We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just arrived back from Riu Vistamar - having been slightly skeptical prior to travelling as we booked last minute, I have to say it's a great hotel to stay at. Staff are exceptional, can't do enough for you, without exception. Good choice of food and the evening entertainment provided by hotel staff was engaging and kids and adults loved it. Room was comfortable, cleaned to high standard daily,
Hotel provided regular transport down a very steep hill to the beach,which is worth the visit. Spectacular views of the bay from the hotel.
Worth a visit....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    984
    334
    91
    44
See reviews for
774
1,436
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week from 26th July - 3rd August as a couple. We arrived at 3:30am and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we were surprised to find food on for us at that time in the morning which was nice! Free 2ltr bottle of water from reception on arrival and whenever you need more and free safe in room. Free pool towels available and changeable everyday. Room was clean and spacious with large flat screen Samsung TV! A few English channels could always find something to watch. Our room wasn't sun facing so never got hot and didn't even need to use the air con :) It was mine and my boyfriends birthdays while we were there and were greeted to a fruit basket and bottle of wine in our room when returning from the pool with a happy birthday note which was very nice! The pool areas were lovely and clean and plenty sunbeds. We were there peak season and only ever went up after breakfast past 10:30 and could always find plenty beds! The food was great with plenty choice, the entertainment was good, the all inclusive drinks was excellent with self service for soft drinks, slush, juices, wine and lager. You had to go to the bar for cocktails and spirits etc. the hotel is quite open and there are stunning views everywhere you look. We LOVED this hotel and will definitely be going back! Only let down was the wifi only getting 30 mins a day in reception area. Highly recommended!!! :) oh and to mention we were only due to leave at midnight on our last day and were allowed to keep our wristbands for drinks all day and breakfast and dinner. There was a charge of €15 per room for tea but we just ate from the snack bar at 5 before it shut :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Krees R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Arrived at 2am and the receptionist was friendly helpful and very quick. We had emailed ahead to ask for a beach view which they couldn't guarantee but we did get it. The restaurant was open with a salad buffet waiting for us and drinks which was very much appreciated.
We were on the top floor where the rooms are only for two people so quite small but adequate with plenty of storage and the spent most of the time on the balcony just looking at the view. The room was peaceful at night and we slept with the doors open every night . The bathroom was stocked with toiletries everyday and the shower/bath always had plenty of hot water.
The main restaurant still uses two sittings at 6.30 & 8.30 at night for dinner but if you want to change your sitting they will do this. You also get told where to sit, it can be rather cramped if all the table around you turn up at the same time. Food in the evening was very good improvement on the last time we visited and some days the chefs would be out doing live cooking. A always plenty of choice to meet all tastes. Breakfast again had plenty of choice from full English smoothies and pancakes. The fresh bread was gorgeous and very soft. Lunchtime we always ate in the pool bar where there was pasta dishes pizzas, salad and some days the best garlic bread. Ice cream was available and lots of fresh fruit all day. Two nights we ate in the pool bar at night too where you get table service for drinks and a themed meal.
Swimming pool areas were all very clean and the waiters were always about collecting the plastic cups up that people had bought from the bar. Unfortunately you did get some people who obviously could not read take glasses up to the pool and food. We saw 1 glass get broken and the person just left it but it was reported to the lifeguard who got it cleared up in a fashion.
Another downside you did have to get up in the mornings to put your towels out. We often did not go up till 8am on way to breakfast and you would not be able to get a poolside bed. You have to be down by 7 if not earlier. However plenty of beds and if you went to the beach in the morning you could normally find a bed when you came back.
One lifeguard normally dressed all in red did not seem to be bothered about his job just his phone. Was always on it and even when we tried to attract his attention (5 people shouting at him) he still did not respond good job no one was drowning!! The others were all ok.
Entertainers did a good job always had loads of things going on for all ages and the pool was always full when doing aquafit, volleyball etc. night entertainment was also popular and the theatre area always full.
All staff were very friendly and our last night as we were not leaving till 10pm we were able to eat in the restaurant for €7.50 each.
We didn't do much whilst there but we did visit the champagne bar on the beach again for a relaxing drink, the beach is lovely and clean and when the sea is still the snorkeling is quite good. The bus runs nearly every hour from the hotel during the day. We also caught a boat from Peurto Rico round to Mogan which was well worth a visit. Good shopping and bars and very picturesque.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but if you want a stunning view ask for a beach view and if it's only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lucinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit here. The food and other general things have improved. Rooms alway tidy and all staff very friendly and helpful.
The worst staff onsite was one particular life guard (all in red) who was on his phone or playing on his phone ALL day. He let the hotel down dramatically. God forbid any thing should happen in the pools.
The other issue I had was with the amount of glasses and cups by the pool area, even though there was a sign up stating no cups or glasses. I feel this should have been monitored better.
That all said it is a lovely hotel and would recommend to anybody. The beach at amadores is fantastic.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank RobStone72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Myself and my daughter stayed here for one week in July of this year. I had searched the internet and various holiday companies but this hotels reviews really stood out. From the moment we stepped into the reception from checking out was so nice, staff - from cleaners to entertainers etc were so friendly - lots of smiling, conversations - just made you feel so welcome. Everywhere was immaculate and rooms cleaned daily. I would of loved to stay for a fortnight and if I get the chance in the future I will! Book this hotel with complete convidence that you will have a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 1, on the south side, it did have a sea view but on the opposite side of cliff wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel. We have stayed here before, and came back because it was reasonably priced.
Rooms are ok, could be better. In need of decorating. The rooms have carpet which is off putting and too warm. They are small, and the air conditioning is not that good. WiFi is poor, you only get 30 free minutes per day, which is only accessible in the reception area. Entertainment is not great. Sun beds are all gone by 10 o'clock. Management should stop this. Considering this is a 4 star and the Gloria Palace Royal is a 4 star there is no comparison. Hotel is very high up, but there is a shuttle bus to the beach. If anyone is thinking of staying here and the Gloria Palace is similarly priced I would recommend the latter.

Room Tip: Floor 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank X29DOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I'm going to keep this brief after returning from 7 nights here yesterday with my wife and four kids (13,20. 24, 26)
Staff - Top class, from reception to cleaners, everyone greeted you any time of day with a hello and a smile, service in restaurant was superbly efficient - just a pity they have to put up with some downright rude and ignorant foreign holidaymakers.....
Hotel - excellent, clean, good facilities and pool area, entertainment staff and two ultrafit exercise instructors. Forget the worn carpet and cracked tile photography brigade - people whilst on holiday who pick up and report this trivia get my goat, I couldn't give two hoots if the carpets in the room are a bit worn, I sleep and shower in there then get out and enjoy. Clean, spacious, plenty wardrobe/storage space and a fridge and flat screen TV.
Position - as said many times, high up, stunning views, free bus to beach, awesome spot above lovely Amadores beach.
Food - absolutely AMAZING!!! Five star food in a four star hotel. Highlight of the holiday for us, it competed with a top Dubai five star we were at earlier in the year!! Catered for my Coeliac wife no problem.

Niggles - plastic beakers used for drinks sometimes had a nasty detergent taste to them, we rinsed out where possible.Wine on tap should be much much colder....
Tea making facilities in room should be standard here, don't know why they were not?

Tips : ask for named spirits which are kept under bar, Gordons, Bacardi, Smirnoff etc Cava is nice too!
Be prepared for a bit of legwork, stairs are up to pool areas and recreation.
Ask at reception for iron and ironing board (£20 euro deposit)
Book special themed food nights in Mirador restaurant at reception - totally free but limited places.
Forget reps advice on places to go - Porto Rico is a Benidorm style resort as is Mogan (mini Venice hahaha - NOT) Of course, if Benidorm is your thing you'll love it ;) Trips etc can be got much cheaper by shopping around..
Try not to get riled by ignorant Germans/Russians/Eastern Bloc and other nationalities who cannot control themselves or their offspring.....


First time at a RIU Hotel for us, doubt it'll be the last - absolutely loved the Vistamar, perfect for all the family :)

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Amadores beach. If you are after a peaceful day in the sun go to the hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Bassman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,866 reviews
9.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Property: ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing