We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Great Value, Family 3 star Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altamadores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Altamadores
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, Great Value, Family 3 star Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Been back just over a week from staying at the Altamadores for 14 very hot nights. Lovely friendly, great value all inclusive Hotel. Reception staff were very friendly at check in. We were given a map to find our room 211, second floor balcony room overlooking the lovely beach, road/mountain. I did request a high room however the room was on the second floor. 3rd floor rooms are far nicer and some have a view of both the pool and beach and are closer to the restaurant/bar and entertainment, which all happen in the same place! Our room was very clean, well maintained we had been left a welcome bottle of free water and washing up liquid which I thought was a nice touch. The kitchen was fully functional. Overall the room was very nice. The shower was the best shower I have ever had in a room abroad, the water actually stayed in the shower not all over the floor!! Only problem was that the room was so hot!!! The fans helped a little, however air conditioning is a must in 40 degree heat, we never stopped sweating when in the room, hard to sleep, even with the patio doors open. The restaurant served very nice food always something for everybody even my fussy son! We loved barbecue night meat feast..yum yum!! The sweets were a little boring lots of jelly, ice cream, fruit and soft cakes. Good for the kids but i could have killed for a nice wholesome cake!! Loved the self service drinks great idea and nobody abused this. However i believe the bar was shut too early at 11pm and therefore the entertainment too. No big ques at the restaurant but very hard to find a table outside sometimes as it was so hot and most people stayed on their table for the entertainment. Again the restaurant would benefit from having air conditioning if such high temperatures persist. The entertainment was ok we were programmed into Bingo twice a day and the enoying bingo song still rings in my ears!! Funny though, miss it in a weird way! Jamie, a very nice man, tries his best to entertain the troops with waterpolo, killer pool etc At night the entertainment was more for children,. However the hotel would benefit from a kids club especially during school holidays. Then Jamie could concentrate on the adults. The pool area was lovely but make sure you get up at 7am to reserve beds as they are all gone by 9am. The pool was very nice however got a little busy with lilos, kids as it was very hot!! The location of the hotel is very scenic with lovely views, however very high up and bars and night life higher up or lower down for the beach. Taxis are a must so take extra for this. I was a little sad that after your meal you could not go for a stroll without needing oxygen!! Not for people with walking difficulties. All in all we loved our holiday at the Altamadores we met some lovely people and made good friends we would go back. Have a lovely holiday we did x

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms with balcony are very nice with easier access to all facilities and some have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2010TSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    245
    97
    38
    16
See reviews for
335
313
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.IRELAND
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

we landed at hotel about 330am checked in quick,but trying to find room was a bit like a maze,[but you soon get your bearings]we enjoy walking when away on holidays but this hotel is not in the location for much walking and you basically need taxi,s every where you go[the money adds up]the apartments are excellent,we was on the terrace which has 2 sunbeds table and 4 chairs.you are still quite private as only other guests who are beside you walk past,beds was comfortable,towels only changed every second day,shower could be better.also tv,s are free in all inclusive we have been at before.[not that we go on holiday to watch it anyway]the hotel must install proper airconditioning,as the fans they have are crap.if certain things was done to the apartments they would get at least a 9 out of 10.
the food well i must say you can always find something but glad i was only there a week as eating there for 2 weeks well no.we do usually eat out even when we are all inclusive a few times to break up the stay.i only drink beers which i found v good.again i think if the hotel change certain things in the restaurant-bar this would help improve.
the pool area had plenty of sun beds and we had no need to put towels out,think the hotel wasnt fully booked.my mrs had went to the happy feet place beside the pool and totally enjoyed it and said the girl that runs it is so nice[we met her and her partner out in a lovely people.]so if you want a pedicure etc thats the place to go.the entertainer didnt seem to be interested at all and you cant really class him as such.hes a bingo card seller because he doznt even read the numbers out.[well once]again with a better person who interacts more would help.
i had a good time and met a lovely welsh family ,also ian and carol.lots of other nice people as well.its a very relaxing place to stay at and if things changed i might one day return as the location not for us.any questions feel free to ask.ps safe is 20 euro but you get 10 back...also must say the staff was 5 star,always pleasant..

Room Tip: i didnt think i would enjoy being on terrace,but it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jockonireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Reception / staff OK very helpful. Any problems soon fixed / sorted. Location of hotel is OK. Rooms have fridge freezer, TV, microwave etc. Steady down hill walk to Amadores beach & Puerto Rico beach via seafront walk. Taxi needed back from Amadores beach. Europa Centre OK plenty of bars & restaurant, crazy golf with 19th hole bar. Taxi needed to centre but downhill walk back. Taxis 3 to 4 euros. Irish Cottage good bar / food at Amadores beach. Good bars / restaurants at Puerto Rico shopping centre. San Miguels, Royal Oak, Irish Kitchen and chinese buffet (v.good) 20 metres from Irish Kitchen. HipoDino supermarkets lot cheaper than Spar. (If you are self catering at Altamadores stock up with bags and walk into Puerto Rico shopping centre. Purchase all your essentials, spirits, beer, bread, orange, pop, crisps etc etc and get taxi back for 4 euro. You'll save pounds (euros) as Spar shop next to Altamadores is poor & very expensive. They only order 2 Daily Mirrors every day so if you want one get down for 08:00 and wait. Pool is OK, 4' 6'' deep no shallow end, and there are plenty of sunbeds & parasols. Beware sunbathing area when wet is very slippy. TV in rooms is 1 euro for 1 hour, BBC, Sky True Movies, Disney channel, Sky Sports etc. Two euro to watch premiership football in your own room is very reasonable. Remote for TV at reception on request. Breakfast is OK english tasting bacon, sausage, beans etc. eggs fried OK and scrambled also.Cereals, toast, cobs, pancakes, yoghurt, orange juice etc etc no problem. Dinner is OK hamburgers, baps, hot dogs, chicken burgers, tuna, nice fries, salad etc. Lager & sangria nice tasting, white & red wine OK, soft drinks & slushes fine, coffee nice. Day time kids club / entertainment v.good afternoon bingo, killer pool, pool football, etc. Night time entertainment v.good, bingo, picture quiz's and turn every night. Abba, Elvis tributes, parrot show, reptile show, hypnotist, magician etc etc
Now for the BAD, evening meal. What a let down! Two Chinsese chefs who couldn't cook chinese food. The theme nights plus all the rest was not good. Bland tasting curries, sweet & sour sauce that tasted of cheap ketchup, sickly bland Italian food with dry hard pizza. Who wants beef stew with sprouts and tinned mixed veg for their evening meal when its still 30 degrees? Veg soup & minestrone OK, chicken soup was fowl, sorry, foul!!! All desserts were bland, similar to that served at a chinese buffet but the ice creams were very nice. There are only 3 staff on shift at any time to clear / clean tables, maintain clean non slip floor area, manage the bar, prepare in between meal times and supervise the pool area etc etc all run on a shoe string. Also restaurant & entertainment complex are one and the same. Evening meal & entertainment ongoing at same time?
Now for the UGLY, the bar is self service which includes local spirits. At 10 to 11 every night people were filling pespi cartons full of vodka, whiskey etc to last them well into the morning, It was therefore very noisy every night with very drunken behaviour around the pool area going on until past 1 in the morning. Alcoholics paradise!!!! Swearing, loud laughing etc etc, What made it even worse was there being no air conditioning so you had to sleep with the windows open, no option. Ceiling fans poor. The other problem is there was no life guard, no one properly supervising the sun bathing area, bar area etc etc. At times it was bordering on anarchy. Every hotel rule was being broken, Kiddies running round the pool, slipping, falling screaming. People taking glasses back to the sunbed area resulting in glasses regularly getting smashed with glass all over. The hotel rule - You must not make noise after 11:45 went out of the window every night with people throwing each other in the pool fully clothed well into the early hours, each time to raptuous laughter / applause. If you are on level 4 & 5 and central as facing reception you are right on top of the noise. Level 3 is also v.close. The hotel was partly to blame for allowing people to easily obtain further excess strong alcohol at last orders every night. For the above bad / ugly reason I've marked the hotel down. Average 3 star all inclusive evening meal, no air conditioning, poor bar & pool supervision and late night noise to blame. All is not good at the Altamadores!
On a final point for any animal / cat lovers out there who will be visiting in the future. There is resident female tabby cat that hangs around level 4 & 5 near to the tennis / football court overlooking the kiddies play area. We named her Sam, she is very friendly when she gains your trust. We saved her all our meat scraps morning, dinner & tea and left her clean water in a cut down pepsi cola carton.

Room Tip: The Altamadores has 5 levels. As stood outside facing Reception......Levels 1 & 2 are left hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blade59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Good friendly family feel hotel. We were there 18 august to 1 september It was very hot and we had a calima when we were there, i was glad we asked for a room on the top floor so that we could leave the patio door and window open on a night, we had the fan going all night and it was still hot and found it hard to sleep, but the beds were very comfy. The top floor rooms have a smaller balcony and no sunbeds but they are more private and have a table and chairs. Food was ok, cheese and ham on the same tray is not a good idea, especially for vegetarians! if you like meat it was really good, some nice pasta and rice dishes, the mushroom risotto was lovely, and the squid was delicious, the soup was quite tasteless though, i found that with a lot of the dishes that there wasn't much flavour, i think the mixed buffet night (fridays) was the worst night, i found it hard to find much to eat. There was always plenty of salad, and always 3 different ice creams, cake, melon and fresh fruit, but all in all you get what you pay for, if you were s/c you would spend far more money on drinks and food in the restaurants at the beach, about 80 euros for a meal for a family of 4 with drinks. so the hotel is brilliant value for money really.

Bar was brilliant, if you ask the nice man behind the bar he will show you how to make a cocktail. all the staff were brilliant, friendly and hardworking. Pool area very clean, (apart from the day that someone had a dump in the pool) lol and we all had to get out so it could be cleaned!!! the floor is boiling hot though, and very slippy, stick to the white tiles, they are cooler that the orange ones.

The area is beautiful, we walked up the hill once at night, big mistake!!! it wouldnt be bad if it wasnt so hot but in the intense heat (even at night) it was tough going, and was only 2.50 in a taxi, but the walk down to the beach takes about 10 mins and is lovely with amazing views, then you can walk into puerto rico on the walkway at the front which takes about 20 mins. beach is beautiful in amadores, parasols are 3 euros but worth every cent, we found that the left hand side of the beach was better because the drop into the sea wasnt as severe on that side, in the middle it just drops. on the right hand side of the beach is a park and an 18 hole crazy golf course, it costs 4.50 for adults and 3 euros for kids. we played one night was good fun. we ate out one night on amadores beach at the monaco steak house, was a lovely meal and the staff were brill. if you go ask Alex to make you a rose out of a napkin!! Mogan is a nice day out, we got the ferry from Puerto rico harbour, costs 10 euros for adults and 6 for kids return, go on Fridays when its market day, go early though as the market closes mid afternoon. the anfi and holiday club touts drove me round the bend, they put you off walking anywhere in puerto rico, i got totally sick and tired of them. they are even in amadores now on the way to the beach!

When i read previous reviews i thought that at 11pm it would be in darkness and quiet but that isnt the case, you can get a couple in and sit around outside the bar area, or you can put them in plastic glasses and take them to your rooms and drink on the balcony, our room overlooked the pool (520) and we could still hear all the chattering and laughing after midnight most nights. the only thing that spoilt it for me was that all the entertainment is inside, it was too hot to sit inside and you had to be down quite early to get a table outside, all shows start at 9pm but food is served until 9.30pm so it wasnt very nice if you are eating inside and there is a show going on with parrots and snakes and birds flapping about. so it was either sit inside, see the show but sit and boil or sit outside where it is a bit cooler but then you couldnt see anything!! unless you got a table in front of the window, but you have to be down about 6.30pm to get one. its a very odd arrangement and that was the only thing that spoilt it for me really. but we had a great holiday. hope this review helps, have a great time!!

Room Tip: Top floor, so you can leave door open on a night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne24Lufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

just got back 27/08/12 great hotel not any good for people with walking difficulties, food is plentiful and a good variety, the help yourself drinks is great .no queues at all. The daytime entertainment was good but dissappointed that the bar and entertainment finished at 11pm. the rooms are adequate BUT no air con and we struggled with the heat as we could not leave our doors or windows open as we were on the walkway. puerto rico is only a taxi away and it costs 3.50 euros each way. the thomas cook rep was great and very helpful (perry). would definatly recommend this but be aware of the time of year due to no air con. if the altamondores did have air con it would be a higher star rated

Room Tip: one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Myself and my partner had a lovely holiday here and would go back.

Brilliant value for money

We went the 2nd Week in august and had a great time.

1. The food – Is lovely different selection every night Chinese night, BBQ night and Spanish night. The food was always hot and plenty of choice.

2. The place was so clean – Apartments and towels changed all the time.

3. The location was high up but you can walk down to the beach and taxi back up is only a couple of Euros.

4. Drinks – You just help yourself so no waiting at the bar to be served.

5. No air con but if you leave the fans on during the day the room is cool when you come in.

After the 7 days I didn’t want to come home.. Just lovely and relaxing sitting around the pool

Room Tip: We stayed in room 511 Good view and nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I've just got back from staying at this hotel, I had a brilliant holiday the food was amazing and I'm such a fussy eater the BBQ and Chinese nights were my favourite even for breakfast I always found something I liked to eat, the rooms were spotless and were cleaned on a regular basis, the only negative thing I can say on this hotel is there's no air conditioning in the rooms just a fan in living area and in the bedroom we had to leave patio doors open because it was that warm but if you stay on lower levels you wouldn't be able to leave doors open, entertainment at night was really good we all enjoyed playing the bingo and the abba tribute was good as well during the day there was always something going on like water polo and football nothing for the little kids to do though overall I really enjoyed this hotel would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#20 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamadores

Property: Hotel Altamadores
Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altamadores 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Altamadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing