We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Hotel, Staff and Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Heysham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel, Staff and Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My Fiancee and myself stayed here at the beginning of September 2010. We booked through Thomson/First Choice and were very impressed from the off. Upon arrival at the Hotel we had a swift check in at the Reception where we were greeted by pleasent staff and handed a glass of sparkling wine each which was most welcome considering the heat in Amadores.

We stopped in room 1203 which was exceptionally quiet being in the third block away from the main area which was great and again very welcome. The room was imaculate and had a fantastic view looking out over Amadores Bay. The air con kept the room chilled throughout the stay which again was welcome coming back to the room after a hot day in the sun to cool off.

The food was fantastic from breakfast and having freshly made pancakes through to lunch and dinner. There is a dress code in the resturant at night with no open toe sandals and gents to wear long trousers. This was mainly adhered to and very welcome to see dress codes in resort whilst eating in the evening. The waiters and waitresses are also very pleasent. The location of the resturant offers great views again over the Bay.

The pool area is great and there is no mad rush to secure your sunbeds. There are notices up stating not to place your towels on the sunbeds and then clear off for the day and again this is mostly adhered to. The infinity pool is just amazing you can swim out and then just gaze over the bay for long periods of time. There is a small childrens area at the side which is very well run and the children who arrive at the resort are very well behaved. It is mainly an adults hotel though.

I throughly recommend everything about this hotel and have only scratched the surface in this review. We will be returning here again in the future though this year we are off to the Carribean with it being our honeymoon. This hotel exceeds its 4 star rating. Well done and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heyshamtowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,707
    478
    122
    31
    13
See reviews for
677
1,263
63
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Wonderfull Hotel and fantastic location, rooms were large and bathroom also. Our balcony overlooked Amadores Beach with great views of the sea. 15 min walk into Puerto Rico where you can find a number of different shops, restaurants and pubs. Food in the hotel was great with a really good selection and always tasted nice . Hotel room was cleaned everyday hotel overall was well maintained would highly reccommend for a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGalloway1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

4th visit since there is no need to improve on perfection. Guaranteed weather something to eat for even the fussiest they seem to cater well for children and the entertainment is good varied content each week. Views are spectacular even secluded nudist bathing is thats your thing. House singer Fina is excellent and there is a great atmosphere in the lounge in the evenings as a result. Much improved on recent years more professional introductions from the animation team . Only criticism is they ask for your details each trip but dont acknowledge you are a returning guest. Highly recommended to all. We'll be back..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marjsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Check in was faultless and quick and receptionist was exceptionally friendly. Our luggage was taken to our rooms and we were greated with Champagne on checkin.

The rooms are a great size, plenty of space and small kitchenette with microwave, minifridge, coffee maker and plates, cups, cutlery and a sink. Bathrooms are lovely with a separate bath and shower. Bathrobes are also in the rooms. Beds are hugh and comfortable. Lots of wardrobe space and safety deposit for rental. Balcony is massive also and delightful in the evening.

The pools are very nice, we spent most of our time at the top pool as it was less busy and the beds are more comfy than the main pool. Not overcrowded and has a bar also. The pool is very nice on this level.

The main pool is the infinity pool and gets quiet busy, but is a lovely pool also. My main problem was people leaving out towels from 7am and by 10am they are pretty much taken. Although this is not the fault of the hotel it is purely down to the travelling, i do think the hotel could do a bit more about it to stop people. It is the 1st hotel I have been to that this was a bit of a problem. Saying that we did enjoy the other pool more.

The food is good and has varietly but like other comments I do agree it gets a bit monotonous after a few days. We were on half board and exchanged evening meals for lunch. The breakfast are ideal and the choice is excellant, lunch salads are gorgeous. I do think you should be able to get complimentary water though at lunch and dinner as you can get juice, water, and cava at breakfast. Just a tiny gripe.

The beach is fabulous and has some very nice restaurants if you want lunch or venture down for dinner in the evening.

The view from the hotel is fabulous and the evening entertainment is sufficient if you fancy it.

We met 1 rude person in the hotel, she was a receptionist, but apart from her the staff were most friendly and efficient and I could not fault them at all.

Our overall experience at the Gloria Palace Royal was very very enjoyable, we loved it and will definitely hope to return soon.

Room Tip: High Floor with evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We travelled with Ryanair from Edinburgh. Arrived 20 minutes early and returned home 20 minutes early. No problems (again for the 6th time with them). The hotel name is slightly confusing in that it is in Amadores, whereas its sister hotel along the road is called the Gloria Palace Amadores and is nearer Puertco Rico town. We had gone half board but upgraded to all inclusive due to it being marginally more remote in it's location. However, that is the only fault. We found the hotel was stunning and in a superb location overlooking the bay. No need to ask for a sea view as all rooms did face the sea. The food was excellent with choices ranging from smoked salmon, steaks, rare roast beef, prawn marie rose but to name a few. The staff could not be more polite and always greeted you with a genuine warmth. The rooms were palatial, always spotless (as was the hotel), and the towels etc changed daily. There was a mini kitchen with coffee / teas etc (free), microwave, sink etc, and hairdryrer etc in the toilet. The entertainment in the evening could improve, but it must be slightly difficult to cater for adults and children unless highlighted. My partner and I will certainly return. (By chance friends were there the same week and echoed our sentiments exactly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesca121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We've just returned from 5 days at the Gloria Palace Royal Hotel and Spa on an all inclusive basis.

Location: Lovely, overlooking Amadores beach with amazing views out to sea. The beach is easily reachable by using the lift at the end of the hotel but it is a bit of a walk and is uphill coming back which isn't easy in the heat. The Spar shop nearby is a useful place to buy snacks and drinks when your all inclusive runs out at midday on your last day.

Pool: This was the best bit, lovely and cool and never too busy. If the main pool is busy the one on the top floor was not as busy. There were plenty of sunloungers available but despite there being a 'no reserving sunloungers' rule everyone did. So long as you weren't trying to get 5 sunloungers at midday though there were always plenty to be had, just make sure you get there straight after breakfast.

Room: The room was great, very spacious with plenty of wardrobe space. The little kitchenette with microwave, fridge and sink was a nice touch and would be a godsend if you had children with you. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The balcony was a lovely cool spot to sit in the evening with a book and gave a welcome respite from the heat. The room and all the public areas of the hotel were spotless everyday, we even saw the pool attendant scrubbing the grates around the edge of the pool.

Food: The food was good but not excellent. There was plenty to choose from at each meal but it did get a bit samey when eating 3 times a day. Also, one thing to watch out for is that once the all inclusive allowance runs out at midday on the day of departure and the buffett costs 18 Euros each - not really worth it in our opinion. The range of drinks on offer was good, you can even have Cava at breakfast! The snacks available at the snack bar could have done with a bit more on offer as it was all a bit heavy for the weather, crisps and fruit etc would have been nicer.

Service: This varied. We did not get given a drink when we arrived but the two couples in front of us did - this wasn't a big deal but I think they could be a bit more consistent. In general the staff were very friendly but one or two were a bit brisk and unwelcoming. The bar definitely needs more staff though as it did take ages to get a drink.

Overall the hotel was lovely and we certainly enjoyed our holiday, we just felt that they could do with improving a couple of things to make it perfect. The all inclusive package was worth it given the high prices in the restaurant but it was a bit of a let down that it expires at midday on the last day. Some of the staff could do with reminding to be friendly to customers and not to bark a them in Spanish (one of the maitre de's especially needs reminding of this).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OriginalSBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

A truly fantastic holiday!! We enjoyed every minute of it and didn't want to leave. The team is extremely friendly and helpful, the food is just great, the all inclusive is fab, the rooms are fantastic, the infinity pool is divine and the location is stunning!!! We just couldn't fault it!! The resident entertainment is quite poor, but the guys are really trying to make you smile and enjoy every evening. The guest entertainment on the other hand was absolutely fantastic thus making up for any shortcomings from the resident team. We recommended this hotel to all our friends and family and we will surely return time and time again. :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxee_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.8 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.0 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Property: Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing