We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Vistamar
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Marina Suites(Puerto Rico)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eden Apartments(Puerto Rico)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,864)
Filter reviews
2,864 results
Traveller rating
1,332
1,032
349
101
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,332
1,032
349
101
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamadores beachmain restaurantpool barcourtesy busasian nightcliff topfree bus to the beachgran canariahead waiteron tapanimation team workentertainment roombranded spiritsfree safeentertainment staffplenty of choiceall inclusive hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,017 - 1,022 of 2,864 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The food. And the wine. What can I say... If you're into fried food and food that does not taste too much of... anything... this can be the hotel your're seeking for. There is of course a lot of choices, but all in all: overcooked, fried, no spices, no flavours. And erverything is soaked in oil. Greasy and disgusting. But most people seemed to like the food, so you'll probalby be happy. Try the mojo-sauce with the potatoes; both the green and the red one- but of course; after 6 days on a potatoe-diet, you get a little bored.The wine is undrinkable, but the cava and beer is good.

The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly.

The beds are hard. The aircon does not work properly. The view stunning.

If you like peace and quiet, go to the "solarium"!

Room Tip: Ask for 5.th floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingvild K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at the Riu Vistamar on two separate visits to Gran Canaria, and for good reason. In an area where the choice of accommodation is decidedly mixed this hotel stands out. Situated dramatically on a outcrop of rock 100m above the sea, each room faces an panoramic ocean view. Though perhaps a little dated, the rooms are of decent, comfortable quality, and the food is good buffet style, with plenty of choice. If you like your drink, then with all inclusive you certainly get your moneys worth with an extensive bar, and for once theres no catch with all inclusive, there isn't a till in sight. The hotel is perfectly situated for anyway wishing to tour the south of the island, but also ideal for someone wanting to relax by the pool, or down by the beach below.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just returned from a week at the Riu. We booked it purely as the flights went from Bournemouth, it was in the part of the Canaries we wanted to go and the price was reasonable. I certainly didn't expect a 5 star experience, but I was overall disappointed, but that's probably my own fault.

The hotel is a bit dated but certainly not shabby. The rooms are clean, although the bed was the worst thing I have ever slept on. It was akin to a night on the floor. The hotel is vast and we were disappointed to have a ground floor room as the beautiful view is obscured, and the trek from room to pool is a bit tiresome if you inevitably forget something, but this really wasn't a problem for us.

The pool areas can be massively crowded, but as most people say, you don't have any trouble getting a lounger. As a non smoker, I found having large groups of men smoking pipes a real issue, but that has no bearing on the hotel. The pool was not overcrowded although it's 'infinity' tag is sort of diminished by the fact that the glass wall hasn't been cleaned in years, completely ruining what would otherwise be a beautiful room.

I am surprised by anyone saying the food was good. It absolutely wasn't, in my opinion. The same things day in and day out. I am not a fussy eater, and I eat 'clean' but even so, I was incredibly tired of salad and grilled chicken / fish being the only remotely healthy options. It got so tiresome we ate out 4 times. The wine from the taps was undrinkable, in my opinion. It was utterly disgusting. The beer is fine. I don't know why people get so uptight about whether they're being given local spirits or branded stuff. 99% of people can't tell the difference anyway. People also moan about them being 'watered down' but I disagree.

The entertainment staff should get medals. The absolute energy and enthusiasm they have is admirable. The kind of entertainment was absolutely not our thing, we found it really odd at times. A grown man dressed as a baby, crawling around the salon, being chased by adult woman then spanked, fed and burped was just foul. We basically sat in the conservatory for drinks in the evening. If you don't want to watch the live stuff, there is absolutely nothing else to do, unless you bus it in Puerto Rico.

The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and accomodating and they should be commended for this. All in all, we were disappointed but accept that perhaps we expected too much for what was essentially not an overly expensive break. The area itself is fantastic. Wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on as high a floor as possible to maximise the stunning views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedVarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we were at the Rui vistamar from the 2nd november it is a lovely hotel although our room was a little dated, the views are spectacular, we were on the second floor and as others have said you can see the wire netting from the window ,it did not bother us,the food is excellent and plenty of choice, the staff are very friendly, the dining room is a little manic first thing, and the tables are very close together, you get a set table for dinner for the whole of your holiday, but can sit any where for breakfast and lunch,we did the island tour with thompson which is worth doing if you want to see more of the island,it is about twenty minutes walk down the hill to the beach and quite steep,but there is a coach from the hotel which will take you down and back again,if you dont want to walk, we had a lovely holiday and wouldnt hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the fourth or fifth floor to avoid the wire netting
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvestor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

fabulous never fails to hit the spot staff brilliant food excellent hotel and pool fantastic. cant wait to go again only hotel I have been where we have never had any trouble getting a sunbed though you always get some who leave towels first thing on sunbeds and may not appear till 3pm? have recommended it and those people have gone on to recommend it!! riu vistamar see you in the not so distant future yet again

Room Tip: all views face the sea but the ones that face amadores beach the best
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews