We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vomiting and Diarrhoea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vomiting and Diarrhoea”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Family of 4 just returned from one week stay at this hotel, couldn't call it a holiday as my family all experienced vomiting and diarrhoea from for 5 days out of the 7. The hotel management and the Thomson rep completely denying there was a problem and that my family were the only sick people in the hotel, absolute rubbish, there were many many sick people the week we stayed there. Basic hand hygiene in the public toilets could not be adhered to as there was no soap in any of the dispensers and when the hotel staff were alerted to this they became extremely rude and dismissive. Even on the day of departure the soap dispensers had not been filled and that was after a week of asking! The main restaurant was like eating in a school canteen and often the food was lukewarm although we didn't get to eat there that often as one of us was usually nursing a sick child. Also, the plastic cups and glasses had a really foul smell and taste to them which tainted the flavour of the drink you were having but again we didn't get to experience that much due to sick children. If you have been lucky enough to stay at this hotel recently without being ill then that is great but we are certainly not being picky because we have nothing better to do as one review stated, we most certainly do have reason write a review stating the facts as they happened to us. We do not expect to pay a substantial amount for a family holiday which resulted in sickness at a 4 star hotel with hotel staff being rude and dismissive and a holiday rep who clearly did not know what to do except deny there was a problem in the first place. Sadly, not a good experience at this hotel nor with the Thomson rep. Would definitely NOT go back.

Room Tip: 5th floor is the highest floor with rooms and best for views, if you do intend to go. Pool is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank OllieC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    977
    332
    91
    43
See reviews for
764
1,429
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I visited the Vistamar with my partner in September 2013. We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning with a rather large party and were efficiently dealt with and sent to the restaurant for something to eat. Although the food was stale after being left out since dinner, it was still a nice courtesy from the staff, so any complaints are unnecessary.
However, when we did get to our room, we walked out onto the balcony expecting to see a beautiful sweeping beach and were met with a delightfully grey cliff face just a few feet away. As the hotel does boast sea views with every room, we took it upon ourselves to request a differnet room WITH a sea view - a request that was dealt with graciously, as by 9AM the next morning, we were happily settled in a room with the most gorgeous view of Amadores.
The food is perhaps a disadvantage of the hotel - relatively same-y, and plain; I wouldn't recommend the spaghetti bolognese! However, at breakfast there were plenty of pastries, meats, cereals and yogurts on offer, and the staff were careful to offer coffee and to clear our tables. There are themed nights that you can book a few days in advance - we tried the Asian buffet, which was a little disappointing - we were met with vegetable spring rolls and meats that resembled frozen party food from Iceland.
The drinks were fantastic - my partner has a soft spot for rum and fell in love with the brand sold at the hotel ('Arehucas'). The bar staff were friendly and always up for a laugh.
The entertainment actually far exceeded my expectations - the best evening was when the most hilarious man organised a 'boys' vs. 'girls' competition and although a little childish, it was absolutely hilarious!
I would definitely recommend the jet skiing and parasailing in Mogan, although ensure that the man actually sends you the pictures you've paid for - on returning home, we only had one set out of the two we asked for!
The one main downside is that you could only access Amadores beach through the coach service provided by the hotel, but when you are there, the beach is lovely.
All in all the holiday was fantastic, cheap and cheerful.
I would definitely recommend the Vistamar.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a higher floor - the views there are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great hotel, plenty of choices for food. Staff very friendly and helpful, the bar staff especially Enrique very attentive great choice of drinks. I would use this hotel again the pool area was beautiful again very well maintained.

Room Tip: The food was excellent, plenty to choose from. The rooms where spotless and a good size. The bar sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliannamarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from 1 weeks holiday this is our 2nd visit to the vistamar, but will not go back until it has had a total refurb. This is the first time I feel the need to write a review. We are an easy going couple but this hotel is run down. The room towel, pool towel and bed linen are paper thin and moth eaten, and the beds are well past there sell by date.The entertainments room the chairs are very worn and feel dirty no cushioning left in them, and sometimes the room smelt of sour vomit, not very nice. There is a good choice of food but at times just warm to cold, I know you can't always keep it hot. The hotel lets the staff down as they give 110 percent. This is not a 4 star hotel anymore, so Riu if you don't do a makeover I think people will stop coming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LizandGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good hotel
Clean, tidy and pleasant staff who work hard.
Fab views but it misses stairs to the beach for an evening stroll.
The Thompson experience was great and effortless.
Great food and nice cool pool for the hit days.

Would recommend for families rather than couples.

Room Tip: They are all sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sim29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

A party of two, both of us were ill for 36 hours separately vomiting and diarrhea and met many other guests who were also ill. Standards of basic hygiene unacceptable in public toilets (hand dispensers and hand dryers not working) , glasses at pool bar were not clean and not changed often enough so sterilizing your own glass became a daily chore.

On complaint to Management (Javier) about the problem he said he could not make people wash their hands (Re Bug in Hotel). He did not engage with the idea of warning people about the bug or providing alcohol wipes on entry to dining room

He (Javier) never made any effort for the remaining four days of our holiday to check in with us on how we were getting on etc.. I have never experienced such a lack of personal interaction by Hotel Management in a hotel before.

The food was ok probably a three star standard not enough variety at pool bar. The animation team were very nice but no activities catered for the over 12's ( Adult games only) The rooms are extremely dated and bathrooms are poor (mouldy tiles and grouting and slippy bath).

The location and views are lovely but certainly not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties.

The wine (all inclusive) was terrible, we bought our own daily for dinner.
All in all a very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank michellemcd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

diarrhoea/vomiting outbreak. Lots of people very sick for 24hrs+ and weak after. Staff friendly and helpful, but totally ignored/denied they had a major problem.
Positives-kids club, views,
Negatives- Sickness, Dining area, steep hills/steps, limited activities for teens, evening entertainment very similar, rooms outdated, air con doesn't work

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank eimerlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Property: ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing