We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a 5 star....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Certificate of Excellence
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Never a 5 star....”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was a long weekend break to find the sun and we did! Sadly the rave reviews about the hotel didnt reflect what we found.

On arrival, friendly staff and good check in but have to say the terracotta plastered walls looked more like a prison than a hotel. No paint to be seen, all very drab and lack lustre. Coupled with the heavy iron doors leading to the pool area and the dark corridors this looked more like Alcatraz than a hotel.

On a positive note the room was a good size and did have a sea view as requested. It was clean but lacked the niceties one expects in any hotel especially a 5 star one. No tissues, no face flannels, no soap dish or anywhere to keep the soap. No tea and coffee making facilities but you could order room service at 6 euros which for all inclusive is a cheek!

The mini bar was empty but could have been filled on request at an extra charge.

The common areas were not always clean, empty paper cups left on the stairs for 2 days but we were spared the cockroach episode which we overheard by the pool.

Despite notices stating reserving of beds is forbidden, the best beds were reserved by towels before breakfast the staff (few though there were) failed to take any action to prevent this happening.

No pool drinks service was available although a couple of bars at the lower pools were open during the daytime.

The lobby bar was ok for waiter service during quiet periods around late morning but evening service was non existent. Go to the bar and collect your own was the order of the day. Overall a lack of staff was the problem both here and around the pool.

Food - well what to say. Good news were the desserts and the Mexican buffet on our last night. Lunch on day one was inedible (lamb kebabs) as evidenced by the amounts being left on everyones plates! Rest of the food was bland, tasteless and often overcooked, eg fish, meat and pasta.

Room maid service was good albeit in our case not till mid afternoon - again not enough staff. The windy squalls were at times dangerous as the sunbeds and parasols were blown into the pool or onto unsuspecting guests. No sign of any staff at these times except one morning when the poolside shower was cleaned but sadly didnt actually work anyway!

The positives were ..... the wine was drinkable and at times replenished with some regularity. The desserts were good....... what else? sadly we are struggling. Ah yes reception staff were good and helpful but overall this hotel when compared to other hotels we have stayed in which have also been 5 star this didnt live up to expectation or any sort of comparison.

We noticed many glowing reviews of this hotel and may be our expectations are higher than some but this hotel lacked many of the basic aspects we would expect to see in a 3 star hotel let alone a 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krrgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Guest,
In the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience here with us.
We appreciate very much your positive commentary with respect to the helpfulness and friendliness of our hotel staff and at the same time we would like to apologize if some areas of our hotel did not meet up with your expectations.
Regarding the hotel design, we are aware there is not much greenery, however, we would like to explain that it is exactly that what makes thid hotel unique, our hotel takes its inspiration from its natural assets, from their shapes, colours and textures to blend it well with its surrounded natural reserve to reduce the environmental impact of tourism and we are sincerely proud to behave in compliance with the principals of the sustainable tourism.
As far as the food is considered, as we dispose of the demanding international clientage we try very hard to provide our guests with all inclusive package offering a great value for money with food being plentiful, high quality with a vast range to suit all tastes that used to be appreciated by our clients through their daily feedback.
Once again we would like to thank you for all your comments and suggestions that make us obliged to keep on working hard and improving our services day by day.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,795
    1,358
    424
    91
    42
See reviews for
1,366
2,480
91
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,210)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

To start off with all the bad Reviews! You are talking absolutely Bull****!!!
This is the best Resort we have ever been to! defo. 5*s deserved, we visited last Year in June and return next Week for another fab 10 Days!
Where shall i start?

Let's begin with the Arrival:
Me and my Husband have arrived after a long Flight at 11pm, the staff at the Reception were very friendly, they told us to go to the Restaurant to get some Food and when we are finished, to return and the Bell Boy would bring us and our Luggage to our Room. They gave us a Map of the Resort that we're not getting lost! we slept very well!

The Food:
The Food was always very well presented, freshly cooked in front of our Noses! As I was 5months pregnant to that time, I had to be careful what to eat but no problem! The Food was delicious! We just could have kept on eating! Beautiful.

The Entertainment and Facilities:
I think there are 8 pools, where 2 of them are heated.
There was never a problem to get a Sunbed, as it's forbidden to reserve a Sunbed in the early morning. We took the Tour through the Reserve, absolutely beautiful! The Tour Guide was amazing!
In the Evening Time after having Dinner, the Entertainment started, every time something else. Amaizing! And the Mini Disco too cute! As we have our Little One now, we are going to look forward to that!
Every 2 days or so there is a Shuttle Bus into Playa des Las Americas, and guess what, it's for free!! U have to announce on the Reception that u wanna go there and they gonna pick you up at 10am and return at 5pm. Nearby is a little Town with Restaurants, Pubs and Souvenir Shops and mini markets only 5-10min walk from the Resort.

The Rooms:
We have had a Double Room with Sea View on the Ground Floor absolutely stunning, the Rooms are exactly how described on the Websites! Very clean and very modern! Flat screens and Satellite TV which means BBC etc. for all the Soap lovers. :)

"Two little tiny bad things iare that there is no Beach as there are Stones and Rocks but lovely to have a look and make Pics. If you want a Beach you should go to Los Christianos. It didn't bother us as free Shuttle Bus. And as it's 10 min from the Airport you will have some noise of the Airplanes but you get very quick used to it. "

All in everything we can't wait to come back and back and back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcwooldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear guest,
First of all, in the name of the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We get a lot of pleasure out of reading such warm and personal comments concerning our hotel resort, particularly about the presentation and quality of the food prepared to your taste, the entertainment and facilities as well as the room and its amenities. Your complimentary remarks and intentions “to come back and back and back” give us warm feeling of that our efforts to do our best for the clients are worth. Hereby we promise to keep on working hard to maintain our current value for money that is appreciated by our guests.
We are also pleased to get to know you found interesting our unique tour to the nature reserve that we are very proud of. On this occasion we would like to invite all our future guests to visit a spectacular landscape of the Environmental Reserve, while staying with us.
Let us take this opportunity to encourage you to visit our website and book your next holiday at the best price.
We can´t wait to welcome you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon!
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel is an amazing clean place. Very relaxing,great pools. Really nice heated salt water ones you can float in. Food was the best all inclusive I have encountered. Different every day never got boring. The al la carte restaurant you have one visit to and it is very posh and worth a visit - is a nice evening, although the menu wasnt really to my tastes and I had a lot of the kiddies menu :) The drink service was excellent. We drank in the lobby bar every night and before you could finish your drink the waitress was round to take your next order so you wouldnt go dry. All brands and heinekan bottles and even jagermeister. They wasnt stingy like most all inclusives where they only let you get 1 or two drinks a time and the waitress even said to us its 10.55 all inclusive ends in 5 minutes what can I get you. The room was immaculate with whirlpool bath and 32 inch tv with all terestial channels apart from ITV and a selection of others like film4. I would have liked to have played in a lot of the activites like volleyball, table tennis etc, but unfortunately there wasnt many other adults doing them for the time I was there.

In conclusion.
pros -
Great hotel,rooms,pools
Great service, everyone has a smile
Great food,drink - put on half a stone!
Very relaxing
Only 10 minutes from airport - 13 euro cab
was windy - but it was lovely like having a fan on you so never got to hot
Some amazing bed like sunbeds. Get up early to nab one, worth it for a day
The paddle tennis game is brilliant!. Like tennis/squash worth a few games

against -
If you want a beach there isnt one really
if you want entertainment it wasnt my cup of tea
the lake isnt a lake lool. Watch the videos of it on the website/youtube and then when you go there you realise its really clever footage to make it look big
if you want to leave the resort and visit places its not really within walkable distance.We didnt leave the resort though.

Room Tip: Request sea view or lake view. Rather than pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liamledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear guest,
First of all, in the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, we would like to give you many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We are very pleased to read you were impressed by the hotel rooms, relaxing atmosphere of the swimming pool areas and remarkably by the selection of the food and drinks included to our “all inclusive” package that you find to be the best you have ever encountered.
Once again thank you for all your comments and suggestions that make us feel obliged to keep on working hard to improve our service day by day.
Besides, we would like to invite you to visit our website to book your next holiday at the best price.
Hopefully see you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This place is amazing great room great service pools amazing branded drinks all
Inclusive is excellent value for money room service was good even tired up my clothes food was really good and the varitity perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liverblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience here with us.
We do sincerely appreciate your positive comments given to our hotel, its facilities as well as services. Also we are really pleased to know that you enjoyed the variety of the food served in our buffet restaurant. Hereby we promise to keep on working hard to
Hereby we would like to invite you to visit our website to book your next stay at the best price. We are looking forward to seeing you again here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Victor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Have just completed a fabulous week at this wonderful hotel. Chosen due to good reviews on trip adviser it lived up to expectations. Food was excellent, although catering for large number of all inclusive guests, there was plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables and a good choice of meat and fish cooked while you wait. Our room was excellent, bigger than average with two large beds and a lovely bathroom. All the communal areas were very clean and all the staff were very helpfull. Having 8 seperate pools gives plenty of room for people to spread out and gives a choice of heated/unheated and salt/freshwater to swim in. Evening entertainment was held in a huge auditorium with a massive stage with professional acts brought in, thankfully not the usual animation team miming to tracks from Grease! A couple of minor issues were dealt with swiftly by the staff and we got the impression that nothing was too much trouble for them. On the minus side, the decision to accomodate 80 spanish school children during half term was probably not the best, although it has to be said that they didn't cause us any great inconvenience as they had been put in a cordoned off area for most of the day. We will definitely return and will be looking to book other Sandos hotels in the future.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rimigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear guest,

In the name of Sandos Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We are very grateful for all your positive expressions about your stay in our hotel, about the rooms, cleanliness of all the communal areas, choice of the pools, evening entertainment and more than anything we appreciate your kind comments in relation to such important aspects of every vacation as the food and the staff are. We are very pleased reading you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would definitely return and would look for other hotels of Sandos chain in the continental Spain, Lanzarote or Mexico where you will be very welcomed as well.

We would like to take this opportunity to encourage you to visit our website to book your next your holiday at the best price.
All our staff is looking forward to seeing you at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Yes this will be the fifth time will be staying at the Sandos San Blas hotel in Tenerife with our whole family of 10 on this occasion to celebrate a significant family birthday in August/Sept! We are a professional couple with a 13 year old son, presently sitting on our generous balcony reflecting on our fourth stay at the hotel. In many ways this hotel is remarkable. It offers exceptional service and value for money, relaxing and friendly atmosphere, high standard of accommodation and staff who are responsive to customer feedback and their needs. The hotel caters for various groups of holiday makers and on this occasion there was a party of Spanish school children staying here (it was half term for goodness sake) who were exceptionally well behaved and a credit to their school and teachers present and the hotel staff ensured that they blended into everyone's holiday experience. Well done Sandos San Blas Management and staff!
See you again in around 10 weeks time.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an exceptionally high standard. We stayed in a deluxe double room with a good sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review about your experience here with us.
It is a great honour for us to read that you have already visited us for four times and booked your next holiday to celebrate a significant family birthday this summer. Sincerely it is a great compliment for our entire Sandos team that tries to do everything possible to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
We do sincerely appreciate all your warm personal comments, especially regarding our customer service, atmosphere, accommodation standard and above all our hard working hotel staff who have been willingly at your disposal to meet all your needs. Hereby we promise to keep on doing our best to maintain a great value for money.
We all are looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Hotel Deputy manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A superb hotel, The rooms are spacious, and very comfortable with lovely decor.a big comfy bed Bathroom again very spacious , a fab seperate shower , jacuzi bath as standard ,a little on the small side ,but enjoyable . A lovely balcony (ours was a top floor) with a view over the pool and very comfortable patio furniture, not the cheap white plastic chairs you normally get ! Exceptionally clean throughout and all the staff we encountered were friendly. The pools fab seperate paddling pools for tots, Never any problems with getting a sun lounger what ever time you went to any of the pools this was probably because themangement adhered to the strict policy of Not reserving sun beds which worked fantastic , Food was good, I am a very fussy eater but there was always something for me to choose from , The a la carte was excellent. Wine was served from the bottle and was actually quite good, If you wanted the bottle leaving on the table there was never a problem , also Cava again by the bottle if you wanted it.
Sandos San Blas really is a superb hotel with excellent staff, would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone , couples or families suitable for both .
It is approx 10 mins from airport so you do encounter some noise from the flightpath but in all honesty it 's not that bad, Definately would return to this hotel if we do Tenerife again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sand072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would to give you many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
It is our delight you to share such complimentary remarks about our hotel, with particular regard to the rooms and their amenities, all our staff, the pools, as well as the food that suited your taste. Also we are very pleased to read you have spent such an enjoyable time during your holiday here with us that you recommend it to anyone and would definitely return. It gives us great feeling of satisfaction that it has been worth working hard.
Once again thank you very much for all your kind comments and let us invite you to visit our website to book your next holiday at the best price.
We are looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
18.7 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,506 reviews
12.6 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,672 reviews
9.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
9.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf

Property: Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Address: Calle Grenamora s/n | Urb. San Blas Golf del Sur, 38639, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf All Inclusive is located in the San Blas Enviromental Reserve, beside two golf courses and seafront. The bedrooms are spacious with a terrace and have bathroom with bath tub, shower and hairdryer. Every guest room is soundproof, and offers satellite TV, stereo, Internet connection, minibar (extra charge), air conditioned, safe, phone and free WiFi. The complex has eight pools, a gym and a terrace with loungers and umbrellas, as well as two poolside bars. It also has aqua-aerobics, spa and sauna. The reception is 24 hour, and offers safe and currency exchange. The hotel also has a cafe-bar, a newspaper stand, a hair salon, a night club, a theater, a TV room, a restaurant, a conference room, free WiFi connection room, room service, laundry service (extra charge), a playground and free parking. Separate activities are organized for kids and adults alike. The hotel offers tennis (extra charge), ping-pong, beach volley, golf (extra charge), biking and aerobics classes. You can also row on the property's lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos San Blas Hotel Reserva Ambiental And Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing