We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Palmera Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for a week.. Staff are excellent however if u stay here make sure u don't stay on 1st floor drains are horrible sewer smell and not 1 but 2 cockroaches!! 1 on balcony 1 in room!! Not very ideal layout got to walk down steep slippery hill to get to reception! And no night porter? First I've heard of this in a hotel.. Pool bar opening times.... Hmmm they open when they want but close on time! Bath is tiny! Beds are brick hard! Don't expect comfort!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickytoriab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    145
    100
    49
    38
See reviews for
62
219
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the Palmeramar Apartments Sept 2013 .. We had a basic room ( no double beds) but the view was fantastic , the reception staff where helpful and the cleaning was good we got clean bedding and towels on a regular basis . Couple of things that weren't so good …..1. the restaurant staff seemed more interested in their mobile phones than serving and generally they made you feel that you were a inconvenience but the food was ok … but if you go half board the menu is very limited you get chips every evening !!!2. The TV (12") and internet you have to pay additional for which we noticed you don’t in other hotels …. You can access internet at all the bars and restaurants in town free of charge though…..Over all not to bad but I think I ll stay at one of the other more modern ones next time I visit Gran Canaria

Room Tip: Always book a room with a sea view and a balcony (the others are at the back and face a wall) … but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here last year and we came back again this year.. We payed the same price as last year.. Last year we had a lovely room with see views and a flat screen tv.. This year we were out in a basic room with no sea view just a wall to look at.. So we were told we could upgrade to a sea view for 10 euro p/n so we looked at that room and the view was the top of the pool bar and a tv that u have to put money in to use.. We weren't happy so we ended up paying an extra 210euro to upgrade to a better room but still not as good as the room we had last year.. I am very disappointed as we stayed 2 weeks last year and are currently staying 2 weeks again this year and I am unhappy that we had to pay that much. Also today we were meant to get clean bedding as we have a week done but the cleaner just made the bed and made it look like they were clean but u had a lipstick mark on mine so I knew they weren't clean and we weren't given clean towels which are meant to be given every time your room is clean.. Tester day we had a lovely cleaner who even washed the dishes and today the cleaner didn't even empty the bin either and she took our ketchup.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ktbrzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent a week here up until 11th September.
When checking in, the staff were friendly and helpful. We were on the first floor (of 7), which was a short journey down an elevator. The room itself had a decent sized living area / kitchen with your regular appliances. The balcony was huge, far bigger than we expected! A possible downside was that the beds were extremely hard, and the pillows slightly uncomfortable. However, not a huge problem; fairly easy to live with. It was hot at night, and with no air con it did get stuffy in the room but you do expect that from a country with such a climate.

The location of the hotel was quite good. 15 minutes down a steep cliff/hill was Amadores beach which is beautiful. There's a number of restaurants and bars down by the beach, with a Spar shop en route for you to stock up on basic amenities. The walk back up to the hotel from the beach was tough, but with taxis only 3€ tended to go by car.

You could walk to Puerto Rico via a very nice costal road, which took about 20 minutes from the beach. Taxis were only 4€ from the hotel though. Puerto Rico is a lot more commercial than Amadores, with a huge square which promoters standing outside each establishment trying to entice you in. There's a lot of restaurants down by the beach and harbour there too though.

We used the bus (1,55€) to get to neighbouring town Puerto de Mogan. Nicknamed 'Little Venice', it is a beautiful place and we were gutted that we found it 3 days in to our holiday and not sooner. Wonderful restaurants, cocktail bars, and character.

All in all, a great place to holiday for couples if you don't mind walking a bit. No complaints about the hotel, and for the price you can't go wrong!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here for only a week, really enjoyed the overall holiday. The view was absolutely beautiful, and the balconies were a good size. The room was pretty average but we spent minimum time in there anyway. The hotel doesn't actually have an air con, and we both found ourselves sweating and unable to sleep properly the first night, the next day we bought a fan from a local shop which did us very well. However the hotel does actually lease you an air con machine or fan, we only found out on our last day. The beds were quite hard but not a overall problem.
The walk to the beach was about 15-20 minutes, its down hill and is very steep. Although well worth the walk down. A taxi up from the beach area was tops 3 euros, well worth it, the walk up was far worse than the walk down.
There was actually a shopping centre the opposite direction about 5 minutes away, lovely cocktail bar, spent a lot of time there, definitely recommend. Loads of restaurants and a reasonable supermarket there as well which is useful if you've already done the beach walk during the day.
Our favourite restaurant was one on the beach, 'Palm Beach' if i recall, its the one furthest to the left as you get onto the beach. Amazing food, vegetable paella is a huge must.
Really enjoyed the holiday, was the perfect area for us, avoiding the busier side of puerto rico, however puerto rico is only a bus ride away, which like the taxis are cheap.

Room Tip: Don't go for the ground floor, no sea view. Lift takes seconds anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurahendersonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

These apartments are spacious, comfortable and clean with a huge balcony! The views are amazing, as it is up quite high(maybe not great if old/young/injured) but we didn't mind this. Complex is on the quieter side, which we loved! Pool area was very well maintained, plenty of beds and got the sun all day! No air-con but we rented a fan from reception and this was fine. We received 3 sets of new towels in one week and cleaners were very thorough. Wasn't mad about Puerto Rico itself but really liked these apartments!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nook1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Reception staff were very helpful and polite from the minute we arrived, if you asked, they have all the intel regarding places to go and how to get there .. etc.. Room had to upgrade like everyone else for Sea view, well I suppose they have to make some money somewhere being that the holiday agents like Thomson pay very little for the accommodation. Couple of things that we didn't like and made the stay a little uncomfortable were the absence of air-con, was very hot and the 400 meters from the sea according to the brochure ( we agree on the 400 meters only if you jumped or parachuted down, for normal people is a 10 min walk down the very steep hill and 3 euro for a taxi up. Towels you must ask as they not changed every 2 days as per the brochure. and on a very personal note if you do eat on the rather panoramic view restaurant which is totally breathtaking.. don't eat the squid unlike the squid you get in England or at the Greek islands the squid here is a Goliath and once you have patiently chewed your way through, it will try and transform to is normal self some time in the early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: 405 406 are one bedroom self catering apartments, they have lovely views allow 10 euro per night upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#33 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#18 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Hotel Terraza Amadores
#15 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#28 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#17 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Palmera Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Palmera Mar

Property: Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Address: Calle Montana Clara 35130 Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Apartamentos Palmera Mar 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamentos Palmera Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmera Mar Puerto Rico
Palmera Mar Hotel Puerto Rico
Apartamentos Palmera Mar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing