We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Centre”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent 2 weeks here in February in Bougainvillea. The weather was warm enough to sit out and enjoy about 1/3rd of our time, so we made good use of our hired car. I do recommend using the local firm suggested by Sheila, TRC. Our cottage was once the stables for horses, and the high ceilings and limited windows would be ideal in hot weather. Both inside and out in the gardens everything has been done with great taste. One is quite aware of the fellow guests, but there is always somewhere to sit outside if one does not want to join others. You should be aware that there are quite steep steps to negotiate, so not ideal for those with mobility problems. One feature of " our" cottage is that it has a dining table for 6, very useful if you are going with friends staying in other cottages. My wife made good use of the BBQ. Sheila's cooking is excellent, and a treat to look forward to if you get back tired after a long day.
There is good walking from the door, although you have to be prepared for " ups and downs" as the trails tend to cut across steep gullies. Others have mentioned the barking dogs, often a feature of such places.
Sheila and Ray are outstanding hosts, and one leaves thinking how soon will it be possible to go back again..

Room Tip: Some may prefer the South facing ones, or the one furthest away for more privacy; it has a small pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for a fortnight in November. We stayed in Bougainvillea apartment and were very, very comfortable! Sheila provides evening meals to order and we thoroughly enjoyed them.
It is an ideal location for couple seeking a peaceful holiday far from the crowds in the major resorts but was only 5 miles from the coast and en route for the volcano.
There are several good restaurants in the town of San Miguel. When we were there, there was a local tapas festival on going and on the final Saturday of the festival, there was an event in the square in the evening with live music and lots of the participating restaurants had tapas for sale.
All in all a holiday to remember and we will definitely return at some point - hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: There are 4 apartments to choose from and all are very well equipped. We stayed in Bougainvillea b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suewscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent a week here in November. Good location as long as you have a car. The apartments were very well equiped, loads of space within.If you wanted total iscolation this is not the place as folks walked by your"space".Their meals were great and had a good lirbary of books that you could borrow/exchange from.. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank st59scs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dean UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed in Jasmine for two weeks. All imaculate and well equiped. Lovely grounds, and a perfect pool for cooling off. The hosts were a delight, Sheila and Ray are minds of information.
As for food, well if you want to eat in we found Sheila's cooking is faultless, and very tasty.
Only slight negative local dogs can bark but you are in town. Overall our stay was a joy and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterEastDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Based on the good reviews on TA we decided to spend a week here. Quiet and peaceful location. We stayed in apartment Jasmine. Nice view and spacious. Bathroom on the small side. Also saw the other apartments. The best (and most spacious bathroom) apartment was Hibiscus. If we decide to go back we would opt for it. We had also diner cooked for us one evening by Sheila and that was delicious and priced the same as the local restaurants. When the temp. is above 30 it can be very hot in the apparments. No AC or fan.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castledawson
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The antidote for anyone who might have prejudices about holidaying in Tenerife - this is Tenerife prior to the package holiday development of places such as Playa de Las Americas, but with modern comforts. La Bodega is situated in a small town unaffected by mass tourism, and its four cottages have an authentic Canarian ambience. Stroll 150m east to eat at Los Cuatro Esquinas restaurant, or 150m west to eat at La Tascita de Nino, for genuine Canarian food, both run by helpful friendly owners ( who speak good English). Or stay in the well appointed cottages for excellent food prepared by Sheila. Or cook for yourself, with food bought from the supermarket 5 mins walk away. Have an afternoon coffee at one of the town cafes and settle into the Canarian pace of life (definitely not north european), after a morning walk along one of the marked trails into the surrounding countryside, amongst the wonderful plant life and the volcanic rocks. Or just lounge by the pool with a book, enjoying the colour of the flowers of the garden, insulated from all sound except birdsong. In the evening, you can catch up on movies you may have missed by borrowing a DVD from Sheila's well-stocked DVD library. All the attractions of Tenerife are easily accessed from San Miguel (we would definitely recommend visiting Masca and Teide), and there is secure parking for your hire car on site (not that San Miguel is the sort of place that you need to worry about the safety of your car). Sheila and Ray are unobstrusive hosts, but always available for information about where to go and what to see, and for any assistance that might be required. Perfect base for a holiday combining activity and relaxation, free from the bustle of the main resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just returned from 5 nights with Sheila and Ray at La Bodega. We wanted a few days to chill and this place delivers perfectly. The pool is a lovely sun trap, various outdoor tables for morning breakfasting with distant sea views, and your own two person accommodation to cook for yourself, maybe take in a film from the owners' library, or catch up on that new book. If cooking isn't your thing there are at least 2 decent restaurants within a 5 minute stroll or Sheila offers a good menu - the quail were fab! The gardens are fragrant, pick yourself some oranges and lemons, and just relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural San Miguel
Hotel Rural San Miguel
#7 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
462 reviews
16.9 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,996 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Royal Tenerife Country Club
#3 of 30 in San Miguel de Abona
534 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sunset View Club
Sunset View Club
#2 of 30 in San Miguel de Abona
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega

Property: Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega
Address: Calle Juan Bethencourt Alfonso 4, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly La Bodega Casa Rural)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Speciality Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenerife Self Catering at La Bodega is for couples in Tenerife. Tenerife Self Catering at La Bodega offers country cottages that are situated in San Miguel de abona in the south of Tenerife, just 15 minutes from Golf del Sur and 25minutes from Los Cristianos. It's an Ideal destination for couples that want to be away from the madding crowd yet it's also close enough to enjoy all the facilities that Tenerife has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing