We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been 5 stars but for the food”
Review of Morasol Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morasol Suites
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just got back after a week at the hotel on half board. Have to say this is a really nice hotel and I have stayed in lots. I will try and cover main points some of which are not in the hotels gift to change.
Resort - our first time in gran canaria (me, my wife and a 13 year old) it is very similar to the other canaries, a bit barren around the coast but very tidy and finished with little new development going on where we were. There is some work going on at the moment behind the hotel and close enough to be heard. Not sure how long it will be on for it did not look like a huge project. As for puerto RICO, it's a place of contrasts. The hotel is adjacent to a very nice marina it's a nice stroll through this to a shopping area but when you get there be warned some of the goods are offensive, I am not a prude but some of the cooking aprons depict parts of the male anatomy that are not for young kids to see and unfortunately these are on display to the street. Tat of the highest order. This is a shame as the rest of the resort is very pleasent.
Hotel - its a gem, all the good stuff other reviewers have said is true. It's modern and a bit contemporary the public areas are smart and well laid out, there's is free wifi in the reception area and pay as you go computers. The pool area is very nice very clean and a good size, plenty of sun loungers and the roof top solarium has lots more space too.
Room - we had a one bedroom suite these are a good size with a sofa bed in the lounge, some of the furniture was starting to get tired but it's still OK, ano year or two and it will need changing. The self catering facilities are limited with a microwave and a two ring hob (plus kettle etc) but enough to do basic stuff. All the rooms but a few look onto the marina but you should know that between the hotel and the marina is a restaurant which you look onto the back of its not horrific but it is a bit of an eyesore, if you go for a room that looks over the pool you will not have this place in your direct line of vision. Bed was decent firm and big (2 singles pushed together).
Food - oh dear, if this had been to the same standard as the rest of the hotel it would have been fantastic. Breakfast is a buffet with the usual mixture of cold and...not so hot. That's the main problem food did not get changed often enough. This may be because the restaurant was quiet but it needs to be better. As for diner, well we paid for half board but only ate the 3 nights out of 7, and the third time was because I insisted we give it another try, but it was just as poor. It's a 3 course set meal with 3 choices per course. I do like good food and I know everybody has different tastes, but I would not go half board again, b&b is OK.

Staff - great, all of them.


Overall- probably the cleanest hotel I have stayed in, that includes the room and pool areas. I would go again and I recommend it, with the caveats above. If you want a chill out by a pool go b&b in a room overlooking the pool and you should enjoy it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Archieandpluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have just returned from a week in the morasol suites which was the most wonderful experience of any apartments that we have ever stayed in while on holidays.
The rooms were big and i mean big and the bedroom was about 20 foot square with great air conditioning. The kitchen/dining area had everything electrical and spotlessly clean. we will go back there again. staff were excellent and very helpful.

Room Tip: room 224 has the sun from midday until sundown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We thought a junior suite was going to be more than a large studio. Kitchen facilities minimal, bathroom small, shower either scalding or cold, could have been cleaner. Public areas better with a good choice for breakfast but hot items not hot enough.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms have better views but choose a room at the front of the hotel or you will be faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank handy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

If the owners of other properties ever wish to 'up their game' and see how good it can be - they should holiday in the Morasol too.

We were here for our 7th visit and as ever had a great time.

The rooms are excellent and well appointed. The views are fab from both the rooms and the roof terrace.

The staff are excellent, especially elena who really does go the 'extra mile' to help you enjoy your stay.

The whole property is spotless clean and well kept.

The only downsides, and this is picky, is the paint jobs, here and there could do with some touch-ups.

The restaurant staff were a bit 'casual and relaxed' for my liking, but in fairness were probably standard enough, the previous operators, Marco and rosa were 10* and therefore a hard act to follow.

I am still looking but have yet to find a better 4* property - anywhere!, let alone puerto rico.

GO!

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor for the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Newvistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

we love the morasol suites,the staff are fantastic the place is clean and the veiw has the wow factor,this is our 2nd time at the morasol and we will be back,if you like a drink go to the little cafe bar in the marina next to costa mar grill they are such nice people and the lager is in a nice icy cold glass,lovely on a hot day.the beach is clean and only a few mins from hotel which is good.if you like lots of night life then theres the commercial centre which is a 20 min walk away or only 2.45 euros in a taxi there you will find shops,bars and plenty of places to eat.all in all the morasol is in the best location and on the plus side its all flat in this area so no hills or steps to climb.

Room Tip: all rooms look out onto the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boroughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Positives:
+ Staff were all very welcoming
+ Not many Brits there and not many kids so quiet and relaxing
+ Less than 500m to the beach
+ Fantastic views of the harbour and great for walks and runs
+ 200m to a supermarket and restaurants on your door step
+ Far enough away from the night life to not be noisy in the evening but close enough to walk back
+ Very clean and modern hotel

Negatives:
- The kitchen facilities in the apartments were sparse and space was limited, two hobs restricted what could be cooked, an oven or microwave would have been better. The unusual selection of kitchen aparatus added to the confusion and obvious lack of thought put into the kitchen area.
- Wi fi only available in the reception; rooms should, in this era, all have the capability.
- The bedding had a plastic under sheet which added to the feeling that 4* was punching above its weight.
- The pool was very cold, during the winter months it should have been heated, this is why the place is definitely not suitable for children. Furthermore there are no toilets near the pool, reception or back to your room are the only options.
- The label of a spa and jacuzzi is a tad superfluous, they were basic at best with a tent near by.
- The main road out of Puerto Rico is immediately behind the hotel which meant it was very noisy throughout the day whilst lying by the pool, the road is very popular with racing motorcycle enthusiasts.
- Very annoying that you have to pay €20 per week to use the safe (not a deposit but a payment), signs then saying valuables are left at the owners' risk then the cleaning staff leave your rooms unlocked, a little ironic!

Overall:
- A nice place, not sure I'd pay more than €500/week for the studio room, a good 3/4 star.
- Get a taxi from the airport, the transfers triple the journey time for very little saving.
- Plenty of restaurants to eat out at which is necessary as the kitchen is pitiful.

Room Tip: If you have children, be on the ground floor, for ease of access to toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Locibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We were welcomed by friendly staff who gave us a welcoming drink. Modern & clean hotel with private parking. Our room was on first floor directly over the pool would recommend a room along here handy in the morning you will know when loungers are filling up to run down and put your towel out while you have breakfast. Room was spacious, modern with bathroom, kitchenette in hallway to bedroom, bedroom had a huge fitted wardrobe, steps down to living area and sliding doors out to balcony. Everything we needed was in room flat screen tv with lots of channels mostly spanish some had subtitles but few channels had english films and news, kettle, toaster, hob, few other electrical items were in the press we didn't use them, toiletries in bathroom also. Fresh towels provided when needed. Great view from balcony of hotel pool & marina something we were not expecting but really appreciated. Hotel is in nice quiet area for night time hotel doesn't seem to do any night entertainment itself but bars, restaurants (italian,chinese,indian and regular fish and chips), shops and beach are all within walking distance. We went on a glass bottom boat trip (saw nothing though) to Mogan on the friday which is market day great for gifts to bring home seemed like hundreds of stalls, regular shops also but same price as home. Mogan is a great place just to see and walk around has a feel of Italy about it. Really enjoyed this holiday relaxing but option was there to go to hectic pubs and clubs, food in every place we went was fab. Top floor of hotel has jacuzzi and loungers and gets sun most of the day.

Room Tip: Supermarket through tunnel for essentials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tinatipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#6 of 68 in Puerto Rico
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morasol Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morasol Suites

Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 12, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £82 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morasol Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and quiet hotel is located in the Marina, the most privileged area of Puerto Rico. The stunning views of the bay , the panoramic Solarium , the modern and spacious apartments and cozy studios ( both equipped with Satellite TV ) , the gourmet restaurant , and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, make the HOTEL MORASOL SUITES **** a resting place for comfortable visits to Gran Canaria. The complex has a 24 -hour reception,a swimming pool and a total of 88 rooms, with living room, bathroom, hairdryer, telephone, satellite or cable, kitchenette, fridge and air conditioning, safe and wifi prior payment. The resort also features a cafe, bar, TV room, Jacuzzi and a la carte restaurant with non-smoking area. The MORASOL SUITES HOTEL restaurant serves typical Canarian, Spanish and international cuisine. With its friendly service and elegant setting, this hotel is an ideal base from which to explore Puerto Rico. PLEASE NOTE: Guests needing disability access will need to book 1 Bedroom Apartments, not Studio Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Morasol Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morasol Hotel Puerto Rico
Morasol Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing