We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in a Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

After numerous trips abroad over the years and very good intentions to write a review when I came back, I felt strongly compelled to write a review for this hotel.

My husband I and I booked this hotel for our summer vacation back in January of this year and were very excited by the excellant reviews it had been given. My parents also decided to make the trip with us and and I have to be honest with both of them in their seventys I was slightly concerned that the hotel might not be suitable for them. I need not have worried at all. There would be something for everyone here. From Couples, Singles, Families and business trips the hotel had an abundance to offer. From the Gym, Spa, Kiddies Club, Evening Entertainment etc the hotel even had a beauticians and hairdressers for those who required the facility. Most people would have been hard pushed not to find something to suit them here. The Hotel staff were exceptionally helpful, Hotel reception, Bar Staff, Waiter Staff in the dining room etc went out of their way to provide what we asked for.

On booking my husband and I requested a high floor. All rooms had a superb view of the beach and bay. With easy accessable lifts and staircases. My parents had a room two floors down with equally a nice view.

The beach was a short walk away with a slightly steep incline back up to the hotel. Possibly not suitable for people with walking difficulties.

Both pools were exceptional with a clear sided pool on the top floor and kiddies pool at each.

Very wide variety of foods for breakfast and tea something to suit everyones taste and for those Seafood lovers a wide variety on offer. Our family were very fortunate to have a window view seat for breakfast and dinner and for those scenery lovers this was indeed a stunning view.

So if your planning your holiday here, I can strongly recommend that this has been one of the best hotels we have stayed in over 20 years of travelling.

Myself and my family would certainly be giving it top marks in all aspects.

Happy Holidays.

Room Tip: We had a room in block 2 floor 4, Room number 2401. Superb view but then all rooms seemed to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DJAYDMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    517
    127
    32
    16
See reviews for
740
1,379
69
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coulsdon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I think it has all been said before, so just to confim this is a quite brilliant Hotel, and really quite difficult to find fault with anything. Facilities, accommodation, food all excellent; but what really makes this hotel stand out from the crowd is the quality of the staff. They really work exceptionally hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and it with this that in mind I put this down as one of my best ever holiday hotels. Would love to return, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Block 2 in my opinion was in a good quiet position, with easy access to block 3 where the main resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The hotel is very clean,all the staff are very helpful.All balconies are sea view overlooking the bay of amadores.there are plenty of sunbeds,but you have to be up early to get one near the edge of the infinity pool.entertainment ok,some reviews say it is 15 minutes walk to Puerto Rico more like 30 minutes,a taxi is only 3 euros.The rooms are very spacious.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel is faultless.
the view from your balcony is AMAZING all hotel rooms guaranteed sea views, the food is excellent with different dishes every night, waiters are always helpful and cheerful. With 1 sea view pool that is beautiful and allows you to see right over the edge of the mountain, 1 small baby pool and a sun terrace with it's own pool and baby pool, nudist area, two pool bars, free whirl pool, sauna and gym (spa treatments are extra) what more could you ask for!?
The only problem with this hotel is the fact it's on the top of the hill, and the walk down to the beach is fine, walking up the steep hill however can be difficult so a glass lift is provided.
And as for nightlife you'll need to get a taxi into town itself or it is a 20-25mins walk which is beautiful but it can be quite tiring the nightlife is quite around these areas though but the hotel entertainment was great with various shows every night.
Our room was amazing down to the little details such as the shoe polish, wash mitt, a robe for each of you and an extra pillow if needed. Our room was cleaned every day and was spotless, sheets are changed every two days and even a little kitchenette is provided and a kettle
Me and my mother will be visiting again next year!

Room Tip: All have sea views so no need to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenWhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just arrived back from 2 weeks at this hotel and have to say there is nothing at all wrong with this hotel, the staff are lovely (ALL OF THEM) including the reception staff, they work sooo hard and always try and make you laugh, the rooms are very spacious and clean the whole hotel and resort is spotless never bin to somewhere so clean.We asked to change out room because we was beside the pool side and people woke us up at 6-7 moving their sunbeds and the reception staff could'nt of been nicer and moved us next day to a room with a better view. I must admit you can hear people walking above so the top floor rooms would be the best. The food is very nice however not a lot of choice for such a big hotel and it can be quite repetitive. The entertainment is on the whole really good especially the hotel team they are great and the staff in the entertainment room cannot try any harder people who say they take ages to serve need to walk to the bar is 2 strides to your right and they serve you straight away and we always got served bearing in mind their is only 2 people with machines to take your orders they try their hardest. The pool is gorgeous and not too cold, the spa is even better we went the most afternoons to relax after sunbathing. The beach is a very busy one but very nice apart from the sea is freezing but i did manage to go in once.We went on a few trips the one to morgan on the boat is a must especially when the market is on a Friday you get some great stuff, we also went on the jeep safari which is OK but they said it included going for a swim in a lake which when we got they was just mud and dirty water which was a shame because it was 40 degrees that day and everyone needed to cool off and finally we went to the water park which is good but a total rip off it cost 25 euros for 2 burgers and chips and you have to pay for lockers and beds and umbrellas. We went to puerto Rico but i can honestly say its not my cup of tea. Its defiantly true that this is by far the best hotel and location although the sister hotel looks nice the only bad thing is it is the last drop and first pick up making it a 2 hour transfer which wasn't the best after a 6 hour delay. Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed our stay here and think its a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: top floor has less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashall2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Visited for a fortnight as we had last year, and, having emailed in advance, we were allocated the exact same room as requested.

Again a very relaxing time with lovely staff who catered for your needs with a smile. Food was good, and there were plenty of sunbeds by the main pool if you were early enough: in any case there were many more sunbeds and spaces at the other outdoor pool upstairs. My wife used the relaxation/spa area and would happily recommend this.

Nearby Puerto Rico was a bit too busy for us, while Mogan, in the other direction, was lovely and well worth a few visits.

Back to the hotel: a great stay again, and one we look back on with fondness. I've added photos which were taken very close to the hotel, for a bit of variety!

Room Tip: Block 4 is probably best for easy access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland,
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Arrived at Gloria Palace after a 40min bus ride from the airport. Lovely hotel spotless clean and lovely food something to suit everyone. Thomas Cook say if your A.I. you can use some things in the spa this is not the case you need to pay extra for this. The entertainment for adult at night doesnt start till 10.30pm and its not worth waiting up for. Rooms are lovely loads of space and plenty space for all your clothes.Rooms cleaned and fresh towells every day. We had a kettle with tea and coffee facilities in the room.The only down side was we found some of the staff at the pool snack bar were very rude never a smile and made you wait to be served even though you were the only one there. Weather was really hot never went below 40 but plenty parasols around the pool and air con in your room. Overall I would go back and I would recomend it.

Room Tip: block 4 was nice and quiet beatiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotland1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
3.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,097 reviews
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Property: Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Mirai, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing