We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday from hell!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Arriving at hotel at 9.30 pm ,advised coach driver that we wereat wrong hotel,she demanded we left the coach.It was pitch black and we even had to retrieve our own suitcases and left stranded.The bell boy came out and we advised reception that this was not the hotel we had booked and paid for. Fortunately we had our booking confirmation clearly showing that this was the wrong hotel and we should have been at the Gloria Palace Amadores and not the Royal.After 1 and a half hours in reception,speaking to Thomas Cook rep on the phone,he told me that I was lying and this was the hotel we had booked.The manager of the hotel rang the rep back and verified that our paperwork was correct and we had actually booked the parent hotel! He faxed a copy to him and afterwards the rep rang back to say there wasnt anything they could do as the hotel we should have been taken to was fully booked and he hung up on me. The mansger then took over the situation and called the other hotel and arranged that the following morning a transfer ticket would be waiting for us at 10 am so we could transfer to our chosen hotel. We agreed to stay 1 night ,as by this time it was 11.15 pm and we had an 8 year old child with us. We were shown to our room then taken for our first meal which we were all inclusive, 2 adults 1 child for a week was £2,600. We were shown to dining room and sat down to plate wrapped in cellophane with a cold salad. We then went to bar for our first drink and were advised that we would have to pay as it was after 11.30. I refused the drinks on principle. We were certain that we would be transfered to the hotel we had booked and paid for we did not even unpack. After breakfast the sunday morning, which was all preheated food,we went to reception at 9.45 for our transfer. We waited until 1.30 without any show from anyone so decided to ring rep again. We were told a rep would meet us the next day by 12.30 to sort out our issues. All we could do now was to make best of a bad job.On that evening going for our evening meal,to my amazement , we had to queue up to 20 mins for food which looked like food from lunch time covered in sauces. The food was attrocious,worsethan school dinner and having to queue. This was not helping our situation.After "meal", we went for drinks in the entertainment lounge only to find we had to wait againup to 20 mins for drinks and it was obvious they were following orders to slow the system down and not serve accordingly. The following morning after breakfast,which was very repetitive,and horrendous,we returned to reception to meet the rep at 12.30. She arrived looking very unkempt ,as though she had not washed,her hair matted and uniform creased and fingernails black. Her first words was not an apology but to say that she would walk away if i was abrupt.As this was now the 3rd day of our holiday and with what we had already lost we decided that we did not want anymore upheavel ,the rep left and we had no more contact with thomas cook. Following this i took it on myself to try and rectify myself. The telephone bill exceeded 20 euros still acheiving nothing as thomas cook had clearly made a massive mistake but were not accepting responsibility. Every morning and evening the food was just reheated and rotated ,only just fit for human consumption. To top all of this went to top pool bar to get a tia maria and coke, only to be told that it was not available on all inclusive??????. As the holiday was fastly coming to an end (yippee), we were told checkout was 12noon,and our all inclusive would end!! As we had only got into our room at 11.30pm on first day and had lost 1st day,it is clearly a scam to rip customers off. Once they have your money they are not interested in your holday.Attention to all, avoid this hotel and Thomas Cook,as this tour operator is a con merchant. We have had 32 holidays on this island,all good, but this is the worst holiday we have ever had.

Room Tip: best rooms in block 1.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank carol y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our services and facilities.
We regret that you have been inconvenienced during your holidays and that we couldn't meet all your expectations; however, we note the points that you mentioned in order that not happen again in the future and invite you to check back that we strive to make our customers enjoy a wonderful holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,618)
There are newer reviews for Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 2,618 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

There are lots of positives and a few minor minuses.

Food-Generally excellent and a very wide range. after a week though it was a bit repetitive.

Room-Bed was a twin pushed together. We were on our honeymoon and asked for a double mattress and we got a sheet over the two mattresses. Aside from this the room had a FANTASTIC view and was very comfortable. Bathroom was very very nice. We had a quiet 5 days then there were guests in the room above and we could hear lots of walking and dropping of coins. Sound proofing not good. Wi-Fi signal is awful.

Facilities-Two pools and a spa. We spent our time between the three.

All inclusive-Generally good but only includes basic brands. All cocktails were included and were decent enough. House wine is the only wine included and tastes like vinegar. Had it once...never again.

Other guests-couples, families with young children and teenagers. Good mix. Wouldn't recommend for party people.

Entertainment-Piss poor. Crude but the only way I can describe it.

Beach-Very nice and easy access with the lift.

Staff-Very helpful and friendly. cleaning staff were especially nice.

Other-we were in Block 1 and had an amazing view but it's a short walk to the restaurant, pool etc. 2-3 mins. We liked our location.

Overall I would recommend the all-inclusive option for a week stay here. Two weeks would drive me mad as there is nothing to do and the food would get repetitive. If you want a relaxing week away this place gets the thumbs up. Two weeks stay in a different area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Pooledoggski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Gloria Palace Royal to spend your holidays and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.
We are glad to read that we met your expectations about the food, the facilities and our friendly staff.
Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of them as it is important for us in order to surpass ourselves every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

just got back from a one week holiday in Gloria Palace Royal, I travelled with my husband and teenage daughter. I travel to Gran Canara every year from my holiday but this is the first time staying in a hotel, I usually stay in an apartment. We thought we would see what it was like to go all inclusive and have all our drinks and meals taken care of. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are all in the buffet restaurant, very nice selection of food. Snack bar downstairs caters for all inclusive guests also, but we always had enough from main meals so used this only for drinks throughout the day. I thought the all inclusive package was good value for money, due to the money I usually spend on food and drinks when self catering. The only one thing I would say would be similar to previous reviews, at the entertainment venue at night you struggled to get a waiter to order drinks from and even then the manager had to sign the drinks off (the waiter could not) this seemed to be an inconvenience to them and I felt awkward ordering another drink even when I had only had two within the three hours we were there. On a plus point the we had a suite and the room was spotless and the cleaner done a great job, my husband gave her a tip as she was lovely. The waiters work very hard in the buffet restaurant, especially Manuel who always had a smile and a joke with us. The animation team do a good job with aquaaerobics and jacuzzi bingo throughout the day if you like to join in, again I would say many of the guests at the hotel kept to themselves, there wasn't much chatting round the pool area. All in all was a good holiday and if you are looking for peace and relaxation you will find that at Gloria Palace.

Room Tip: Block 400 best choice
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jane279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Many thanks for your excellent review and for sharing your experience about your stay at the Gloria Palace Royal.
We are delighted to read that you describe our all inclusive package as good value for money, the room as spotless and that you enjoyed your holidays all in all.
We took note of your comment about the drink service at the entertainment venue. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and to maintain our standards.
We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It is the first place I can recommend without any observation!!! Very friendly animation team, many different activities for everyone including childrens, delicious food, beautifull rooms and beach in few minutes from the hotel! You will enjoy your staying bere for sure :)
Olga. Email: olga.revutska@seznam.cz

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReOli4307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
We are delighted to read that the Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa is the first place that you can recommend without any observation.
We hope to see you in our hotel very soon again and please do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Gorgous location and hotel however pool crowded during this period.
All people working there are great, always heart smiling and giving their all in serving you. My special praise and thanks to Yilma the real pro photographer who made some magic moments of my whole captured for ever. I will also praise emanuel at the restaurants, jose the chef of the Kaya "à la carte restaurant" and his famous authentic raw iberic ham pata negra, and finaly and foremost Marina and Lucilla, the 2 french ladies who welcome and treat you with their heart in their sleeve.
Just experience it, made for sun and ocean lovers. You cant beat the view !!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Karimjaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thank you for your excellent review and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are thrilled to read that you had a great stay with us and that you describe our staff as great and always heart smiling.

Our aim is to make our guests feel special and to provide them an unforgettable experience. We are glad to know that we achieved that goal with you.

We hope to welcome you soon back to our hotel.
Kind regards,

Lucile Colliou
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gloria Palace Royal 26th July for 2 weeks. Before I start my review I know some people can expect too much from their hotel, people can be over picky regarding food, hotels can’t please everyone all the time, so you have to stay at hotels with an open mind and remember they provide a service to a high number of guests. With this in mind some negative issues will be highlighted, unfortunately my review will have more negatives regarding the hotel and Puerto Rico rather than positives.
Prior to departing for our holiday I had read other reviews regarding the size of the hotel and the room blocks. Therefore I requested a room in block 4, this request was provided. Blocks 1 & 2 are quite a distance from the main facilities.
Martina politely offered to give us a guided tour of the hotel main facilities on our arrival, thank you Martina for that it was very helpful, as you can get easily lost in this hotel with it being built into the cliff side in 4 blocks. If you like a good walk to the restaurant and pools and lift to the ground floor beach access request blocks 1 & 2. Block 3 only has rooms on 1 floor and they look like the suites. Block 4 (our room was 4311A) was an ideal location we walked out straight to the infinity pool/show hall area and access to the ground floor/beach lift, the quite pool was directly on top of block 4 so this block ideal for access to all facilities. The hotel is up a slight incline but nothing too strenuous. There is a Spar supermarket very close to the hotel. Beach sunbeds 4 euro each and 3 euro for parasol. Gets very busy especially at weekends. Puerto Rico is a 25 minute walk to the port via the promenade, this is not flat with some steep parts. Puerto Rico main bars are within the commercial centre, shopping centre to be precise, not very pleasant if you want to sit and people watch. Neon lights everywhere and you are pestered by every bar and restaurant taut. Taxi to Puerto Rico is below 4 euro. The bars around the port are not nice also. The restaurants around Amadores beach are nice for a drink or meal, however they close at 23.30.
Reception area – very clean and well furnished, bit warm in the reception area though. Luggage can be left on departure day. There are scales to allow you to weigh your cases prior to airport, however this costs 1 euro per case, I think this should be free to guests. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Room – very spacious, clean, large balcony no sun whatever time of day which was not an issue as we were glad of the break from the intense sun. Block 4 is very close to the main road traffic and can be slightly noisy when on the balcony but it wasn’t that intrusive, however you can hear traffic from all rooms as a main road runs directly below the hotel. Within the room was a small enclosed kitchenette area that comprised of a microwave, coffee peculator, fridge (no charge), crockery, cutlery and a small sink. Flat screen TV and a safe (18euro per week), large sliding wardrobes. Bathroom had a bath and a walk in shower, toilet did not have a door it was around the side hidden within the bathroom. AC was good, we did have a noisy AC unit, reported it and it was fixed very promptly. We did have to call reception on 1 occasion requesting our room to be cleaned, cleaning stops at 16.00. Beds very comfy and big. Late checkout rooms are expensive, checkout time is 12.00 and you are charged every hour for the late checkout room, we requested the room till 18.00 at a charge of 50 euro, we did not take the room. However late checkout room cannot be confirmed until morning of departure, which is an inconvenience as you cannot plan your last day. There is a courtesy room that you can have a half hour slot per couple, not a long time to even have a shower and get changed, again you have to request this the morning of departure. Why late checkout rooms or courtesy room cannot be allocated day before is an inconvenience spoiling your last day.
Pool areas – there is an infinity pools which is the show piece of the hotel and this is reflected in the maintenance of this area. The pool overlooks the gorgeous beach of Amadores which is about 5 minute walk when leaving from the hotel lift. The sunbeds around the infinity pools seem new. They are positioned very close to each other so there isn’t much privacy. The sunbeds are reserved very early people getting the prime spots. Daily entertainment is from the infinity pool. The roof top pool is quieter however this lacks attention. The sunbeds are old and seem to be running until they fail, this pool area requires attention to bring it up to a standard same as the infinity pool. The infinity pool area is cleaned every morning. The roof top pool area was cleaned on our first Monday and not cleaned until the Friday we were due to leave (we stayed 2 weeks). A cleaner 1 day within the afternoon attempted to clean the main walk path with a buffer machine (noisy), she did 2 runs up and down not covering the whole area, we could not see the point of the clean as the area was not completed. Sunbeds are available on the roof top area anytime of the day. The enclosed nudist area is also on the roof top pool area. Pool towels can be provided at a deposit of 15 euro per towel and changed whenever from reception.
Restaurant – positive points – service fantastic, shown to a table, quick service to take drink order, plates cleared away very quickly and tables cleared quick ready for next guest. Friendly service from the waiters. We stayed half board, all inclusive doesn’t mean all inclusive there are exclusions from the drinks and lunch time meals. Half board you can pay for your drinks with your meal and at bars by cash or charge to your room and pay bill whenever you want at the reception. Restaurant area nice and fantastic view over Amadores beach.
Negative points – food was the worst we have ever had and we travel quite extensively. Food cold, over cook meat. Meat is cook at the show stations then stock piled, left going cold are standing and becomes dry. My husband went to get a steak and the chef took a piece from the stock pile and placed it back on the grill to warm through, therefore cooking it further. Duck was on for 5 nights,(Friday to Tuesday) it seemed the hotel could not get rid of it, possibly cos it was over cooked, so on the 5th night they placed it in a stew. Only 2 themed nights, our second week Mexican and Chinese. Mexican night I saw the chilli come out of the kitchen and thought oh that will be hot, unfortunately not it was lukewarm. We had 3 good food nights out of the 13. Salads are boring, no variety or selection, it seems the mixed salads are made up of what is available separately. No coleslaw, sweetcorn, mixed salads (potatoe etc), sometimes they produced a mixed salad that I can only describe as looked like dog food or vomit. Deserts were all small squares of tasteless sponge and cream with a different colour syrup topping, no pastries, ice cream soft. There was a good selection of fruit though. All drinks are served within a wine glass, this goes for a lager also, a proper lager glass would make a difference.

Entertainment – I cant comment as didn’t go to any.

Would we return to this hotel probably not, Puerto Rico definitely not, Gran Canaria doubt it. Puerto Rico is a concrete jungle access to majority of hotels up very very high number of steps, the resort has no character at all. If you like cheap, tacky resort then this is for you.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 & 2 far from facilities.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Marrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for taking the time to write a review about all our facilities.
We are glad to read that you found our staff very friendly and helpful and that you describe our rooms as very spacious with comfortable beds. We are thrilled that you like the attention of Marina and we will definitely pass your nice comment to her.
We regret that our buffet didn't meet your expectations; however we have taken note of your comments in order to improve and continue to maintain our standards.
We hope to welcome you again in the future to show you our improvements and make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was the first time at this hotel having stayed elsewhere in Amadores.

This was an amazing hotel and the staff were always willing to help and happy to resolve issues straightaway. They were genuinely helpful and cared about our comfort and service. This hotel clearly prides itself on keeping their guests happy and catered for at all times. It was faultless.

We asked for a room change as we needed two connecting rooms. When they couldn't identify one they upgraded us to a junior suite with a huge balcony and plenty of room at no extra charge. The food was fantastic and the drinks great with a huge range of drinks in the all inclusive package. The cleaners were very thorough and the place itself clean and well looked after.

There was great entertainment day and night and plenty of sun beds.

The only gripe was the trouser rule at dinner as what constitutes a trouser goes way beyond acceptable when you see what some people turned up in and it only applied to males - some of the females dress code left a lot to be desired. However it was an attempt to be more formal at dinner but clearly needs more thought. My husband and son had to buy trousers as they only brought smart shorts for the evening.

Overall though this is a fantastically relaxing place with great staff. The bar staff always remembered our drinks especially Carlos who was lovely.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will return. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for block 1 quieter and lots of sun all day into the evening.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are thrilled to read that you found our hotel amazing and your service fabulous and that you would highly recommend our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you for your next stay.
Kind regards,

Lucile Colliou
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,158 reviews
8.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £120 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing