We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Key card didnt work. Nice food and entertainment and great for kids.All inclusive? Cleaners are fab, meed more pool activities as it got boring. Sunbeds were removed if not used but that didnt happen annoying as hell. Staff were the best bit

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear TC,

thank you for sharing your experience at Marina Suites with other travelers. We will transmit your nice words to our team!

Hope to see you back soon at Marina Suites!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    765
    165
    33
    18
See reviews for
1,324
1,066
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This were our second stay at Marina Suites. The rooms are big and the location is perfect.
What made our stay poor was the hard beds. These beds are not worth a 4 star hotel. We were 22 persons in our family that stayed here, some in upgraded suites, and we were all very disappointed due to the hard beds. My back and shoulders hurted every morning and the sleep was bad. We asked the personal if it was possible to get an extra matress , but they couldn't help.
Also it was impossible to take a comfortable shower, because the water suddenly shifted from cold to very hot.

Its a shame that a 4 Star hotel cannot get better beds, and we'll not come back until the beds are better..

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Jana,

we would like to thank you for posting a review about your stay with us on the site and also thank you for all your comments which always help us to know how to improve our services. We have done works in order to resolve the water temperature changes and we have already solved this problem! Regarding the beds, we are considering your suggestion, so please contact me in case you want to come back to Gran Canaria and I can keep you informed about this.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on board,

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked this as looking for a reasonably priced week away in Easter.

Positives

Excellent accomodation. We upgraded to a deluxe suite which is huge (at least the size of 3 doubles). Great views from lounge, bedroom and bathroom

Kitchenette is not designed for full meals, but absolutely fine for breakfast and lunchtime light meals

Best position in a drab resort. Right on Marina away from noise, tacky commercial centres

Everything is cleaned very well

Nice affinity pool, warm, with lovely views.

Negatives

Main problem is sun loungers. It isnt about the fact that you have to go down about 8 / 9 am unless you want to sit in a bad spot, it isnt that all the sun loungers end up being used, thats also to be expected over Easter. The problem is that every square inch is used up. Dont think about being able to move your lounger, or let your toddlers play next to the lounger, there simply isnt room!! So if you like sitting on top of your neighbour this is the place for you. The pool area needs to be doubled to allow for space and relaxation. For a top end 4 star this simply isnt good enough. If there is a regulation with regard to square footage space per sun lounger, and if the hotel is abiding by these regulations, then the regulations need revisiting!

The entertainment is feable.

The food is mediocre.

The resort is basically full of nasty restaurants with picture menus and neon signs, with a couple of exceptions.

If the hotel increased the size of the pool area (maybe they could build decking out over the sea) and improved the animation / kids club (its for up to 12 years - but there is no way my 9 year old wants to do colouring every day) then it could be a great place.

It isnt as cheap as chips, hence my comments. If it were £100 / night then I would judge differently.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terensinthemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Terensinthemed,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. During Easter the hotel is fully booked and that's the reason why it can get a little bit crowded at the pool area, we apologize for this. All your comments will be consider in order to further improve our services and we do hope to see you back soon at Marina Suites!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely pool & friendly staff + a good brekkie means we had a good overall 1-night stay - only negative was our room was just outside the lifts so was a tad noisy until after midnight - otherwise a good experience & we would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thornburyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Thornburyred,

we are glad you had a great 1 night stay at Marina Suites and would like to tahnk you for sharing it with other travelers!
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from our two week stay at Marina Suites Hotel with my wife and two children (5 and 11years). On arrival hotel reception staff were very helpful and friendly! We were allocated room 102 which was nice with children as no need to use any of the lifts. Rooms are of a good size and very well equipped for self catering needs. We have stayed in Puerto Rico many times over the past twelve years but have never had it so nice. The whole team from reception to bar staff at Marina are such lovely people. One thing that stood out for us were the children's entertainers ( Alexandra and Julian) well what can I say other than they are one of the best teams ever. Everything had set times such as club times at the children's area which had its own little room with sand and climbing frame to games in the pool. Everything was on time and never missed so it was nice to know you could plan your day without any mishaps. One little luxury were the two 6 person jacuzzi hot tubs which just happened to be outside our balcony on the same level mmm!
The lifeguard / children's entertainer Fran is a great bloke and took his job seriously as should but always had fun with all the children at the same time. (Some days there was another lifeguard but he sat at the back and didn't interact at all). As it was Easter all the children received a kinder egg from the lovely hotel manager who really does have a great team! There was a queue though just before eight in the morning at the closed door leading out to pools and sun beds. This was opened dead on 8 but we never had a problem getting our beds. This was supposed to be our last stay in Gran Canaria but I'm not sure it will be now as we're already looking to book again at Marina Suites!!

Thank you to all at Marina Suites!

We will be back!
See you soon!!

Room Tip: No bad rooms I wouldn't think! Ground floor if children in your party though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Graeme,

a big THANK YOU for posting such a great review about your stay at Marina Suites on Tripadvisor!
It has been a pleasure to meet you all and are happy to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us and are planning to come back soon! We hope you had a good return back to Great Britain and are looking forward to welcoming you all back!
Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next stay!

Best regards,

Dara

PD: Really glad to hear the children enjoyed the Kinder egg :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend last year for our first holiday together. Marina Suites is fantastic for couples!

One of my favourite things about the hotel is the infinity pool. It is really romantic, and boasts spectacular views. Our room overlooked the street and the marina out front of the hotel, which was lovely to look at when we sat on our balcony of an evening.

We were gobsmacked by the size of the rooms, considering there was only the two of us, it was like we had bought an apartment over there! We couldn't really capture the true size of it in pictures or video, so I suggest booking a room and taking a look for yourself :)

The location is good, perhaps a 10 minute walk from the beach & 15-20 mins from the main strip - however we stayed away from that area as it wasn't very nice.

I admit we did not eat at the hotel, and the reason I have rated the cleanliness down is that we found some ants in our little kitchen area. We told the reception staff, but I can only assume they looked into it after we left as they did not look whilst we were there.

Overall, if I could pick up this hotel and drop it anywhere I would stay there for most holidays!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaCBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Melissa,

we are really glad to read you liked our rooms and had a great stay at Marina Suites! Thank you very much for all your comments and for recommending us to other travelers!

We hope to see you and your boyfriend back at Marina Suites!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

MS is a nice hotel that offers decent sized rooms with a nice view of the sea (if you can get a sunbed), however it's not all positive....sun beds - they need more as it was always overcrowded. Pillows - you have to rent pillows to get a decent ones??? Towels you have to pay to change??? The beds are rock hard!? Entertainment - well they shouldnt be allowed to call it that as it was so awful!!! Food ok and staff generally helpful. Watch out on the drinks as they are not cheap.

Room Tip: Tell them your bed is rock hard and they may add a soft mattress. Request a high up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Chris,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Marina Suites. We are sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations.. We are considering all your comments which always help us to improve our services.

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#5 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Property: Marina Suites
Address: Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing