are a very nice size and were always spotlessly clean, the chambermaids were always so friendly in the morning and you couldn't have asked for more from them. All rooms have a sea view however some don't look out on to the beach, so if you would prefer this you can request before you arrive or ask to be relocated on your arrival depending on how full the hotel is. The TV had a good range of channels including a good English film channel. Every room has a fridge and a free safe - no deposit required! Some people say the rooms are a little outdated, the décor is old fashioned but still clean and you could not fault them at all.

Pool area:
The hotel has three pools in total; one infinity pool on the top level which has a waterfall running down in to the bottom pool which has a small cave consisting of a Jacuzzi and also a children's pool over by the kids club. The pools were all clean and a decent size to swim in, also brilliant for taking part in aerobics and any water sports that the animation team put on. Although the pools were a little chilly this wasn't a problem as you needed a cool down from the heat! Some people do get up really early to reserve sunbeds closest to the pool, however if you are not an early riser - no problem as there are always plenty of sunbeds spare so no need to worry.
Towels are provided! An extra bonus, you get given a ticket on your first day to retrieve them and then can change it for a clean one every day between the hours of 9.30 - 12. By the top pool area there are also air hockey and pool tables, ideal for everyone for a bit of fun.

Food and drink:
Breakfast - Served from 8 until 10.30 in the main restaurant with such a wide variety to choose from including; cooked breakfasts, breads, meats, cakes, pancakes, omelettes, fruit, cereals and juices, pretty much everything you could think of nobody would go hungry. If you do miss breakfast however up on the pool bar breakfast food is then served from 10.30 - 12, less of a variety but still good food.

Lunch - Most day we ate lunch by the pool bar out on the terrace in the sunshine. There was always; pizza, pasta, salad, fruit, burgers and hotdogs and then other items changed on a day to day basis, but once again something to cater for everybody. Lunch at the pool bar is served from 12 - 3.30. However if you prefer to eat inside you could go in the main restaurant from 1 o clock which served similar food to that in the pool bar.

Afternoon snacks - When lunch finishes by the pool bar cakes and pastries are served, there is never a moment in this hotel that they would let you go hungry!

Dinner - The main restaurant had an excellent selection of food on the nightime, always having; soups, pizza, pasta, fruit, salad, selection of desserts and cheeses. Then every night there would be a joint of meat available with vegetables in the centre of the dining room and then a choice of grilled meats and fish - such a variety, and the menu was not repeated in the time that we were there. Everyone gets given a time to dine either 6.30 or 8.30 and you have a set table for dinner each night, but if you are not happy with your time they are more than happy to change it for you

Speciality night - Every night if you want a change from the main buffet restaurant you may book to eat upstairs in the specialty restaurant where they have 3 different theme nights including; Spanish cuisine, BBQ and Asian, the food here was delicious and was well worth booking yourself in for all 3 of these nights during your stay!

Drinks - Beers, wines, coffees and cold drinks are available around the clock for you to help yourself, and all local spirits and a selection of cocktails are also included in your all inclusive, even champagne, which is a nice added extra

Midnight snacks - Perfect for if you are returning from a night out, the restaurant offers; bread, cheeses, salad, meat and drinks early hours of the morning for you to help yourself to at any time!

Staff:
The staff here at Riu are what made our holiday! Staff on reception are always there ready to greet you with a smile and help with anything. The bar staff both in the show bar and the pool bar are so happy and friendly, but overall efficient! The waiting on staff are just as fantastic! Big round of applause to all of the animation team who do not stop and work so so hard! They are brilliant at providing exercise classes, putting on events for the children and work around the clock practicing and putting on shows on a night time, they really should get a big thank you over and over again for what they do!

Location:
The hotel is situated quite high up in the cliffs which gives it such stunning views of Amadores beach. There is a courtesy bus which runs down to the beach which is brilliant. We took a taxi down here in an evening for a meal and it cost no more than 4 euros so still cheap enough. One day we took a walk down to Puerto Rico beach which was a bit of a trek but walking along the side of the cliffs is lovely. Puerto Rico shopping centre is only 3 euros away in a taxi, perfect for if you want to do any shopping or go for drinks or dancing on a night time, all of the bars are so cheap! The Europa isn't far away just a walk up the hill, however it isn't as good as Puerto Rico but is okay to go just for a few drinks.

Trips:
I would recommend organising trips outside of the hotel or taking buses to local towns yourself as it is so easy and also a lot cheaper than going with a rep. We took the bus one day to Maspalomas for a few euros each and spent a day on the beach with its lovely sandunes. Another day we travelled to Mogan by Ferry, on a Friday - Market Day, extremely pretty and well worth a visit. Only 9 euros if you pay for the ferry behind reception and make your own way down the Puerto Rico harbour in a taxi.

I would happily recommend this hotel to; families, groups of friends and couples as it caters for everyone. We could not have been happier with our holiday, even when we had checked out they were more than happy to supply us with a room to change and shower in as the courtesy room was busy. A big thank you to Riu, and a fantastic holiday in Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a higher floor as this gives the best views, also ask to be facing Amadores beach for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bethanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks with family there was 7 adults and 1 child we had 4 rooms all together which was perfect cause the rooms where paper thin we asked for a room with a view and was given the 4th Floor which was perfect i must admit the lifts are a nightmare at meal times which are 7pm or 8.30pm u cant move and its a nightmare to get a lift u might be thinking well u only have to go down 4 levels well NO the hotel reception and dinner area are on level 8 which wasnt a probelm for me but my wife was Pregnant at the time so struggled.............The food is nice and always something to eat didnt go much on the theme nights spent alot of time around the top pool which was only a 1 min walk to the bar :) and can honestly say there are always sun beds if u get there early enough even for a family of 8..........not a problem the 1 child we had went to the kids club and loved every second of it a lady that took the club called ANNA was her fav..........if u want trips u are within distance i mean yeah you are up a mountain but for 5 euros u can get a taxi down the hill we did mogan on the boat 1 day it was really nice...........boats where really busy on the way back though.........The hotel entertainment was ok nothing special if im honest there must of been a sickness bug going around well we where there we all had it 1 day at a time but it was fine.......Overall a nice hotel and would go back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macca_7389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was our first visit to the Rui Vistamar and we stayed from the 1st July 2013 to 15th July 2013. after reading the reviws on here we had mixed feelings about the hotel but we thought we would make our own dessions here are my honest opions on this hotel
arrived at 2.30 in the afternoon and found check in really quick an the staff relly helpful, we were given a room on the 4th Floor and outr room was looking overlooking Amerdores beach view was stunning as this hotel is built into the cliff the rooms are downstairs and the restraunt, pool ect up on the 7th , 8th and 9th Floor. Our room was really clean and pleanty of cupboard and draw space free safe in the room and also minin fridge and tv with a few english chanels
Food was really good there were diffrent sections one was Bacon, Boiled Eggs, Fried Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Omlets, beans ect . another one with the meats ect . then you have cereals yoguats ect
Lunch in the buffet was a really good selection as well as the evening meal really good food with a good selection plenty of choice something for everyone.
Pool area
pool bar is really good drinks are self service or can be got by the bar food there is nice also pizza, burgers, hot dogs salades ect.
The pool water itself is realy cold eventhough the weather was realy hot but it was really refeshing when you got in.
Really clean and plenty of sunbeds to go around but it is still the same holiday ritual of the towells on the sunbeds early in the mornings
Now for the bad points Entertainmet
The entertainment staff were a waste of time they would walk only around the pool in the morning shouting Rambo for you to go riffel shooting and that was it unless you were in that area forget it you were not included.
The evening entertainment was not much better
the shows were mimed to by the staff and just dances the records were good though so you could just listen to them
All in all a really good holiday but not a 4 star more like a 3 star and they really need to get the entertainment sorted day and night

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor as the views are stunning from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlady2wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was brilliant, the staff are so helpful, always happy, say hello every time you walk past them, food was brilliant, hotel and rooms are spotless, entertainment was good (could of been better) I honestly can't understand how anyone can complain about this hotel?!!! The steps really aren't as bad as what people are writing, its a few stairs not a mountain to climb honestly don't let this put you off!! We have just came back from here and would return tomorrow!! Fab fab hotel and fab holiday!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was our first visit to the riu vistamar 10/06/13we arrived after 12.30 am checked in ok, food is in resturant for you cold meat cucumber onion sweet corn water etc rubbish impression,went to room unpacked etc went to bed got up at 8.00am loverly view of the sea and amerdores beach breath taking wow the holiday has started. we went up for breakfast cererals toast bacon eggs prunes cold meats etc coffe teas. we went up to look at pools views etc all looked good but alot of towels on sun beds very early so what we will get ours later looked in the roof top cafe thats what it was a cafe not a resturant anyway all inclusive starts at 11.00am colas fantas,sprites,tonic,beers,spirits all on tap help yourself basis,etc all local pops not coke or sprite or even fanta but it was ok the pop was served in reuseable plastic cups which had a weired smell in the glasses cafe serves chips pizza hot dogs melon slices etc not much here but ok if thats all you eat so scabby bits of fruit as well. smelly drains near cafes, we had been up admiring the view when i was shocked to find some vomit near the glass barrier at first just thought some one has been drunk at sometime and being sick some we ran from this location,we went poolside swiming etc sunbathing having a good time went down to wash and change for the resturant went down got seated in our table asigned to us in a line looked for the food but it was the same as the cafe on the rooftop there was salad but most of it was covered in mayonaise which i can not eat so i got some lettuce and cucumber ,onion and some fish.my partner got soup and some salad fish as we both will not eat hot dogs pizza old pasta with thick skin on had to wait ages for a drink as well anyway finished and went back up sunbathing .evening meals very similer to lunch some sliced meat it was cold seamed a bit better in the evening,entertainment was terrible same as all the other hotels i suppose ,we had to wait for drinks several times we gave tips but they were very slow all drinks you can serve yourself if you want to pop wine etc not branded evening finished went to bed,got up next day all the same food for breakfast also water barrel refilled but saw people filling bottles yack keep away if you want water get it from the reception you get one bottle a day wow not much,went up to pool areas swiming sunbathing saw someone vomit really close to the pool water we thought is this just a coinsidance so we went to the other pool wether great pools good food rubbish went down to the toilets to find poop every where i ran out and reported it to reception they said use your toilet in room which we did spoke to some other people they had been ill and said the food had been terrible all the time and they had spoken to other people that had had sickness and diaorear some we booked the andilucian night what a load of rubbish anyway you guessed it we got the upset belly poops etc told the rep they totally denied anyone else had it but alot of people did went to the farmacia in the Europa centre they said it is a virus in the hotel they get a lot of people from there so we complained to the rep and registered our complaint. so we started eating out had to hire a car because of the location of the hotel getting back in was terrible the guard was from the second world war we named him adolf it was a bit like colditz on returning to the hotel no guests are aloud the staff are quite freindly some cannot understand what you are saying we found other peole with the illness as well after our sickness .we have stayed in riu hotels on three occaisions before this is the forth and it will be the last stay in any riu hotel not what we expected the illness in the hotel the poor quality food also looking worn out in rooms we paid a lot for this hotel and it was not worth the money.taxis can be ordered to the shops costing from 4 euros to 7 euros i would not recommend this hotel to any of our freinds we did find some nice places to eat out we went to another hotel in mogan and got evening meals buffet loverly with drinks for only 34 euros bargain so went nearly every day also got free use of the lido therein taurito we love gran canaria been coming for 20 years been in 20 hotels and this was and is the worst hotel but still has loverly views. after reading some of the other reviews I makes you think its a different hotel but its not there was at least 1500 people there and only 27reviews since 10th june so poor ones will follow I would imangine from the other sick customers. great for people who just let there kids run wild and like gandnam style song at least 15 times a night we are a couple wanted a relaxing time not at this hotel food poor not many healthy choices meats under cooked this was probably the cause of the sickness for many people. you are expected to pay for your food and drinks on your final day after 12.00pm on the check out day loads of steps for people to climb lifts full at busy times so if your in a wheel chair forget it.
our room was ok but maid was not a good cleaner she left the spider for two days in photo.

we are coming back to gran canaria in july because the tour operator has given us a small amount of money back so so much for not knowing about the sickness in the hotel they said because we kept all the receipts from eating out they accepted there was a problem but given as a good will gesture thanks Thomas cook

Room Tip: stayed on one level you can see the nets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,841 reviews
9.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Property: ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing