We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!!”
Review of Hotel Altamadores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Altamadores
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

After booking this holiday due to reading last years reviews i thought it only appropriate to write a review myself
Family of four kids age 9&13 spent 2 weeks at altamdores returned 16/8/12
Rooms spacious fan in bedroom at and lounge area where kids sleep fans adequate to keep room cool if left on
Shower in bathroom powerful (no bath if that is preferred)
Food is very good with plenty of choice various themed night bar,b,q,chinese,italian,canarian pan asian and mixed buffet,always chips,chicken nuggest or fish fingers for kids,plenty of salad choice
paul gateshed
All drinks are self service alcoholic,soft drinks and spirits which in my opinion works great
slush machine is on a cuple of times a day (lovely)
Pool is big enough for size of hotel normally most beds taken by 9am
Entertainment on a daytime is killer pool, water polo,football,basketball and table tennis must not forget BINGO!
Nightime varies from singers, magicians,acrobats and hypnotist which was very funny (PETOR) also quizs and bingo
Jamie who sorts out entertainment does a very good job and never puts pressure on anyone to join in with activities
Absolutely had an excellent holiday and met some great people especially mark and paul (must not forget ole lol)
Yes this hotel is on a hill but taxis are cheap
Big question would i stay here again absolutely YES, this was exellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    256
    110
    42
    18
See reviews for
359
328
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent 12 nights at the Altamadores, where we had stayed previously.

Food in the traditional all inclusive buffet style and with small choice but usually the food was of a higher than normal standard for this type of hotel and was more than adequete, only one night in our stay when it was a "Mixed Buffet" were we struggling to make a decent meal, but the rest of the food was good, guys always out checking, filling up and cleaning.

Entertainment was good with Jamie the entertainment "guy/co-ordinator!" and the shows were of the usual holiday fare but all rotated so you didn't see the same show twice, Chris Mooneys rock show was the highlight of the shows for myself. Major thing for us was a lack of a childrens mini club during the day, which when we booked there was one but the area for the mini club was changed into one of those fish foot therapy places when we got there, which was disappointing.

Drinks were all self service which for all inclusive is strange but a welcome change from queueing for drinks, in other hotels in which we have stayed.

Issues with the pool area where people were leaving towels on Sun loungers overnight so nobody could get near them the next day but the hotel recified this within the first 2 days of our stay. Pools were decent size and the kids enjoyed it.

The rooms were cleaned every 2nd day and towels changed, ceiling fans were in the one bedroom and living area, but in the heat of the Canaries, Airconditioning is something the hotel needs to look at, to get a decent night's sleep as we still had to sleep with the doors open with the fans on!

Staff were all helpful and friendly, absolutely no issues with this hotel, its location is a bit out of the way from the "biz", but we knew this and being all-inclusive we didnt have to leave but it was only 5E in a taxi to Puerto Rico, which isn't any where as busy as it has been in years gone by, but had a couple of meals in two different resteraunts and as a family we couldn't justify going self catering again.

All in all the Altamadores is a hotel where I would not be disappointed to return to. Very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jmaclean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Altamadores (16/08/2012). The holiday was excellent and could not fault any aspect.
Rooms had kitchenette which was a huge advantage (take your own kettle if you want to make a cup of tea) . Beds very comfortable, large bathroom with walkin shower and hairdryer. On the lower level apartments, sun beds were supplied along with table and chairs. Only table and chairs on the upper levels but all came with clothes airer.
Not disappointed in the food (as some reviews suggested) as my wife who is extremely fussy, found something at every mealtime. Full English breakfasts along with continental. For lunch, there were salads, meats, fish and rice or pasta dishes, even a toastie machine. Dinner had a different theme every night, ranging from BBQ, Chinese to Italian.
Restaurant could benefit from having air conditioning, as some evenings it was extremely hot.
All drinks were self service, including alcholic.
Good size pool area, with plenty of sunbeds, but with all hotels, its advisible to put your towel out when going for breakfast.
Entertainment was run by Jamie (top man), daytime was "killer" pool, waterpolo, football, table tennis and BINGO (get your dabbers out!!!)
Evening entertainment started with a fun quiz, followed by an act then BINGO which was very popular. Especially enjoyed the hypnotist (awsome night).
Taxis are cheap, which makes getting around much easier as the hotel is situated ontop of a hill.
Overall, the Altamadores was a great place to stay, met some lovely people (Paul and Paul) and had a superb holiday, therefore would highly recommend.
Mark

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just gotten back from a weeks stay here and I must say we did not want to leave at all.
As with any holiday when we read the reviews we were a bit nervous but we were not disappointed at all!
When we arrived we were booked into our room. It was brand new! Brand new kitchen! All the furniture! We even had brand new mattresses! It was perfect.
As for the food we again were not disappointed. For breakfast you had full English (sausage, fried and scrambled egg, bacon, beans etc) as well as pancakes, waffles, cereals and fruit. For lunch you had a good selection, everyday there was salad on offer as well as meat, fish, breads, rice, chips and burgers. Dinner had a different theme every night, they were BBQ, Chinese, pan Asian, Canadian and mixed buffet.
There was a self service bar for food which was nice and easy to use but I do prefer a normal bar.
The pool was always kept clean and there was a small child's pool. Sun loungers to get reserved quite early so it's a good job to put a towel on one at breakfast time.
Entertainment was run by Jamie who's a really nice funny guy. Every day there's sporting activities such as football, basketball, pool, darts, table tennis and water polo. As for the evening there's usually bingo, a quiz and an act.
The hotel itself is based on top of a hill and is a steep walk back up to the hotel from the beach. Most days we got a taxi, at only 2.80 euros you can't complain.
Overall altamadores is an amazing place and I only wish I could still be there. Any bad reviews on here are just being fussy as to me this place was faultless. I would advise to book here, you won't be disappointed :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharnie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

A group of 12 ages 15-73years have just got back from this hotel (03.08.12) The rooms are of good standard and very comfortable especially the 2 bed apartment that we shared with my family. The rooms all had hair driers and a fridge . Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis with towels being replaced when left on the bathroom floor. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Food was of a high standard with a variety of dishes to suit everyone's need, (chicken nuggets, pizza and pasta dishes available for children if they wish). Chinese and Barbie night are highly recommended. Several of our group got involved with the variety of activities that Jamie the entertainment guy was promoting. The best thing I found was that you did not have to get up at the crack of dawn to get a sun bed. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and the pool is open till 9.30pm. The self service bar is a great idea and prevented cuing for drinks.. Evening entertainment is generally good especially Peter the Hypnotist this gave our group some good laughs and great memories. The laundrette (available for 3 euros) enables us to wash towels so helps reduce luggage weight. The hotel is perched on the top of a hill (seems like a mountain) with great views of the bay of Altamadores. Getting around generally ment hiring a taxi (between 4-5 euro) although with 12 in the group this proved expensive costing 30 euro everytime we went into Puerto Rico, having said that this was an optional excursion that we only made 3 times during our two week stay. Overall a fantastic holiday that has encouraged us to book again for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

me and the good lady returned on the 8th august 2012 after spending 11 nights here. we were also here in february of this year for 7 nights.

going by some peoples reviews, i think they expect a red carpet to be rolled out for them.

this review should really clear everything up.

1. i have read about cockroaches...........guys, yous will only get them in your room if yous leave doors / windows etc open, just like if you were to stay anywere else, so its pretty simple.

2. no air con...........................yet again i see people saying no air-con etc, theres 2 massive fans, one in bedroom and in living area, you are giving a key card to get in and out of your apartment, this also acts as your electricity card kinda thing, so its kinda simple, put it in the slot in the apartment and leave the fans on, its not costing you any extra, once you leave them on your room will be cool.

3. the food...................... people say about flies being about. look, yous are going to a country were the heat is incredible, of course you are going to get flies about, but not at the extreme that some of yous mention, yous act as tho yous are attacked by swarms, its just like back home on a warm day in britain, youl get the odd fly annoying you, it happens!
also, reports of cold food, guys, if yous go for your dinner say at 8.30 / 9pm when dinner finishes at 9.30, of course there not going to be bringing as much through then as they would be earlier on in the day, but the food is ALWAYS warm enough.

4. the food again..................like i said, this is our second time in this hotel, and it happens to be our 2nd time this year as we enjoyed it that much, but the food really is outstanding. they have something for everyone, so dont be put off by the negatives that people post on here about it. i ate like a king for our duration there, 7 big bits of steak for LUNCH!!!!! things like that, even at breakfast, i bet when yous go abroad yous want the full fry up, but theres always something missing, our proper sausages, ad proper bacon, well the buffect breakfast had proper sausages, our kind of sausages, not the hot dog kind, aswell as big massive bits of back bacon.
also try there seafood dishes, squid rings etc, canarian pasta dishes, they really are outstanding.

5. the bar.................i mastered to pour the perfect pint in my time there ha! well proud of myself, but also made up the odd cocktail for the mrs. just go up, pick up a glass, and pour whatever the hell you like. really is great. and the beer is good.

6. jamie......................the guy deserves a bit on his own here, hes great with the kids for all yous with a young family, aswell as hes great with the adults at nights. ive bn to alot of hotels all over europe, and the entertainment provided by jamie is second to none. dont be put off with the hotel being up the hill, the kids will always be occupied with jamie. he has crossbar challenges, 5 a side, killer pool, to quiz nights, bingo, karaoke, aswell as drinking games.

also there was a hypnotist show one night, it was that good, all the chefs were running out, the staff in reception and everything, coming up to see this, it was easily the best i have ever been to. it was an absolute scream, i have never laughed so hard in all my life.

7. distance to amadores beach.........................guys, please do not be put off by the hotels location. yes its up a hill, but dont be put off. downhill its 5-10 mins walk to beach, back up is 15-20 mins. taxi is only 3 euro aswell. i found the walk excellent. with eating all the good food, and the all inclusive pour your own drink bar, the walked helped keep the weight off ha. also, from amadores beach, if you want to go to puerto rico beach, its a ten minute walk along the coastal walk, so all in all its 20-25 mins walk from altamadores hotel, to puerto rico beach.

8. rooms...................the rooms are spacious, clean, and nice. cleaner is supposed to come like every second day, but they kept coming near enough every day! they do an excellent job, and are really friendly.

me and my partner are in our 20's, but this place us suitable for all ages, and familys.

we will be returning here again next year, and the year after that and so on, you really cant beat this place, we liked it in february, and even more liked it this summer.

10 out of 10!

Room Tip: all the rooms are equally as good. you wont be disapointed with what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ianwjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

First off the room - a Lot of people say about the rooms here, we stayed in room 215, we booked a normal room but got given this, it was a studio room with a balcony and was the bomb! a balcony, new fridge, new bed, shower - looked amazing. imagine buying a fully furnished new studio apartment...it looked like that. a fan over the bed made up for no A/C so couldnt fault it. Some noise from the road but nothing majoy. Any room you want I would say go for either the 200's or the 400's all are the second floor and have private balcony's the 200's look over the beach, the 400's the next lvl up and some the pool and the other side the sea again.

The loacation is more Amadores beach. not puerto rice, but its just next door. a taxi to there cost us about 4 euros from the hotel to the harbour so nothing really. you can walk to amadores beach (sorry if spelt wrong) but going back is a taxi job, unless your fit and only around 2.40 euros.

The night entertainment is fun and good and the entertainment guy Jamie works really hard and makes it great fun. The food was great, some nights not amazing and bbq night could have done with burgers. My only niggle was breakfast, they give you waffles and pancakes. but not maple syrup or sause. also hash browns would have been nice, thats just me though.

I would always say even if all inclusive go out for one meal, the beach italians are nice and mondays a great day for that as jamie is off and the stand in guy with a guitar cleared the room.

For trips go to palmitos park, the dolphin show rocks! if you want to see dolphins go there rather than a boat trip. the boat trip lasted 2.5 hours and the dolphin show in my opinion was far better.

The self service bar was ok, although there was no cocktails so before you go learn how to make a few.

All in all great hotel though for the price. our room was brilliant and the entertainment kept us going every night. pool was great, staff were friendly. I would go again and we probably will.

Room Tip: 215 was the most modern room i have ever been in. otherwise 400's and 200's are a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#11 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#23 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamadores

Property: Hotel Altamadores
Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altamadores 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Altamadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing