We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty much perfect”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For what we paid and after reading other reviews we didn't expect much but were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were all lovely and the cleaner even did the dishes! There was a good variety of food and you have to try canarian potatoes!! The pool was lovely and quiet and so was the restaurant. The only complaints I would have is that we were offered a special deal and it turned out it was because our room didn't have a balcony and also there was no air con but it was pretty cool in the evening so wasn't too bad. Also bed wasn't very comfy. Overall had an amazing holiday though!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a proper balcony (ours was by the entrance on the ground floor- not go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    153
    103
    49
    38
See reviews for
66
225
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Me and my partner came back from staying at the Palmera mar on the 19th of June we booked a week and were self-catering. Let me tell you .. People
Can really not moan! It was so cheap for us to go there and very good value for the money, rooms were very basic but clean, cleaners came in everyday we were there apart from one day .. Bins changed, beds made, towels and
Toilet roll replaced..the kitchen in the apartment had pans plates glasses kitchen utensils - so ideal for self-catering. Great location up the hill from
The hotel there is a super market various different restaurants and tourist shops. Pool by the hotel was
Lovely .. Jacuzzi at the end .. Pool side bar open everyday apart from
Sunday good value prices and they allow you to take
Your own drink there and take it in the pool as long as it's in a plastic cup. Staff were very friendly and helpful.some better spoken English than others ...very nice views from
The Pool and Restaurant. We would definitely go there again for a cheap value holiday .. Also where it was only
June it wasn't very busy which was nice it was peaceful by the pool :-) we didn't pay the extra for a sea view room as you could see the view by the restaurant really well anyway and we Wernt bothered about having it in our room.

The only down points we had at our stay at Palmera mar were: our toilet flush went on the second day and we were told a plumber couldn't come out that day so we did have to move rooms..we didn't mind though as it
Was only the second day so hadn't fully settled and our new apartment was practically next door ! We were able to move straight away.
The food was not brilliant at the hotel restaurant .. They overcharged a bit for what it was worth, it wasn't a problem though as thereAre plenty of other cheap places up the hill. The beach was a very steep walk back to the hotel ,
Although there are taxis at cheap prices of 3 eurous !
The TV in the apartment is a rip off and only has one English chanel which was CBs drama.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 10 day break here, lovely views and surrounding area. The pool was really quiet most times we went which we loved. Would definitely recommend eating at the hotel restaurant, great view, good service and food unexpectedly really good - one of my favourite meals of the holiday.

There isn't really much to do in the local area, a trip to Morgan is a must, we got the ferry from Puerto Rico and had a great day. Puerto Rico is about a 20 minute walk past the Europa centre, which is at the top of the hill. All the walking is very steep up and down hill so wished I'd brought better shoes than flip flops with no grip!
Watch out in the shops for being ripped off its very easy to haggle down when they havent put prices on things.
All in all had a great time and would return for the view/ balcony for a relaxing short break.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Enjoyed fantastic sea view from a terrace every day. Can't forget the scenery of sunset of the Atlantic. Breakfast was average but swimming pool was somewhat dirty. It's not seawater bur not changed. Parking is possible on the roadside. Shopping center and restaurants are within walking distance on the hill top.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBBBJJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmeramar A, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. You are right, the sunsets are amazing and you can enjoy the best views from our Restaurant in the top during the hole day. We invite you to join our album of sunsets in Facebook with the pictures of our customers and you can upload the best you have. That is why we recommend to book a Sea view apartment or a Superior Sea view apartment, better than an economic that has no view. About the pool, we apologize for the inconvenience, we were working in the main canal for 1 and 1/2 day, but the motors and filters were working because we have heated water year around and we can not stop it because it will be ice cool. It is also right that we are not far away from the Shopping centers and Restaurants but away enough to have calm and silence to relax and to disconnect from stress. We hope to see you again and wish you and your family all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice place to explore whole island.
Clean,friendly staff,good facilities,nice swimming pool,perfect view.
Nothing wrong.Good for solo travelers and for families.
Nice beach,restaurants and shops.I recommended Amadores Beach Club.
I hope to back there soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmeramar A, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mr. S. We are glad to here you enjoyed your holidays in Palmeramar. We really thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you again soon. We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This accommodation was by far the worst I have ever seen in the whole of Spain. Apart from the language barrier there was absolutely no customer service. They did not change our towels for about 4 days neither the sheets. There were cockroaches which were really big that was just crawling around in our bathrooms and kitchen even outside on the balcony. We were playing music from our phones and we got the police called on us. This hotel is perfect if you are an antisocial person but if you want to enjoy your holiday I don't suggest staying here. The breakfast buffet was so basic and not worth the money. Cleaners were taking pictures of our clothes and our room wasn't cleaned. Worst hotel ever which ruined our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisa12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from a week self catering at the palmera mar in the beautiful bay of Amadores. Having read trip advisor I was expecting a crappy room and asked to pay 70 euros for a room upgrade. However, at check in we were given our room key and a polite welcome. Our room was on the ground floor next to the swimming pool which was lovely. As it was May it was quiet and never any trouble with noise.

Rooms were basic but had an excellent shower with great pressure. Rooms were cleaned and bins emptied regularly. Pool bar was cheap at 2 euros a beer.

There were fantastic views of Amadores bay, the photos are real, restaurant at the top overlooking the bay and so does the swimming pool lounge area. Plenty of loungers and space.

At first I thought the place was basic but soon got used to it and really enjoyed it. Pool was lovely with a jacuzzi one end which was a bonus.

The hotel is on a big hill. I had read reviews on this and it is a long walk back up the hill. But before you start looking elsewhere taxis are cheap, 3 euros from the beach to the hotel! We walked down and got taxis back. Easily available too.

Restaurants surround Amadores bay, lovely food and competitive prices. 5 minutes walk up the hill from the hotel is the Europa centre with bars and restaurants, having tried most the best by far is the grill restaurant on the first floor with a real flame grill. They are the only Spanish restaurant and specialise in meat and seafood. Best meals by far and I cannot recommend them enough. 3 courses for under 10 euros too which was excellent value.

If you pay 5 star prices then expect 5 star. Go with an open mind, remember you are on holiday to explore the area and enjoy the food and not stay in doors in the basic room watching tv with only CNN in English!

Weather was fantastic, market in Morgan on Fridays is really lovely and the beach is amazing. If you are after a relaxing cheap escape, then you can't go far wrong with this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunshine25512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmeramar A, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holiday in Palmeramar.
About the upgrade, it depends of the room the customer has booked. If they book a “no-seaview room”, because it is cheaper, they have to understand that we ask for the difference if they want to have a “seaview room”, as there are people that had already paid for it.
The rooms are ready with everything you need to cook, but if you want to completely relax, we also have the restaurant with a Breakfast buffet, Dinner menu and of course A’la Carte service.
You find also a Pool Bar at the Pool area with soft drinks, beer, cocktails, smoothies, snacks, sandwiches, etc.
The way you think is the best one to be happy with your holidays. “Go with an open mind and remember you are on holiday to enjoy”.
Looking forward to welcome you again we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#35 of 68 in Puerto Rico
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Hotel Terraza Amadores
#15 of 68 in Puerto Rico
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Servatur Canaima Apartments
Servatur Canaima Apartments
#45 of 68 in Puerto Rico
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#23 of 68 in Puerto Rico
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Palmera Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Palmera Mar

Property: Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Address: Calle Montana Clara 35130 Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Apartamentos Palmera Mar 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Palmera Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmera Mar Puerto Rico
Palmera Mar Hotel Puerto Rico
Apartamentos Palmera Mar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing