We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% go to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Myself and my daughter stayed here for one week in July of this year. I had searched the internet and various holiday companies but this hotels reviews really stood out. From the moment we stepped into the reception from checking out was so nice, staff - from cleaners to entertainers etc were so friendly - lots of smiling, conversations - just made you feel so welcome. Everywhere was immaculate and rooms cleaned daily. I would of loved to stay for a fortnight and if I get the chance in the future I will! Book this hotel with complete convidence that you will have a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 1, on the south side, it did have a sea view but on the opposite side of cliff wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel. We have stayed here before, and came back because it was reasonably priced.
Rooms are ok, could be better. In need of decorating. The rooms have carpet which is off putting and too warm. They are small, and the air conditioning is not that good. WiFi is poor, you only get 30 free minutes per day, which is only accessible in the reception area. Entertainment is not great. Sun beds are all gone by 10 o'clock. Management should stop this. Considering this is a 4 star and the Gloria Palace Royal is a 4 star there is no comparison. Hotel is very high up, but there is a shuttle bus to the beach. If anyone is thinking of staying here and the Gloria Palace is similarly priced I would recommend the latter.

Room Tip: Floor 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank X29DOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I'm going to keep this brief after returning from 7 nights here yesterday with my wife and four kids (13,20. 24, 26)
Staff - Top class, from reception to cleaners, everyone greeted you any time of day with a hello and a smile, service in restaurant was superbly efficient - just a pity they have to put up with some downright rude and ignorant foreign holidaymakers.....
Hotel - excellent, clean, good facilities and pool area, entertainment staff and two ultrafit exercise instructors. Forget the worn carpet and cracked tile photography brigade - people whilst on holiday who pick up and report this trivia get my goat, I couldn't give two hoots if the carpets in the room are a bit worn, I sleep and shower in there then get out and enjoy. Clean, spacious, plenty wardrobe/storage space and a fridge and flat screen TV.
Position - as said many times, high up, stunning views, free bus to beach, awesome spot above lovely Amadores beach.
Food - absolutely AMAZING!!! Five star food in a four star hotel. Highlight of the holiday for us, it competed with a top Dubai five star we were at earlier in the year!! Catered for my Coeliac wife no problem.

Niggles - plastic beakers used for drinks sometimes had a nasty detergent taste to them, we rinsed out where possible.Wine on tap should be much much colder....
Tea making facilities in room should be standard here, don't know why they were not?

Tips : ask for named spirits which are kept under bar, Gordons, Bacardi, Smirnoff etc Cava is nice too!
Be prepared for a bit of legwork, stairs are up to pool areas and recreation.
Ask at reception for iron and ironing board (£20 euro deposit)
Book special themed food nights in Mirador restaurant at reception - totally free but limited places.
Forget reps advice on places to go - Porto Rico is a Benidorm style resort as is Mogan (mini Venice hahaha - NOT) Of course, if Benidorm is your thing you'll love it ;) Trips etc can be got much cheaper by shopping around..
Try not to get riled by ignorant Germans/Russians/Eastern Bloc and other nationalities who cannot control themselves or their offspring.....


First time at a RIU Hotel for us, doubt it'll be the last - absolutely loved the Vistamar, perfect for all the family :)

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Amadores beach. If you are after a peaceful day in the sun go to the hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank Bassman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here with 3 adults and 2 children 7 and 9! We have had an amazing time and loved every aspect of the hotel! The rooms are spacious, clean and well decorated. Some have said about the air conditioning not being good but we found it to be more than adequate and with the ceiling fan as an option also made the room a great temperature. The food is of a high standard with lots of choice, selection and great for adults and kids! The drinks are great with lots of choice and selection and readily available with branded drinks also available the main beer is Amstel! The pools are great and plenty of sunbeds but you have the same old challenge if you want to be right next to the pool side with the kids but even at 10/11 am you can find spare loungers other places around the pools! Hotel staff friendly and animation team are good and not pushy lots activities available! Would would defiantly recommend and would look to come here again!

Stayed: August 2014
8  Thank keepthisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed with family in June 2014 for one week. We arrived at 10:30pm and check in was quick and efficient. The porter took our bags and we were allocated the first floor, and went for a drink.
Food and drink:
-There was a large variety of food in both the main restaurant and in the snack bar. The snack bar was your usual chips, burgers, salads, etc. They also held amazing themed nights which you book at reception.
-A range of drinks were on offer, wines, beer on tap, and soft drinks.
- Reception give you free big bottles of water 24/7!!

Entertainment:
-The staff couldn't work any harder during day and night to make your holiday enjoyable. There was something for everyone!

Room:
-We asked for a lower floored room, as one of our party is disabled. This turned out to be a mistake. Ask for a higher floored room, and one facing the beach. You have an amazing view!
- Rooms were spotless, and a nice balcony!

Location:
-The hotel is situated at the bottom of a very sharp hill. Not brilliant in 30 degree heat. It is accessible to local amenities, bars and restaurants.
- There is a free shuttle bus to and from Amadores beach. It's too far to walk!
- You can walk from Amadores beach to Puerto Rico along the sea front.

Only bad point, since we went in high season, we couldn't get a late room that we wanted. We didn't leave the hotel until 9pm, so had a lot of waiting around.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Chloe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed from 5/7 to 19/7 2014. There had been a few poor reviews the month before we went and we were a bit apprehensive. However, when we got there the hotel was great. The food was very good with plenty of choice at all meals, the rooms were spotless and all staff were very quick to ensure that you were served, e.g. at the bar, reception and in the restaurant. It is a very busy hotel and during our last couple of days noticed it getting very busy. Some people do not like some of the entertainment that is provided, but the hotel also brought in outside acts as well as the shows provided by the entertainment team. The team always kept the children amused for an hour prior to the main show. The bar staff were very good and were always quick to serve you. International brands like Bacardi and Smirnoff vodka and other spirits were always available as was sparkling wine. The view from the hotel was excellent and Puerto Rico was only a 5 minute taxi ride or 25 minute walk. Went to the beach one day and the hotel shuttle bus ran on a regular basis to the beach and back. The only thing I was disappointed with was the gym. Some of the equipment was dated and didn't work properly and there were no dumb bells or barbells. We really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend the hotel and would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank AM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is in a stunning location on top of a cliff with amazing views out to sea, down to the beach and over to Tenerife. All of the rooms have balconies with sea views and you can spend a good amount of time just watching the sea traffic and stunning sunsets. It is a hike down to the beach (and back up again!) but there is a free shuttle bus. The town of Puerto Rico is then quite a walk along the sea front, so it is pretty isolated which keeps people in the resort for the majority of the time. We arrived at about 0230 and were immediately impressed that the staff said they had left some dinner out for us. Admittedly it was just some of the salad buffet which had obviously been left out since dinner, but this was a really nice touch. The rooms are nice with air conditioning and a ceiling fan, neither of which made the room really nice and cool but definitely bearable. The standards of housekeeping were really really high, everything was replenished and our housekeeper often made our new towels into animals which was fun and impressive! I don’t think the walls were that thin but the miserable people next door banged on the wall whenever we talked or had our TV on (low) after 11pm, given that we are a middle aged couple who are respectful and aware of other guests, God help these people if they are ever next door to youngsters. This was the only bad side of the rooms, but hardly the hotel’s fault. The pool areas were nice and we always managed to get a sunbed, but I always got the feeling that we were slightly lucky to do so, sometimes it took a while to find 2 anywhere near each other. I don’t know if the hotel was full, but I got the feeling it was not completely, so this would be even more of a problem at the height of the season. This could probably be resolved by being up really early to get the beds, but that is not what holidays are for! The pools were nice although the infinity-ness of the upper pool was spoiled by dirty Perspex through which it was hard to see the sea! Also beware of volleyballs raining down on you from the courts above if you have a bed near the back! The food was really top notch. There were several live cooking stations as well as all the usual salads etc. The choice of desserts was slightly disappointing but the fall back of ice cream was always available. There was also a speciality restaurant outside by the pool which you had to book a table at. We had Chinese and BBQ food here which was very nice, and a lovely setting with great views out to sea. The only complaint about the food was that there are 2 sittings for dinner; 6.30 or 8.30. We were allocated 6.30 when checking in, firstly this was not clearly explained to us (we certainly weren’t given a choice but I got the impression that everybody was allocated 6.30 to begin with) but when we did ask the receptionist explained that we could change our sitting. We tried on the first night but were told that there was no room at 8.30. we finally managed to get a table at 8.30 on the second night (for the third night), but as we then ate at the speciality restaurant 2 times this meant we only had our preferred 8.30 sitting twice. You are allocated a table which has its advantages. I think this was all because the dining room was not big enough for the maximum number of guests. Alcohol there is great and, for the first time ever, the staff are happy to serve you as much as you can carry, none of the usual 2 drinks at a time rules. Cocktails were lovely, although I am dubious as to how much alcohol they actually contained as I was known to have quite a few and not feel even slightly drunk. The same can’t be said for the non-pre-mixed spirits eg vodka & coke, gin & tonic. The measures of spirits in these were quite staggering! The beer and Prosecco and red & white wine were all also very nice. Entertainment in the evenings was variable and the theatre got very full and very hot, however I would highly recommend going out to the conservatory; you can still see what is going on on the stage but are in a much more pleasant environment where we could always get a seat easily. There are also tables outside which have a great view and the pool bar is open at night which is also a very pleasant place to have an evening drink. There is a card playing room which was great for a few hands of poker after the show. We were there during the World Cup and matches were shown on the outside screen which was popular. The shop, which we only discovered on the last day, sells pretty much everything you could ever want. On the last day we weren’t leaving until late and the generosity of the hotel was in evidence again as they allowed us to retain our all-inclusive bands and pool towels until we left. We had to pay for an evening meal, but this was not much and was well worth it. Given the overriding generosity of this resort, the only slight disappointment was the wi-fi set up; this was free for only 30 minutes a day and only in the reception area. When a hotel is so generous with food and alcohol, I think it would give a better impression if they provided free wifi anywhere in the hotel. Despite this, this is a great hotel with very courteous and professional staff. I will be recommending it to others and hope to return and/or visit other Riu hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#14 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £132 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing