We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place in the Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed in Jasmine for two weeks. All imaculate and well equiped. Lovely grounds, and a perfect pool for cooling off. The hosts were a delight, Sheila and Ray are minds of information.
As for food, well if you want to eat in we found Sheila's cooking is faultless, and very tasty.
Only slight negative local dogs can bark but you are in town. Overall our stay was a joy and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterEastDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Based on the good reviews on TA we decided to spend a week here. Quiet and peaceful location. We stayed in apartment Jasmine. Nice view and spacious. Bathroom on the small side. Also saw the other apartments. The best (and most spacious bathroom) apartment was Hibiscus. If we decide to go back we would opt for it. We had also diner cooked for us one evening by Sheila and that was delicious and priced the same as the local restaurants. When the temp. is above 30 it can be very hot in the apparments. No AC or fan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The antidote for anyone who might have prejudices about holidaying in Tenerife - this is Tenerife prior to the package holiday development of places such as Playa de Las Americas, but with modern comforts. La Bodega is situated in a small town unaffected by mass tourism, and its four cottages have an authentic Canarian ambience. Stroll 150m east to eat at Los Cuatro Esquinas restaurant, or 150m west to eat at La Tascita de Nino, for genuine Canarian food, both run by helpful friendly owners ( who speak good English). Or stay in the well appointed cottages for excellent food prepared by Sheila. Or cook for yourself, with food bought from the supermarket 5 mins walk away. Have an afternoon coffee at one of the town cafes and settle into the Canarian pace of life (definitely not north european), after a morning walk along one of the marked trails into the surrounding countryside, amongst the wonderful plant life and the volcanic rocks. Or just lounge by the pool with a book, enjoying the colour of the flowers of the garden, insulated from all sound except birdsong. In the evening, you can catch up on movies you may have missed by borrowing a DVD from Sheila's well-stocked DVD library. All the attractions of Tenerife are easily accessed from San Miguel (we would definitely recommend visiting Masca and Teide), and there is secure parking for your hire car on site (not that San Miguel is the sort of place that you need to worry about the safety of your car). Sheila and Ray are unobstrusive hosts, but always available for information about where to go and what to see, and for any assistance that might be required. Perfect base for a holiday combining activity and relaxation, free from the bustle of the main resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just returned from 5 nights with Sheila and Ray at La Bodega. We wanted a few days to chill and this place delivers perfectly. The pool is a lovely sun trap, various outdoor tables for morning breakfasting with distant sea views, and your own two person accommodation to cook for yourself, maybe take in a film from the owners' library, or catch up on that new book. If cooking isn't your thing there are at least 2 decent restaurants within a 5 minute stroll or Sheila offers a good menu - the quail were fab! The gardens are fragrant, pick yourself some oranges and lemons, and just relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

For someting different, pretty, clean, comfortable, quiet and relaxing, you can't go wrong at La Bodega. This was our second visit and again we thoroughly enjoyed our ten days here. Sheila and Ray are welcoming and helpful hosts. From lazing and relaxing by the pool, visiting the island's towns and coastlines, to walking in El Teide National Park, La Bodega in San Miguel is the ideal location. The village bread shop supplies fresh baked bread, croissants, cakes 7 days a week, the little supermarket is very well stocked, there are restaurants and cafes and also Sheila's cooking which is excellent. You definitely need a car if you want to see the island. If you want noisy bars and nightlife, this is not the place to be, if you want a lovely relaxing peaceful holiday I can definitely reccommend la Bodega. You won't be disappointed.....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrieanne012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just returned from 9 nights at La Bodega, once you close those gates you are in a perfect haven. We stayed in Jasmine which was perfect we had everything we needed and Shelia was always on hand to give advice on the area and also to make her delicious evening meals. If you want winter sun a beautiful quiet location La Bodega is just for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceRibbleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We've been to Tenerife several times before and stayed different places, but never before in a fantastic place as La Bodega. Not only is the place beautiful, quiet, clean, pretty and cosy - Shiela and Ray are also the perfect hosts. They both made us feel welcome and home and they were helpfull in a very relaxed way.
It all made our vacation very nice - and made us want to come back to Shiela, Ray, La Bodega, San Miquel and all the nice places to go in Tenerife.
See you.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JensMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural San Miguel
Hotel Rural San Miguel
#7 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
#11 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
106 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
Finca Vista Bonita
Finca Vista Bonita
#1 of 6 in San Miguel de Abona
70 reviews
8.0 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 60 in Costa Adeje
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega

Address: Calle Juan Bethencourt Alfonso 4, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly La Bodega Casa Rural)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Speciality Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenerife Self Catering cottages at La Bodega Casa Rural are for couples. Tenerife Self Catering at La Bodega offers country cottages that are situated in San Miguel de Abona in the south of Tenerife, just 15 minutes from Golf del Sur and 25minutes from Los Cristianos. It's an Ideal destination for couples that want to be away from the madding crowd yet it's also close enough to enjoy all the facilities that Tenerife has to offer. Golf courses, beaches, outstanding scenery. Historical villages, towns, local culture and a vast array of cuisine, from typical Canarian to Fine dining. The cottages are for two adults sharing, sorry not suitable for children. The salt pool is heated in the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing