We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Hotel is absolutely wicked!! Everything you could possibly want for a relaxing break.. One word of advice the restaurant at night will NOT allow men in without full length trousers or jeans!! You will have to go purchase some from Puerto Rico if you have not packed some. The staff are really nice, the bedrooms lovely and spacious, they have dressing gowns and hairdryers. a safe if you need it and laundry service for a fee..It is a little echo-y in the hallways and corridors..but i think its because its built into the mountain side. The food is amazing, smoked salmon and champagne breakfasts. Every egg you could want and a variety of foods to suit all..There are two pool areas the one upstairs with a poolside snack bar and a nudist area above but you wouldn't know unless you went looking for it!! and the main one with gorgeous infinity pool..NO inflatables in that one as they blow off on to the road. The bar service is good, most cocktails included in all inclusive. In the evening entertainment room they do not like you to go to the bar, you sit and they come serve you. sometimes it was a little slow but they did work very hard whilst we were there. It Isn't worth not being all inclusive, But you can upgrade when you get there for 20 euros a day...The spa downstairs and gym are included but not treatments, that was lovely to go at the end of the day.
Overall we had a fantastic time. the beach is lovely, there are a few shops and bars/cafes down there. Sunbeds to hire and umbrellas but not many sports. 4 euros to get to Puerto Rico in a cab if you want the water sports or night life. Entertainment was really good at night and not too crowded anywhere.. I would go back tomorrow. Look around for good deals, as people while we were there had paid quite alot more than we had for half board, we were all inclusive. Look at Sunmasters they were really good..Fantastic holiday would recommend to anyone..

Room Tip: ask for high levels because of corridor echo..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sha32cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,744
    483
    123
    31
    14
See reviews for
691
1,284
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This holiday exceeded our expectations. The hotel has a dramatic setting high on the cliff face overlooking a stunning horseshoe shaped beach. Lovely room, lovely staff (nothing is ever too much trouble and they're always smiling), spacious public areas (no need to dash down early to secure sunbeds!), two pools and very good food, considering they're catering for up to 200 people at each sitting. We did find the huge dining room a little impersonal so, as we had booked half board, we swapped dinner for lunch every day, then ate out in the evening at one of the very good beachside restaurants. All areas of the hotel very clean and well maintained.
Perfect location. There's a beautiful hillside walk into Puerto Rico (about 20 minutes) from where you can hop on a boat and for only 10 euros return, visit the very pretty litte port of Mogan.
Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Probably better off in blocks 1 or 2 as they're away from the main public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful! Very nicely decorated and not "cruise ship tacky"! The staff was wonderful every moment of every day!! I think the entire staff makes this place and gives the resort feeling!

While we were at the pool one day the "animation" team invited us to do water aerobics and then to learn to make Spanish tapas! It was so much fun!!

When we arrived we were greater with champagne and shown to our room by a staff member. The rooms were nice and good floor plan with a view from every room!

Only complaint on the room was the amount of noise you can hear... We could hear a lady in heals walk in the room above us throughout the night as well as all the street traffic and halfway noise and doors slamming. I was pretty surprised about the amount of noise we heard... We were located way above to street to but I guess the layout of the hotel just allows for the sound the travel up the cliff and I to the rooms.

The pools were beautiful and the beach is a quick walk down from the hotel... Very easy and nice!

The food at the half board service was decent... But it was the same buffet food daily... For most people it will be fine ( & I would only recommend doing half board-- you don't want the same food for all three meals a day) it was a bit more difficult for me as I am a vegitarian and there are few options... But, like I said, half board will be great for most people (breakfast was great!!) but make sure to explore the yummy restaurants in the nearby areas... My favorite find was Minanas... InPuerto Rico...(just around the rock bend... 5 min drive at most...)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EuroEri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed at the Gloria palace with my wife for 10 nights. On arrival greeted by friendly reception staff and quickly given room cards, this was supprisingly quick when there were 28 people all dropped off from the same coach.
Stayed on level 6 in a large room of high standard with a big private balcony. Level six is actually a low floor which does cause some confusion and amusement as level 1 is the highest. View from the room was of the sea and was stuning.The room itself had a safe [25 euro for 10 nights rent] and kettle and tea and coffee. Beds were two singles pushed together but were comfortable.
Food was of a very good standard for all meals and the dining room facilities and service were good. Gents take long trousers for dinner as this is a strict rule. Long shorts for men are not acceptable
The all inclusive was with local beer and spirits, the beer was called tropical and was nice, spirits however were a bit of a let down sadly. You could however purchase branded drinks at half price for about 2-3 euros a drink. when getting drinks you will need to show your room card on every occasion so keep it handy.
Overall we had a fantastic holliday at this hotel and must say it was best all inclusive we have been in the canaries, the hotel is so popular and early booking is a must if you want to go. After all it speaks for itself when 28 poeple from one coach of thomas cook tourists get off at this hotel.
Finally we had a great time and am sure that anyone who goes will enjoy. Location is good for a relaxing holiday with only a short walk of 10 minutes into puerto rico.First time here at this hotel and would return if had a good deal.

Room Tip: High rooms will get more sun, all rooms appeared to have sea views with some having sea and pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank top92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We arrived very late into the evening just AS the night entertainment was to finish due to sitting on a coach that tested our anxiety of falling over a cliff edge. However, after stopping at every hotel in Puerto Rico we arrived and a light dinner spread was awaiting which gave the impression they do this all the time, which we thought was a nice touch.
The staff for the next two weeks were warm and friendly and enjoyed me making a fool out of myself trying to speak Spanish. The weather was amazing, the pool was equally as good, however a special mention needs to go towards the housekeepers who we feel went the extra mile when tending to our room (can remember her name).
We are looking to go back in the close future to gran canaria with Gloria Palace being our intended hotel location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jpatto47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We Visited this hotel in October 2011 after we got married,my husband and i went with our two young boys (at the time, age 5 & 1) the 1st impression of the hotel was "wow" it really was lovely, the reception area is large and immaculately clean, we had to wait a while before we could go into our room but the reception was cool and the view from the glass wall was magnificent, it looks over the Amadores beach and the hotel pool, we got into our room & checked out our balcony which again, was very nice however, our 1yr old soon realised he could get through the gap of the glass wall balcony, where there was a steep drop onto the floor below, we went straight to reception, where i was a little taken aback when they clearly didn't believe me, an hour later of sitting in the room (we were told someone would be up straight away to have a look, even though i just wanted another room) a maintenance man came and took a photo of the gap and left, we then waited another hour for a clean room, we got into the new room and i have to say i was gutted when i got outside, although the gap was gone we were literally right next to (and below) the main walkway/corridor for everybody, it was such a shame, we had no privacy whatsoever!! on top of that we had a security camera right into our room!

After the frosty reception i didn't want to complain so we put up with it and made sure the curtains were closed when we were in there, which unfortunately we spent a lot of time in there due to our son having a contagious illness!

STAFF:the cleaners were all very friendly even though they couldn't speak English, the waiting on staff were always friendly (apart from one old guy who just didn't want to be there!) Waiting on staff were friendly although they were so busy all of the time!

there was a Kids club available although we didn't use them. There is a main pool under reception area, access via stairs or lift, there is also a small children's pool, the main pool was an infinity pool and overlooked the Amadores beach, it was a lovely view! around the corner is a much quieter (and deeper) pool, although deep it isn't sunk into the ground so perfectly safe, alongside it there is a children's pool, large sunbathing area, there is a pool table and a poolside bar selling the usual burger and chips, with drinks etc... couldn't say what it was like as we didnt use it.

The restaurant food was lovely no complaints at all, plenty of things to choose from, the sweets were lovely, we felt sick most nights after dinner as we couldn't refuse! Breakfast was also very nice and lots of choice.

there is a local Spar shop just across the road but be warned, it isn't too bad going but coming back is a nightmare as it is so steep and hilly! We had a pushchair with us, which i pushed on the way there but NOT on the way back! it is the same for the beach although the beach is beautiful and again spotless.

Overall it was a nice hotel, we would stay there again.....

Room Tip: Make sure if travelling with very small children you have a balcony with one complete glass wall, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MissyGz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Booked the Gloria Palace Royal Hotel after conducting the usual in depth research on tripadvisor. Have to say most of the previous reports were spot on.

PROS:
-Views from 95% of rooms were awesome, including dining room, both pool terraces and main lobby.
-Pool, top class all be it quite bracing in the mornings! I used it every day!
-Spa was excellent, free for guests
-Food excellent, lots of choice
-Drinks were plentiful although as expected only local spirits/beers/wines included on AI package, I'd definitely recommend the long island cocktail from the pool bars!
-Rooms were large, modern, clean and all the creature comforts you'd expect from a classy hotel.
-Location was spot on, short walk down to beach, the lift from the top terrace does most of the hard work to get you down to road level.
-Entertainment was good for what it is, don't expect West End performances. We particularly liked the Sinatra tribute and Lionell Ritchie tribute.

CONS(no where is perfect):
-Since its such a large hotel then acoustics aren't the best, ask for a top floor room if you can otherwise you will here furniture being dragged above you as well as footsteps from high heeled shoes etc, it sounds even louder when you're trying to sleep!!
-Staff could smile a bit more as stated in previous reviews.
-Despite a fantastic room our double bed was just two beds pushed together with two mattresss bed clothes etc, not the most romantic set-up
-in the dining room and entertainment room the staff were keen to serve you your first drink but that was it unless you could flag them down and ask for another one (which isn't too hard it just makes you feel rude waving your hands all the time)
-The exotic animal show was awful and should be reported to the animal authorities in Spain as far as I'm concerned, at one point the guy tripped over his own tortoise (he introduced it as a turtle!) because he was too busy trying to sell photos to parents of young children who new no difference...
-Double security checks (room key and wristband) for AI customers gets a little annoying.

Tips:
-Ask for a high room to avoid noise from above
-Use the spa
-Try the tuna and crab pizza at the pool snack bar
-Avoid exotic animal show
-Ask for a bottle of house wine at the dinner table instead of a glass.
-Use top pool terrace if you prefer a bit of peace and quiet, main pool is best later on in the day
-Local busses are very efficient and cheap for visiting local attractions.
-Visit Palmitos Animal Park (you won't be disappointed)

In conclusion I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone and would hope the hotel reads this feedback to improve further still!!

Hope this helps

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank craig_NFFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
8.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.0 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Property: Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing