We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

This was our second stay at the Marina Suites having also stayed in Sept 2007. We chose to return because we were making a late booking and being very busy we didn't have much time to consider alternatives (a simple case of go with what you know). Our requirements were for an inexpensive holiday in the sun with a nice pool. We weren't fussed about the surrounding area as long as there were some nice restaurants nearby. Essentially we just wanted a relaxing break and that is exactly what we got!

As we had found on our previous visit, the Hotel is excellent in all areas that mattered to us (we were self-catering so can't comment on the food). We were checked-in by Jose who was very welcoming and helpful and later assisted by Eduardo (I think) who was also helpful and most charming.

Our suite (room 610) was spacious, well designed and very clean. The suite consisted of a large bedroom with very comfortable bed, large bathroom with very powerful shower plus bath, lounge area and kitchenette leading out to a balcony with views overlooking the harbour. The sofabed in the lounge was quite uncomfortable as a sofa but that would be our only gripe.

Room servicing was excellent, even our crockery was washed up for us! We had no problem with maids wanting to service our room at an unreasonable time - perhaps we were just lucky.

We needed internet access on a daily basis to check on our own business and had brought a laptop with us (Shame). Wi-Fi is available for free by reception or you can pay 15 Euro for access in your room using a LAN connection. We opted for the later for convenience. We paid a 5 Euro deposit for the LAN cable to ensure its return on departure. The connection speed using the LAN was excellent. We could also pick up Wi-Fi in our room even though we were on the 6th floor but I am not sure this is intentional.

We also paid a 20 Euro deposit for pool towels and a small charge for use of the safe although I can't recall how much. Again there was a deposit for the safe of 10 Euro which like the LAN cable and towel deposit is refunded on departure.

The pool is fantastic and the area surrounding is well designed with all the loungers along one side. We didn't have any trouble getting a lounger at any time even though we usually got the pool mid to late morning each day. I guess we were lucky in this respect as I do recall on our previous stay in Sept 2007 that the availability of loungers could be an issue at times.

On the whole the Hotel was excellent. I like the fact that the Hotel insist on a certain level of etiquette (e.g. tops must be worn in reception / no towels hung over balconies etc). During our stay I only witnessed one 'family' who clearly felt they had cause to complain. They did so by wearing nothing but wet shorts/bikini in reception with one of them smoking and I would wager, quite drunk. Certainly their language was quite colourful, hence the reception staff were a little frostier with this family but lets face, so they should have been. I am sure some people have genuine problems or cause for complaint but on witnessing this little episode I suspect some (but not all) of those who have a bad experience at this hotel are treated differently because of their own behaviour or attitude. Again I think we were lucky, by staying in November, most of the other guests seemed to be Scandinavian couples and families who were on the whole very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynavit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,132
    793
    173
    37
    19
See reviews for
1,421
1,154
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Have just returned from a week long stay at Marina Suites with my husband and daughter.We had a fabulous time.We booked half board but on arrival at the hotel they upgraded us to full board free of charge.What a surprise!The food was excellent plenty of choice with a free drink with your lunch and evening meal.All the staff were very friendly and efficient making sure your stay was enjoyable.The rooms are huge.The space is unbelievable. Very clean with marble bathrooms plenty hot water and lovely white towels changed everyday.We were on the eighth floor and what a view we had over the marina.Sitting on the balcony watching the sunsets were spectacular.The weather was vey hot in the late twenties.The infinity pool is really nice and warm.We also met a lot of very nice people.We took a boat trip to Mogan which is a beautiful place.Well worth a visit.I read all the reviews leading up to my holiday and didnt know what to expect but do not pay attention to any negative comments people have made.This I would say is a four star hotel and more.We enjoyed it so much i booked again for next year.Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed at the hotel with my wife and two children, aged 2.5 years and 11 months. As previously explained in other reviews, the design of the rooms makes them very 'baby proof'. Lots of storage space within the bedrooms. Staying half board, I thought the buffet breakfast was brilliant. A very large selection each morning. Evening meals were good, and had different themes each night. Such as Mexican night, steak night, taste of Asia etc... The hotel was very clean and tiday, reception staff were freindly and helpful. The pool area was brilliant, especially the baby / toddlers pool. My 11 month old loved it in there, as it was very shallow. She was able to push around in her float. She had a wonderful time. There were toys brought out for them to play with. The only thing that got annoying was some older children (6 yrs plus) coming in and splashing around, but thats just lazy parents not really the hotels fault.
Overall very good and will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigertastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

well having read the reviews of this hotel i was looking forward to my stay there, in October 09 and we were not disappointed. the hotel is lovely with very friendly staff and t he rooms are fabulous, with loads of space. we went half-board and the food was very good, although you get a bit tired of it after the 3rd or 4th night so we did go out to eat, but there is plenty of variety and something in the buffet dinner for everyone. the location of this hotel is ideal with no hills and the best thing is the heated pool, this is to die for, i still wish i could have a swim in it everyday. we will definitely be back to the Marina Suites.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabananaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I have just returned from 10 nights at the Marina Suites with my wife, 4 children and Mum & Stepdad. We checked in at 2.00am without any problems. I had requested a Welcome Pack when I booked which contained water, tea, coffee, milk, washing up liquid etc which was really good. The rooms are really spacious and clean and extremely child friendly. My youngest is just over 13 months and the kitchen area can be closed off with bi-fold doors and there are no cupboards in the living room for tiny fingers to get trapped in. If you are self catering the kitchen is great, it has a toaster, microwave & kettle as well as enough crockery & cutlery. The towels are changed every day and the bedding twice while we were there. The beds are very comfy, even the bed sette in the lounge. I had read previous reviews about noise etc. I never once heard maids shouting to each other in the corridors and the only other noise came from rowdy children whose parents could not be bothered to supervise or entertain them, so let them run up and down the stairs and corridors shouting at each other! Typical British parents frying by the pool and not giving a second thought about their children. There is a bit of a rush for beds around the pool area which, as previous reviews have said, is far too small for the size of hotel. However, unless they find some where to build a bigger terrace area, there is not much else that can be done. The pool is the best and cleanest we have encountered in Puerto Rico. We only ate once in the pool bar and found it to be reasonable and good quality and the staff were very friendly. I agree that the Reception staff could be friendlier, particularly Jose, but the others I found to be polite and courteous. We managed to stay in our room after 12.00pm for 50 Euros, which meant we could spend our last day around the pool. I think it is just pot luck with the rooms. If yours is booked out then you have to be out by 12.00pm but we had 3 rooms between us and we could have stayed in any one of them. This was our 10th time in Puerto Rico and most definitely the best accommodation. Puerto Rico itself is starting to look a little tired and weary now, there does not seem to have been any attempt to keep the resort looking clean and tidy. On our second day we decided to visit the Aqua Park which we then found to be closed for "Holiday". No-one seemed to know when or if it was going to re-open and after speaking to someone on the information desk in the Commercial Centre, they said that on some days during the summer there were only about 10 families using it so it may not re-open. With regards to the food in the Commercial Centre, we found it to be rather expensive (particularly due to the exchange rate). If you ordered anything from the "Specials" menu it really was poor. The best place we ate was San Miguel, very reasonable, quick service and friendly staff. We visted Amadores beach more times this visit than we have before and really enjoyed it. On the far side of the beach is a bar area where you can pay 18 Euros for a double sunbed with umbrella, with waitress service all day for drinks etc and a really nice restaurant. It's well worth a visit as it can be really messy on the sand all day with a baby. We would definitely go back to the Marina Suites.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenHBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHAMPTONSHIRE
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2009

just come back from a great weeks stay. hotel is very clean and apartments are very spacious. Reception very friendly and helpful. Pool lovely. Had fresh towels every day and maids cleaned the rooms any time of the day if you were late leaving them.This hotel does deserve a 4 star rating. Only faults were no wardrobe in the living room area,had to share bedroom wardrobe and no one could get a late checkout on there room. All the hotel offers is 15 mins for all four of you to use the shower room provided The island has a lovely clean beach which is just a stroll away and there are lots of shops and bars a 10 minute walk away,we would get a taxi as there was eight of us only just over 3 euros per taxi. The eight of us went to celebrate my sisters 40th birthday ages ranging from15 to 45. For nightlife we found a great bar called harleys had good music and specials on drinks.There are lots of nice places to eat. We would all return again.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BEANIE35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We requested a top floor suite and got one. Super balcony views of harbours beach and sea. Very large room with bathrobes, slippers and DVD. Maid service EVERY day with daily towel change. Reception staff need a bit of customer service training especially Jose, however Eduardo was a gentleman. The main attraction is the Infinity pool overlooking the vast ocean. On arrival you are given an A4 sheet on the pool protocols, dont bother reading it they do not adhere to any of it. Towels on beds are allowed and tolerated by management. As a conequence if you want anything near the pool away from the screaming out of control chav vy kids, you had get to to the pool pre 8am.
We were there for two weeks and by week two we had to go elsewhere to avoid the aggravation, noise and the incessant smokers. The British were even smoking in the Hotel foyer.
We go to PR 3 times a year purely for the weather and to eat and drink in the typically Canarian rests and bars.We love The Balcon Canario, Don Quijote, El Gaittero, amongst others and there is a new Greek rest The Rhodus Palace which is excellent.
If you can put up with other peoples out of control children, smokers and getting up at the crack of dawn to get a sunbed then this is the place for you. We will never return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccfc1927man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinasuites, Public relations at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 2 December 2009
Dear trip advisor member and guest of Marina Suites,

Thank you for your comments about Marina Suites. We are working hard to give our client a perfect service that is why, according to the reviews we had of our staff, we decided to organise service training for them. we hope you will decide to come back and they will attend you as you deserved it. about the pool area, we know that in high piks season this is a problem but trying to find a equitable solution for our clients.

kindest regards from Marina Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,094 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,516 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Property: Marina Suites
Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 10, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing