We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Nearby Hotels
Marina Suites(Puerto Rico)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marina Bayview(Puerto Rico)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Apartments(Puerto Rico)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Altamar(Puerto Rico)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lufesa(Puerto Rico)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
78
166
115
57
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
166
115
57
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamadores beacheuropa centreno air conpool barsteep hilleuros per nightmin walkamazing viewsthese apartmentsbarbacoaroom keyself cateringnice walkbars and restaurantsnice holidayhired a carmini golf
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

These apartments didn't look like anything on the web site our room was dull our view was looking at a wall and there was no privacy from the neighbors there was a low wall between us that you could jump over so you couldn't stay out there. Our patio door didn't lock so we felt unsafe leaving anything in the apartment. That was nothing compare to the dirt of the place. The first night we were infested with cockroaches as if that wasn't bad enough the beds were filthy, they hadn't been changed. There was sand and pubic hair all over the sheets, it was disgusting. When i complained the staff didn't care, they were unhelpful and rude. They answered me by shrugging their shoulders, it was disgraceful. The cockroaches got worse every night they were huge and they were flying around the apartment there were nests of them.We didn't sleep for the whole week so spent our holiday exhausted. Every time i complained the staff got annoyed and said there was nothing they could do. This ruined our whole holiday i will never stay there again. We wasted our money staying there and the staff wouldn't refund us so we could leave and stay elsewhere. I also had to pay for an iron, there was no hairdryer and the telivision that we had to pay to watch didn't even work.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmera M, Director General at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Tina,
First of all thank you for taking the time to review our complex in Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry that we did not lived up to your expectations and we want to apologize for all the inconvenience we have caused you.
We have taken notice of your comments about the apartment and have informed our cleaning department about this, and we will make sure that this won´t happen again in the future. We always attach highest priority to ensure that all hotel areas are always spotless clean.
Again our deepest apology for the way you were treated and it is very important to us that all of our guests experience a perfect holiday.
Kind regards,
Ángel Duran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Having paid only £270 for the whole holiday, we weren't expecting much from the apartments, but we were very happy with our stay at Palmera Mar!

The view from our balcony was amazing, the pool was heated and had a separate jacuzzi bit, the pool bar opened from 12.00 - 3.00 and I would recomend the grilled chicken sandwich! The apartment was cleaned every day (apart from one), with fresh towels. There was a little shop selling essentials and a good internet access service.

The place is about 10 mins walk down hill to the beach and restaurants (you have to try Monaco Steak House - gorgeous!), we only walked back up once, we got taxi's back up mainly, which costs about 3 euros.

There were a few negatives - mainly the noise; cleaners started very early and seemed to be dragging furniture around very loudly. Reception was only open during the day (with a 3 hour siesta), so not sure what you do if you want to check in late at night/early morning?! The sun loungers were really uncomfortable and I think it would be hard to get one in peak season...

There is a restaurant, we only had one meal there and didn't like it (pizza), but it always seemed full so maybe we just chose the wrong dish?!

All in all, we can't complain for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor didn't have a sea view and some seemed to face the corridor leading to the pool...try and book the first floor upwards.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This apart hotel with its wonder full views could be so much better with a cash influx from the new management team. It's position near the top of cardiac hill gives it a great aspect of Amadores Beach, but beware you will need to be at the beach to get regular public transport to Mogan. There is a promenade walk to Puerto Rico (which is now showing it's age) to get access to boat trips. Further up the hill is the Europa centre with a couple of nice bars notably Mama D's, very clean, decent prices and the two brothers will look after you. BE VERY WARY OF THE ELECTRICAL SCAMS IN THE EUROPA CENTRE ELECTRONIC SHOPS !!!!.
You will need to get a taxi back from Amadores beach to the hotel 2.3 Euro's up till 10 then a slight increase from then on 1 way, unless of course you feel extremely fit, but beware because the street lights are not on from a 100m from the bottom till you get to Palmera Mar.
Regarding the rooms do not get any on level 7 below the restaurant, you will get no privacy as people use the terrace as a smoking area from the restaurant and a lookout for the bay, all day and night, and the maids congregate at 7 in the morning and are very pleasant but noisy. As stated the reception is not 24 hr, opens at 9 closes at 1400 re opens at 1600 and closes at 2000. There is a shop for basics or a quick walk to the Europa with a bigger minimmart.
Amadores beach has some very nice restaurants, but again beware as some close early at night. Ciao Ciao is notable, also, the Chinese eat all you like for 7 Euro's, in fact most are very good and reasonably priced if you go for the meals of the day.
The maids clean the rooms regularly but your sheets will only get changed once a week, towels are changed nearly every day.
As stated earlier this could be such a great hotel !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOTTESFORDJEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmera M, Director General at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Jeff Bottesford,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Palmera Mar in Tripadvisor.com.
Actually since March 2012 the complex has been changed from owner´s. The new management is very eager to improve all the services of the complex.

We apologize sincerely for not having fulfilled your expectations, we always try to do our utmost to make sure the clients have a wonderful stay.

Kind regards,

Ángel Duran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

As many previously mentioned, the hotel needs a bit of updating, however our room was clean. We were on the 2nd floor so the views were beautiful. On the time of booking we asked for double bed, high floor - which we did not get :-(. The restaurant was ok, can`t complaint about the breakfast or dinner, restaurant staff was nice and helpfull. The receptionist was not bothered with anything, was unhelpful and didn`t know much about anything. The area is beautiful, it is about 10-15min walk downhill to the beach, however walk back can take up to half hour. However we didn`t mind. The swimming pool was cleaned daily and the pool bar was ok also. There is a shopping centre "Europa" nearby with lots of restaurants and shops. There is also plenty of stuff to do nearby - JetSki, Parasailing, snorkeling.....So overall was very happy with my holiday .

Room Tip: Always request high floor room as the views are beautiful . Be aware that the scales in the hotel are very innacurate - our luggage weighed 11kg in the hotel and when we arrived at the airport it was only 8kg, so don`t bother using it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This place is fantastic for the price. Gorgeous sea views, great peaceful pool scene (heated pool too), 10 minute walk down to one of the best beaches in Gran Canaria where you can watch the sun set from a dozen excellent restaurants and bars, and a 2 euro taxi ride for a bit more nightlife.

Most rooms have a terrific sea view. Around 6 or so lead directly onto the pool, and there are a couple that appear to be stuffed into random corners. When I booked, there was the option for a sea view room for around an extra £5 a night. That said, odds are that you'd end up with a fantastic room even if you went for standard, so my advice? Unless you enjoy doing negative tripadvisor reviews (surely not!), this is a fraction extra on your holiday cost to guarantee you a fantastic stay.

It wasn't a luxury apartment, but it's a spacious, clean, newly refurbished room, and the whole complex appeared competently run with friendly staff.

Oh, and if you're able bodied the walk to and from the beach shouldn't be a problem at all. My legs do ache a little bit, but I'm sure it's helped work off some of that bread/olive oil/pizza/beer.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view to guarantee it
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattaimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews