We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another great week”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Spent a week from 03/03 with my husband and children age 21 and 17, stayed here the same time last year with just my husband.
We were as happy with everything this year as we were last year and the children both enjoyed it.
The staff work really hard, the hotel is spotless and the food is great, there would be something for everyone's taste.
The views are lovely, we stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the beach and the sea. The evening entertainment was good most nights, the animation team night was really good. Puerto Rico in a taxi is approx. 4 euros so spent a couple of nights there.
We have booked again for June and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking both the beach and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LancashireKurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    984
    334
    91
    44
See reviews for
774
1,436
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A very well run hotel. The rooms and public areas are kept spotless and the staff and friendly and helpful. The food offering was the best we had on an "all inclusive" stay. The quality of the food was excellent, and while 80% of the dishes were the same every day, there was always something different to try. We stayed for two weeks and I didn't have the same meal twice. We liked having the same table allocated to us each evening as over the course of a week you get to know the people sitting next to you.

The animation team worked hard to keep us "entertained" and while their day time activities were up to standard, their evening shows were pretty embarrassing - lots of enthusiasm but little talent. The professional entertainers were however very good - we particularly enjoyed the Pavaroti evening.

The area around the hotel is almost exclusively devoted to the tourist industry - very little to see that is indigenous to Gran Canaria.

Our one complaint is that not one of the twenty postcards that we "posted" at Reception has arrived - and we posted them over 4 weeks ago!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking Amadores beach which had sun on the balcony from 1 o'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Old_Acc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It is the 3rd time I have been to this hotel, 2 times in May and the last in September 2013, 1st time was me and my friend, 2nd time was as a family with my husband and 2 children (3 years and 12 weeks). We continue to return to this hotel because there is so much to do, The kids club is fantastic even though we didn't leave our son alone in there due to him not speaking much the staff were still fantastic with him and he loved to go there! My husband found loads of activities to do during the day with shooting etc. The quality of food is brilliant and there is so much selection, the time and effort they put into giving you that much extra is worth every penny. The childrens entertainment in the evening is great and they give the children a certificate each night if they have been to the kids club during the day!! Will return this year and probably most years. Only thing is the pool is freezing so my son can only play in there for a certain amount of time before shivering and I wish First choice would do free kids places for this hotel but even without it is still worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A well situated hotel with great views. The staff are attentive, helpful and friendly and the rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean. This is a lovely hotel with a welcoming atmosphere that is very comfortable and well run. The food is of good quality with a wide selection to suit all tastes. No hotel is going to be perfect, but this comes close in most respects. The "entertainment" however is poor and is almost embarrassing to watch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelpirate89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week and the hotel was great. The hotel and rooms were kept spotless and the beds were so comfy. The food for all inclusive was great and so many choices for all meal times ,the drinks were decent quality too from the bars.
The staff were so pleasant and more than helpful and went the extra mile to help me when my mobile fell out my pocket in a taxi and they couldn't do enough to help me when I realised it was missing and my mobile phone was delivered back to me at the hotel.
The entertainment team were fantastic the shows they put on for the kids and us adults was brill and they were better than the booked outside acts..
We had amazing weather for the whole time there late 20's but I would say the south side of the island where we stayed is different to the northern side as noticed north was grey cloudy and windy.
Oh and it's on top of a huge hill and they do supply free transport down to the amazing beach and sea .

Room Tip: We stayed 3 rd floor and had no problems but the lifts do get congested as an upside down hotel rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna-marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a fabulous week at this hotel. Spotlessly clean and food was nice and varied. Our only complaint was that smoking and non smoking rooms are not segregated so when sat enjoying amazing views for balcony we constantly had waft of cigarette smoke from rooms either side of us. The staff were very helpful and I am sure we could have mover room if requested but worth putting up with to have the fantastic view of beach and sea. We were on fourth floor but getting lift was never an issue . Also advertises heated swimming pool in winter but they were both freezing the sea was warmer , which was disappointing .

Room Tip: room on fourth floor with beach view amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drybrook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We visited this hotel in January 2014 for my 21st birthday. We travelled between the dates 18/01 to 25/01 - I have read a couple of other reviews about this hotel but don't really agree with some of the comments. The hotel is situated on top of a cliff with stunning views all around! Our room was based on the 5th floor (this hotel is upside down with the rooms) and the view we had of the beach and the sea was spectacular! Because of where the hotel is there is a lot of walking to be done or catching the shuttle bus. When we booked this holiday we were made fully aware of the location and that there would be walking to be done, we don't mind this so we were happy but maybe when booking this hotel people should make sure they know this? We walked down in to Amadores and visited the beach and also round to Puerto Rico which was lovely. With regards to going to our places then yes you may need to go by taxi but there is the local buses also. We used taxi's when we needed to get to other places but they can be expensive so make sure you ask how much before travelling! The food at the hotel was a good variety, some of it was repeated each night but we had a different offering nearly every day. The only down side to dinner was being sat next to people, would be better if you could pick your own seat as we had the nosiest women next to us which was annoying! We didnt really use the pools in the hotel as we spent our days out doing stuff but I agree the top pool was ice cold! Overall, the hotel was situated nicely we thought, the rooms were all clean - as was the whole hotel, the staff were friendly and polite and the area was fab! Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view, and luckily were on level 5 which we think was the best level so prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,869 reviews
9.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Property: ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing