We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty is the best policy.”
Review of Hotel Altamadores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Altamadores
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honesty is the best policy.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I always look on here upon booking a holiday, And I know myself you always get the moaners, but what I will say is the truth. After booking a holiday here I couldn't wait to get there as hotel on photos looks wonderful, And the majority of the views I have read are also good too. For a start I never book anything below four star BUT after seeing photos of this hotel it looked a 4 star standard although it was only a three. There is no air conditioning throughout the hotel which you really do need there was two fans one in the living room one in the bedroom which obviously just circulated the warm air. The sheets didn't get changed our whole stay and the towels were only changed once which to me is unhygienic. Under the beds (in the bedroom) were rolling in dust couldn't of been cleaned in weeks! found tablets under the bed that had obviously been there from the previous holiday makers. I didn't expect to share my hotel room which cockroaches and ants. If you are going with children don't bother.. there is hardly any entertainment for them just the swimming pool ! there is no comfortable chairs to sit on daytime or evening I felt as though I was back at school in the canteen, plastic chairs! You can hire the air condition units for 50 euro per seven days which when you book all inclusive you expect to have air conditioned facilities. food... morning and night time luke warm average quality one night where food was enjoyable was the Chinese night the rest was CRAP!!!! Although I personally don't go on a holiday to watch tv based on the fact that again you pay for all inclusive you have to pay for the tv to even turn on. very dated hotel could do with kim and aggie and a revamp. all in all my rating is a 2*. please take my review on board to avoid disappointment! Jamie G is the only good thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    257
    111
    44
    18
See reviews for
368
330
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

returned back home on the 28th September after staying for 2 weeks all inclusive. first of all what a great host Jamie g is the guy was brilliant , tried his best to get everyone involved and I think that is what made the holiday so enjoyable. The food was great with something there for everybody, the staff behind the bar did a great job too and were so helpful and friendly. Our room was up above the basketball court , it was clean, comfortable and had a great view. We met some really nice people and enjoyed their company, we hope to go back the same time next year and hopefully the rest of the gang can make it too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbubbatheroadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just back on the 26th September after staying for a week all inclusive. Food was good plentiful and there was always something you enjoyed. Themed nights every night from Chinese, Barbeque, Italian, etc. This property is only 3 stars but it was well worth the money we paid. There were only the two of us, we had a large room with sitting room, kitchenette, toilet with shower no bath, and large bedroom with plenty of storage, tv on pay as you go, but we never came on holiday to watch tv. The drink side of things were fantastic you helped yourself to beer, wine, spirits and soft drinks and you didn't have the problem of having to wait to be served, you also never had the problem of some hotels where you had to wait your turn for a drink while someone waited for a coffee. The coffee/tea were seperate from the bar and available all day, well till 11.00pm which was long enough. If you wanted more you could always go out, where dependant on where you went prices were reasonable.
The pool area and sunbeds were very relaxing pool was quite cool for the time of year but i still enjoyed it. Sunbeds were plentiful but i was informed that earlier in the year this was not so.But all i was concerned with was the here and now and will be back especially at this time of year, one of the most relaxing holidays i have had as both myself and my wife really enjoyed ourselves. It is the first all inclusive holiday i have been on and thats quite a lot, that i have stayed in most nights as the entertainment was as good as any i have seen outside, during the day Jamie the entertainment guy organised various pool side games from, pool, darts, basketball, football, tabletennis and quizes, there was also music being played from 11.00 am which we really enjoyed as it was our taste in music, it wasn't to loud either. Overall we rated this hotel highly, we have stayed in Puerto Rico before in 4 star accommodation and would rate this hotel alongside them especially the entertainment. We will come back maybe with the grand kids as i think they would enjoy it as well.

Brian & Kate ( Balloch, Scotland. )

Room Tip: as there were only 90 rooms i believe all of them were as good as the other dependant on what you we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Came back on 13th September after staying here all inclusive for 2 weeks. The food was ok but was repeated too often, the beds were the comfiest i have ever slept in on any holiday i have had abroad, we were in room 407 which was handy for everything and gave you a lovely view over the beach at Amadores. We travelled as a couple but had friends with their young son staying holidaying here also, the entertainment was good some nights and not so good other's, we taxied in to Puerto Rico a good few time's over the 2 weeks as the football was on and the hotel didn't show it, having a footie mad hubby this didn't go down too well lol. We met some really lovely people while ther and i would return, the only downside to this is the bar, it shuts dead on 11 and your almost ordered to go to bed then, i feel it should be open after that for customers who wouldn't mind paying for drinks once the all incluvise curfew looms. There was supposed to be cake's ect between 5 and 6, i was there 2 weeks and never saw these cake's. Jamie G does a good job entertaining the guests and Arianna in the happy feet salon was lovely as well. Our room was cleaned every day except for sunday and tuesday's and our cleaner was lovely, she was hugging me for dear life the day we went home which i thought was lovely. You can hire air con from reception but the ceiling fans did the job at night. All in all we had a great holiday here and although not planning to go back next year we will deffo go back at sometime in the near future,,,,,,,ps, only saw 5 cockroaches the whole time i was there which is a plus :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Befor i start this will be a very long review as i really would like to cover everything i can possibly think off lol so here goes.....4th time we have visited Gran Canaria but are first time as a family for 2 weeks and all inclusive at the Altamadores.
First i will start with the arrival, this was very straight forward and very fast but the map they hand you looks very daunting as its just a penciled in line indercating your room number. We did get lost but a very nice couple helped us on are way. We stopped in room 425 which was not so far away from the pool and eating area and the views were fantastic. Are appartment was very large and to be fair i would have prefered a smaller one as there was familys with more children and they found it a struggle in the smaller appartments. There was only myself partner and 4 year old son and i just found the appartment way to big for us. The hotel was fully booked so no move was avalible. The living area and kitenette was lovely and the kitchen provided all pots..pans etc nice to have a fridge/freazer microwave..toster also a coffee machine. The only item missing was a kettle and i really think the hotel should start to provide these, i love a cup off coffee as soon as i awake and had to boil water in a pan to achieve this which was fine but i did miss a kettle. TV also is provided but euros needed my son loved having the tv. The bedroom was very large to with very good size wardrobes and plenty off space and yes the beds are very comfortable they have memory foam mattresses to. I did have to request more pillows tho as 1 per person is just not enough but i just asked the cleaner and this was sorted in a few hrs. The only issue i had was no proper bed for my 4 year old son there was no way i was letting him sleep in the lounge on a settee so he slept with us for 2 whole weeks but near the end off are holiday someone told me you could request a camp bed which if i had kown previous i would have done this. Now the bathroom was the only room i didnt rate yes again it was big but it really did need a good clean, the tiles were very dirty and the shower tiles had alot off mould and the shower curtain was abit minging to..the claener did clean as i watched her one day but it needed a really good clean lol. The shower was very powerfull but i really think there should be a fan in that room to it was awful coming out the shower because theres no windows and its just to warm it made me feel sick trying to try my hair in there(hairdryer also provied) and also no bath but we knew this and it didnt bother us but if you have young children who like the bath this may be a problem. The ceiling fans were fine kept you cool at night but living room was abit slow on the move but bedroom was fine and no need to hire air con. Air con was 50 euros per week to hire.All windows had blacked out curtains to which really helped in the day. Safe was very good to not nothing cheap this cost 30 euros and you get 10 back on departure. Last thing is the Terraced which again was very large and we had table chairs and 2 sunbeds.

The pool was very nice but as we went in august very busy with all the children but there was always plenty off sunbeds no mad rush at all. Nice small pool for the kiddies to. Sun is around this pool all day long so was very hot. 2 lots off toilets which was kept very clean at all times. The happy feet shop was fantastic lots off bits and bobs you can buy also the swap box is just a brill idea we used it near the end off the holiday as i didnt want to buy more sun cream, you just swap your item for another. Andreanna is lovely to.
Now for the food i found the food to be very good for all inclusive yes it did get reppeative but there was plenty and for all those people who say its rubbish and disscusting you are just so wrong. We managed 2 weeks on the food without any problems and deserts are fab. There is 3 themed nights per week bbq..chinese and canaria night we found chinese to be the best and im sorry but the bbq was not all that, ive read so many reviews on here saying bbq night is the best but i woulnt agree, it was just 3 items bbq chicken legs..spareribs and steak and that was it. The drinks are fine and there is a good selection off spirits ...local beer.. red/white wine also sangaria also lots off pop. i did read on a review all drinks are served in plastic cups this is not the case but i would advice you to keep hold off your glass as they do get low,if you want top branded stuff you do have to pay. Meals start with breckfast 8 till 10.30...Lunch 12 till 4.30 and your evening meal 6 till 9.30 there should have been cake and tea at 4.30 but we never seen this happen once in 2 weeks and your self service drinks start from 11am till 11pm and they stopped this on the dot. But i was very impressed with the staff in the eating area they work long hrs and food is coming out constant they just dont stop at all eveywhere always clean and tidyand they are all very friendly.
Jamie G does a great job and he works hard to gets everyone involved but hes not pushy. Day time activities include killer pool..killer darts..water polo..and the brill pool side quiz night time we have bingo and other quizzes and the entertainment was really good.
Thats about it really becase im not going to talk about outside the hotel lol but i will mention to all the people who moan how far up the hill it is maybe next time you book a holiday read up on reviews and you will no this the amount off people that moaned about this while we was there was unreal.

The best bits with this holiday was the people we met, we met so meny and they was all lovely first hotel we have ever encounted such friendly and helpfull people and they was not all english to which was nice. Made some really good friends who we will stay intorch with.

The bad bits were really the reception staff were quite miserable didnt really smile alot. And i think they should have a snack bar my son eats crips everyday and no snacks were avliable. Also the bar shuts at 11 so after this no drinks are avliable we did stock up befor 11 and also brought drinks from the shop on site but 11 oclock we found it abit to early to go back home and thought it would have been better to have the bar open till 12 with the option of paying, yes we no its a family resort but come on we are on holiday.

We enjoyed every minite and would defo go back at some point and im sorry for the long review lol

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarahdarrensamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Myself and partner stayed for a week here from 12th -19th sep. Our room was massive best room ive stayed in. If u were goin sc it wud b perfect as plenty of facilities. We were right up the back of the hotel which was good as we had an amazing view but we could still hear the entertainment at a nice level whilst still having some privacy. Everyone in he hotel is very trusting and lots of people that have returned time and time again. They all left their room doors open during the day which i thought was great as they clearly trust each other. Maids in almost every day. The entertainment was top notch in this hotel jamie g does an incredible job. His quizzes r the best as he makes them himself and it gets everyone involved. There was a different show on each night. All of which we really enjoyed. I can really say its the best entertainment ive seen in a hotel. This takes place in the main eating bit. Some people complain about this but i quite enjoy eating whilst watching a show. He does daytime entertainment aswell such as snooker basketball.water volleyball and quizzes. Again plenty to keep u entertained during the day. In the resturaunt the staff r brilliant and are constantly cleaning up at everyones back. U never see a plate lying around. The food was good however towards the end of the week i found it a bit repetative. Altho there was always something to eat. U can have toasties as a snack but only till after lunch. We did at times wish that there wudve been snacks available towards the end of the night. As if uve had ur dinner early u can get a bit hungry later. We did however buy crisps etc from he shop nxt door which is quite reasonably priced for food and alcohol. The self service bar was great but i myself like cocktails on holiday and found myself drinking the same thing everynite as there was a cocktail menu. I did try other drinks and they were nice but jst not things i wud drink. The irish cream is jst as nice as baileys and the honey rum is the equvalent to southern comfort. My other half loved all these and the beer which u cud help urself to. The hotel is a bit out the way of everything. I didnt like amadores as a resort as there isnt much to do. Everywhere is very hilly and its ok for walking down but in the heat quite hard cumin back up. We like walking so this didnt bother us too much however we r used to havin a resort with a main bit with bars resturaunts n shops. We were 20 mins walk either way to the beach or europa centre from the hotel. Taxis can b used and only cost a couple of euros each way. The main part of puerto rico is 5euro in a taxi a few mins down he road but if u want to walk like we did a few times it takes Bout an hour or so. 2 different ways u can go both nice views but both very hilly. The main shopping centre in puerto rico is quite good most of the bars n clubs shut during the day so eating places n shops n at nite its great for night life. A gd few irish celitc pubs which is popluar with scottish n irish. Another great place was riders we went on the monday and there was a male strip show then a woman on afterwards. Its quite expensive for drinks however most places have specials on u jst have to ask. On a whole i loved my holiday but think i would maybe stay elsewhere in vran canaria with a bit more to do. Would stay at the hotel again tho jst for the entertainment factor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Came here for a week, all inclusive and couldn't fault one thing! Brilliant food, different themed nights each night e.g, Chinese buffet, BBQ, Italian etc... Everything was lovely & I'm a fussy eater too! I even saw the chef come out to one lady, who told him her dietary requirements, and he even made her something she would like. The entertainment was fantastic, each night was something different which ran over a two week rota... Parrot/reptile shows, circus night, quizzes, tribute acts, hypnotist and loads more. In the day, they had entertainment from 2pm which included water polo, basketball, killer pool & lots more to keep you busy. Drinks was help yourself, here's your chance to learn to pull the perfect pint :-) all drinks was nice & actually drinkable with soft drinks being Pepsi, 7up & all popular brands! Supermarket is literally right next to the hotel which is perfect for when you've forgotten something... Or if the hotels "swap box" hasn't got what you was looking for. Everywhere is kept clean and tidy, all the staff are very hard working & lovely people. The beach is about 10 mins walk (in flip flops) down hill, so would recommend a taxi back up as you are on holiday to relax after all. And to top this hotel off, the beds was actually comfy!!! Very rare to find I think! Overall we had a brilliant time here and can't believe how much you get for your money with this hotel! Absolute bargain! Ignore any bad reviews & get it booked!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx789xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamadores

Property: Hotel Altamadores
Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altamadores 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altamadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing