We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I wanted to spend some time with my two teenage daughters and done a lot of searching and came up with this hotel.
The holiday was booked via Thomsons and I can honestly say that from the point of booking to arriving back to the UK that Thomsons were very good.
This was made even better with the friendly atmosphere of the hotel.
Both my girls and myself are a bit reserved but found the holiday to be just what we needed.
When we arrived in the middle of the night the first impressions of the hotel was really good but then upon waking up and going on the balcony the view was simply stunning of the blue sea. I have never had a view like this before on all of the holidays I have been on.
THe staff were very friendly and were only too pleased to help.
Food was very nice and plenty to choose from.
Entertainment at times was cheesy but that is what I have learnt from past experiences from holidays I've had in the past. Albeit it was good fun.
Get up early to put towels on sun bed (before nine) as they soon went. But the pools were very nice and pool entertainment was good thought the day.
My only gripes and didn't really make an impact on my stay were:
The entertainments theatre in the evening smelt a bit like sick near the bar area so I kept away from that small area.. This was every night I went in there.
Pool water a bit cold
Food was a bit samey but very delicious.
I wouldn't let these comments put you off because the positives far outweighed me being picky in those latter comments.
I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

To start this off I was going to give this 5 stars! But the last day actually thrown me, in booking an all inclusive hotel and having late flights from 14th arriving at 22:00 and leaving 21st at 20:30, you'd expect your last day to still be all included right? Wrong. You have to pay an excess of €15 for meals like dinner and lunch, as 12pm is check out.
However the slights are amazing! The excursions are worth the money you pay!
Breakfast dinner and lunch were nice! The was a variety of foods you could eat. All 3 main meals breakfast, dinner and lunch all consisted of having salad, cheese, ham etc to have with bread, along with eggs, bacon etc.
The hotel itself was lovely. All rooms had view of the sea, some of the beach also if you were more to the right side of the hotel. However it seemed like no one was trying to fix one of the 3 lifts they had due to it being broken. I'd advise you to request to be on a floor from 5 onwards, especially if you have pushchairs or any form of disability etc, as any lower you will be waiting an average of 5-10 minutes for a lift! Being on the first floor you do not want to have to walk up 8 flights stairs to reception or 9 flights to the pools. (Which we had to do, although it was nice and peaceful. Though you can request for a room change, which we got given third floor, but didn't see the point as it was only 2 floor difference and you'd still be waiting a while for lifts, (so declined this). If the lifts went up you'd be waiting for them to come down and by the time they've come down others could of gotten on which could result in you starting the cycle of waiting again.
There's a shuttle bus to the beach which is frequent, although it doesn't run from 13:30- 15:30 to give the Spanish time for their siesta. The walk to the beach would be 15-30 mins walk distance and back 30-45 mins walk.

Would I go back to the same hotel again? It is debate. This is my second time going to Puerto Rico, in the first being self catering, it is a lovely place to go! Though there are a lot of hills and stairs in some places. The taxis from Rui Vistamar and to the beach (if you miss the shuttle bus) or to Playa De Puerto Rico (with the main tourist shopping centre, however beware of the "lucky lucky men") are roughly on average €4 which is worth the money to spend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KellyMarieDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a decent all inclusive hotel and for a week at the right price is a good option. However, after a little while you do notice a few details that are missing but these are generally minor however, for me they make it an good hotel rather than a brilliant one. Don't be put off- I'd give it 3.5/5 if I could but be wary if spending book price on this hotel I'd say. More detailed review below:

POOL - 4/5
Very nice area, always clean and generally sunbeds available. Two pools were nice, and not too cold, nice views onto the sea or beach.

POOL BAR AND SNACK BAR 3/5 - Food here was burgers and hotdogs and not great quality but plentiful and fresh. Drinks again- great to have Amstel beer/ branded spirits (just ask,not on show) available but cocktails are poor, premixed drinks and all served in small, smelly ( cleaning chemicals?) plastic reusable glasses. Minor yes but just a little off putting.

ROOM - 3.5/5
Clean and basic- fine for the price we paid. A little on the small side and showing it's age. Creaky bed, run down shower (but hot and well pressured), pointless hairdryer (barely a draft!) and air con which just about worked but i wouldn't describe as cool. As others have said, needs a refurb. Towels and pillow seen better days. Good to have a fridge and have bottle water (unlimited) from reception.

FOOD- 3/5
Probably the biggest disappointment- it is plentiful, fresh and varied but the buffet restaurant is not a very nice place to eat as tables are crammed next to each other. Food we found to generally be bland- you won't go hungry let's be clear but personally I prefer the less choice, more quality option.

ENTERTAINMENT - 5/5
Gloriously terrible. Animation team work so hard.

LOCATION - 4/5
Lovely views and regular shuttle to the beach means the location on the cliff isn't a problem and taxis and cheap and plentiful. Amadores beach is a must - 11euros for 2 beds and parasol for the day. Beach is clean and water is crystal clear and warm.

STAFF - 4/5
Work very hard all day and seemed to be a happy bunch.

Overall, I think price is the big factor here- we were content having got a good deal but if it was more expensive I think the food and little issues would have bugged us more.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the beach on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank nevermissabeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the minute you walk into the hotel you are greeted with beaming smiles from the amazing Reception team, Daniel was so welcoming & as we arrived late, he sent us to have a meal and completed the check-in later. Room was a great size with tons of storage, free safe, fridge and amazing views overlooking the sea.

Santi was a brilliant welcoming host in the Restaurant and allocated us a fab table overlooking Tenerife, the idea that you are allocated the same table for your evening meal for the duration of your stay is a fab idea, no looking around for a clean table when you come into eat. Breakfast and lunch is "sit anywhere", but the tables are turned around very quickly by the amazing, friendly, hardworking team, Yueray was looking after our section and he was great fun and nothing was too much trouble for him. Food quality and choices were great, there was no way anyone would go hungry here!!

The pool areas were kept so clean and tidy, there were a couple of days where we couldn't get sunbeds by the infinity pool due to the selfishness of people putting down towels and then going out for the day, but overall you could find a sunbed somewhere else. Pool terrace had lovely views over Amadores and again the staff did everything they could to ensure you were looked after, the food was great up here too if you didn't want to go to the Restaurant. Went to the Mirador for the Asian night and had the most amazing Chinese food, lovely change, but you have too book in for this.

Entertainment Team were great, loved the fact that they did not bother you to take part in activities if you didn't want to and they were on the go all day and night. The bar areas had plenty of staff on so there were no long queues, and Fran & Enrique were such good fun, they know how to look after their guests.

There was a courtesy bus to and from the beach which was great, but the taxis were only a couple of Euros if you missed the bus. Amadores beach is really pretty and you can rent a sun bed for €5.50 per day, lots of cafes, shops & bars here as well. The walk into Puerto Rico was lovely and only took about 25 minutes and there are some lovely shops to have a look about. Some lovely bars down on the beach front as well with a welcome cold pint to have a break from walking in the heat.

The hotel is lovely, clean and in a fab location, but the staff are their success, they are the friendliest, most helpful people we have ever come across, they honestly cannot do enough to make your holiday special. Another lovely feature is that there is a never ending supply of bottled water at Reception, so no searching about for drinking water.

If I had one small criticism (and it is small), there are only 7 public toilets in the hotel which is nowhere near enough for a hotel this size. The toilets in Reception were "out of order" one evening and you had to go back to your room to go to the loo which was a pain !!

Room Tip: We were on floor 5 which had amazing panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lees5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we have just returned from the vistamar second time there had a great week very hot again the hotel was very good, looking a little dated now should be coming up for a refurb but still very clean good food great staff entertainers very good bar staff excellent must have drank to much on last visit they remembered me emailed hotel before arriving asked for a 5th floor room got one showed riu gold card got bowl of friut and a shoulder bag as a wecome gift and selected seating in the restaraunt could not fault the hotel well done
Faults the outdoor food area is contantly cleaned by a lady with a mop but she cleans every where with the same blue mop does not change toilets seating sun bathing one mop does all
all so the food up there is a bit boring chips hot dogs burgers used the main restaraunt for dining this is very good
Overall this is a excellent riu hotel and well worth a visit

Room Tip: 5th floor center of hotel views of beach and sea fantastic sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alangail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My Fiancée and I stayed here from 23.06.14 to 07.07.14. It was my first time here but her 3rd. We had a great time . Staff all friendly food great and the animation team all work hard especially in the evening entertainment. They mime to songs but put their all into the performances . Some things in the hotel are a bit tired, like a lot of the seats in the main bar/entertainment hall are hard and in the swimming pool there's a cave area where u can sit in the water and it's fitted with jacuzzi jets that don't come on, also there's a large hole in the foam roof of this cave. We did hear however that the hotel is due to close for refurbishment for 4 months sometime soon. I would recommend a stay here as we DID have a lovely holiday

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for 1 week start of june,my wife and i did not want to leave.
Staff polite and attentive from reception to maid service to bar and restaurant we cannot fault in any way.
Food excellent and all areas very clean always.
The view from our room was stunning and the same from most areas.
Free bus to amadores beach which was superb.From there you can walk to Puerto Rico in 10-15 min.
We would very much like to return to this hotel so a very big thank you to all staff for making our stay so great.
I cannot understand any negative reviews of this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ANDREW033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £133 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing