We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at any cost”
Review of Portosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portosol
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed 19 March 2009

the rooms are very, very shabby, kitchen cupboard doors don't shut, drawers don't close or are falling off. wardrobe doors don't close, one bed was broken
the bedlinen is a doubtful white/grey colour, the pillows were probably purchased when the hotel was built - one for each bed and even folded in half were useless, the top covers are dark blue and badly stained. towels are supplied but are a murky brown colour
the cooking facilities consist of 2 electric rings which can take up to 30 minutes to boil a small pan of water for coffee, there's no kettle, toaster, microwave, oven or grill. if you go self catering and intend to eat in even occasionally it would be difficult. i was on my own and ate salads every day
the sitting room area has a coffee table and sofa bed. these apartments claim to be for 2 - 3 people but sleeping on the sofa bed unless your under 4ft tall would be most uncomfortable if not impossible
the balcony is tiny - just room for 2 chairs and a small table
the bedrooms and bathrooms back on to each other and the walls are paper thin - you can hear everything and i mean everything [even your neighbour going to the loo]
the electric immersion heater for hot water for kitchen and bathroom is a joke that is not funny. this took me 2 days to work out - before you try to shower put your shampoo on your hair, cover your body in shower gel then if your really lucky you'll have enough luke warm water to rinse it all off
the 1st and 2nd floors are reached by a spiral staircase which is about 3ft wide and very steep. it was hard work to get my small suitcase up there by myself with no offer of assistance
the apartments advertise 500 metres to the beach but don't mention the hundreds of stairs down, totally unsuitable for any but the most able bodied [taxi back was only 2euros 50 thank heavens]
this was not the cheapest accommodation available at the time of my visit i paid just over £300.00 accommodation only [no flight] and could have stayed elsewhere for £114.00 [wish i had]
i've been to gran canaria at least 30 times and this is the worst accomodation i have ever come across
if you've already booked cancel if you can and find somewhere else

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mx5euphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Portosol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2006

Hotel Portosol, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Address: Avenida Fuerteventura, s/n Puerto Rico 35130.



Me and my wife bought a one week unspecified last-minute cheapo trip with no board to Gran Canaria, well aware that we might end up on a fleabag-hotel. We were positively surprised to get to stay on a 4*-hotel at first, the Altamar Aparthotel. More on this in a differrent review at TripAdvisor.


After four days at the Altamar we were however moved to Portosol Apartment hotel, a 2*-hotel that I afterwards had a hard time finding on the web as it wasn't readily listed. Apparantely our trip-agency uses hotels like these as a "last resort" for unspecified trip travellers. We stayed at this hotel for two and a half days before we left.

The Portosol is an apartment hotel where our room was on the 1st floor (2 floors total) next to a cliffside,
with narrow stairs and no lifts available. This hotel is probably not suitable for handicapped ppl or couples with children and/or baby carriages. Seems like cliffs are all they got in this area, there was about two meters between the hotel and the cliff in the rear.

The room was a two-room apartment with a nice combined pentry/main room, a bedroom and a bathroom with toilet and shower and a balcony of our own, with a table and two chairs, as seem to be the standard on most of the aparment hotels here.

The boiler in this apartment was barely 10 liters big, so showering requires some planning if more than one is to shower. The trick is to use a not so strong shower and set it slightly more than lukewarm as I figured out after a while. This way two persons can enjoy an approx four-minute shower that is warm.

The pentry featured a two-plate stove, a sink and a small fridge with a freezing compartment, including kitchen utensils: enough for self catering for two-three adults w/o children.

The beds were short even for me that only just about stand over 1,75m over the sea and featured a rather nice feather matrasses. No AC in the room or any other mode of cooling. The day it rained it wasn't very warm even outside, inside, it was literally freezing and I had to put on a t-shirt and socks during the night. The next day was warm and sunny and the room was rather nicely cool. Must be the nearby cliffwall.

There was no tv available in the room, although there were plenty of antenna outlets.

The cleaning staff cleaned up the room and made the beds etc before we were allowed to check in after the transfer from Altamar. They also came by the next day when it rained to put towels outside under the front doors, in order not to have the rain and the runoff flow into the appartments. Apparantely this is a problem whenever it rains there, as I noticed moisture stains on the floor ledges and door frames. I didn't see or hear the cleaning staff any more after that, during our stay, nor was our room cleaned. The garbage bin was small and rather ful after two days... Wasn't a big problem though.

The pool area was rather small and has some three or four free sunbeds available where the sun is most of the time. It doesn't come out until afternoon, so a better bet is the Puerto Rico beach.

The pool itself is not that big and was very cold. I could barely make a quick dip. The hotel complex is dividied in two parts and each have a pool and place for sunbeds.

The reception desk at the Portosol is manned all days between approx 0900-2000, and closes for an hour or so during the siesta. The staff was very helpful and patient with us when we wanted to know of a church or similar which had a mass or something for christmas. We learned that the closest "worshipping place" is probably the Templo Ecumenico at Playa Ingles and since it being so far away (approx one hours buss trip one way), we skipped it.

A Custom market with most of everything you need like food, booze, sun protection creams, snacks and bottled water (tap water not recommended for drinking), is nearby some 50m down a stair. As for other shops and restaurants those are located about 600m downhill, at that huge shopping center (SC). It features an all-restaurant floor, shops and supermarkets as well as a McDonald-restaurant close by, this is were we had our dinners and lunches respectively. The SC also has at least three ATMs available as I saw, probably more.

The Puerto Rico beach is located about 500m down a stair and bit of walking, approx 10min to and some 25min back to the hotel (it's uphill, a long winding stair and warm in the air, what can I say...). It's not very handicap friendly with a mimimum amount of ramps for wheel chairs or baby carriers. I don't need either myself, but it's worth mentioning. There's also a public toilet at the beach, which is clean and nice if a wee bit old and worn. It costs ,50€ per person and use. A dozen or so restaurants and take-aways are also available at the beach.

A bus station as well as taxis are available close to the beach. Dito pharmacy, a doctors consulting house and a tourist info center.

The traffic is rather heavy in the beach area, so watch your step. The traffic noise was not disturbing
in our room at the hotel, even though it was located at the end of a cul-de-sac where the buses and taxis used to turn around after dropping off new arrivals.

Near the Custom market down the stairs is a discotheke, but it was closed due to renovation. When this is done and they reopen the noise levels may increase.

There are feral/stray cats all over this area in general and in the hotel's open areas as well. It's recommended to *not* under any circumstances feed them, even if they look oh-so-cute. They are considered pests and should be dealt with as such. Not to mention the diseases and parasites they carry. Watch out if you have children along. For all we know the cats could be carrying rabies...

There were no active building sites in the vicinity when we were there, 2005-12-21 - 2005-12-28, as Puerto Rico is already developed and setup for tourists, so no disturbing noises, although the general area seems to be under heavy development with half-finished hotels and stuff. Nothing really close though.

Overall me and my wife were mostly satisfied with this hotel as most of everything that's needed was available nearby or not too far away, ie only a short walk. As this was an unspecified cheapo trip and certain conditions applied, we were quite happy with it. After all we spent four days at a 4*-hotel and only two and half at a hotel with lower standards. We're happy with that. We basically only spent time in the room for breakfast, after-sun shower, siesta as appropriate, freshing up before dinner down-town and sleeping for the night.

The only thing we did not like were our drunk neighbours that one night came back at about three in the morning and banged on their room mate's door to open up. There were apparently three or four ppl sharing one apartment, and had only one key(...). The guy who had the key either came later than the ones that wanted in, or was so drunk he slept through all the racket. The guy outside actually kicked the door for something that felt like an hour and kept shouting "open the ¤%#! door" in norwegian. Next day when we checked out, as we were to leave for home, we overheard the travel agent and the receptionist discussing who was to pay for a beaten and kicked up door and door frame. Helpful as we were we told our story (the above) to a thankful travel agent who was to look into the matter and any compensation the drunkards were to pay for. Granted, it was smallminded by me, but very satisfying at the time. >>8->

As a finishing touch; just ignore the inverted bouncers, ie the bouncers that try to bounce you into their particular restaurant/shop/whatever. Don't even make eye contact, just ignore them. 8-)


  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VFR-Adrian_vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hallberg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank 334gittep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anayumi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ankrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Balcon de Amadores Apartments
Balcon de Amadores Apartments
#55 of 68 in Puerto Rico
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#27 of 68 in Puerto Rico
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puerto Bello Apartments
Puerto Bello Apartments
#48 of 68 in Puerto Rico
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Mayaguez
Apartamentos Mayaguez
#16 of 52 in Puerto Rico
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Miami Sun
Apartamentos Miami Sun
#29 of 52 in Puerto Rico
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portosol

Address: CL Fuerteventura 15 , S/N, 35000 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Hotel Class:2 star — Portosol 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portosol Hotel Puerto Rico
Portosol Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing